473,508 Members | 2,380 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Formatting Currency Values

37 New Member
The currency values are displayed in format of the regional settings specified in the computer of the user. I would like to display all the currency values in dollar format irrespective of the regional settings. i tried formatting the currency columns as $#.##0,00;($#.##0,00) but it still shows values in regional formats.
Is there a way to specify an application specific setting.
Jan 13 '10 #1
18 8079
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
As far as I'm aware you can only set the custom format with the full stop as the decimal point and the comma as the thousand separator as follows:

$#,##0.00
Jan 13 '10 #2
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Exactly where and how did you try setting this currency format?

Everything I tried showed the values in dollars. My settings are set in standard British format with the £ (GBP) as the currency symbol.

PS. Though many European countries use the format you show (. & , reversed from the way used in Britain & America), this would be unusual for a display of dollars (I suppose it may be what they use in those countries when showing Dollars. I'm not really sure). I tested and I found my PC settings determined how each character is interpreted - regardless of where you put it in a format string. This doesn't look promising I'm afraid.
Jan 13 '10 #3
maxpirate
37 New Member
The format i specified has been set for all currencies in the tables.
When i view the data in table it show as dollars only but when i view the data in my reports the charts are taking up regional setting currency symbol which is GBP.
Jan 15 '10 #4
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
If the reports were made before you added the formatting to the table, they wont "inherit" the format value. You can manually assign it in the report, by looking at the textbox's format property.
Jan 15 '10 #5
maxpirate
37 New Member
that also has $#.##0,00;($#.##0,00) set as its format
Jan 15 '10 #6
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I'm afraid I'm unable to reproduce what you describe Max. Even in a report. It always shows as dollars for me.
Jan 17 '10 #7
maxpirate
37 New Member
Do you think i need to code and set field format as $#.##0,00;($#.##0,00) on form load
Jan 18 '10 #8
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
As far as I know, if you have set it correctly it should work.

If its still not working, then maybe you made a typo?

Is there any code attached to the field?
Jan 18 '10 #9
maxpirate
37 New Member
What is happening is there is pivot chart that has a query as a source. when i formatted the currency fields in the query to be displayed as dollars. after that when i saw the query result it is as expected.
When i see it on the pivot chart view inside a form its taking the regional setting format.
when i view the same as datasheet the values are formatted as $$$ as expected
Jan 18 '10 #10
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
Wow you could have saved us all ALOT of trouble if you had specified it was within a chart. A chart is an object within access, with totally different behavior then a textbox for instance (who would have guessed....)

On your report open event have code like this, assuming your chart control is named ctrlChart:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. ctrlChart.Axes(xlCategory).TickLabels.NumberFormat="$ #,##0.00"
You may need to exchanged xlCategory with xlValue depending on which axis your working on.

The easiest way to learn how to manipulate charts in Access is (IMO) to open Excel, create a similar chart, then start the Excel macrorecorder, do your changes, switch to VBA and view the code generated.
Jan 18 '10 #11
maxpirate
37 New Member
but there is no name set for the charts which are on their respective forms
Jan 18 '10 #12
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
Be sure you have selected the chart object or "container" if you will, not the object inside the container. It will likely be named something like Chart1 or chartXX.

If you still are having trouble, Id suggest attaching your DB here and I or someone else can take a look at it.
Jan 18 '10 #13
maxpirate
37 New Member
Sample file is attached..Attachment 2634
Jan 18 '10 #14
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
*DEEP DEEP SIGH*

I've spent nearly 2 hours now, and I give up. Ive found the property, and tried to set it at different points in the events (Like form load, form current, and the pivotchart events)

Sometimes I can set it, sometimes I can't.

When I CAN set it (Meaning I don't get an error), it has no real "Lasting" effect.
When I can't set it, I get a error saying cannot set this property during a event procedure (Such as the Pivotcharts Before_Render, After_Render, After_finalRender)
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Me.Form.ChartSpace.charts(0).axes(1).Numberformat = "$ #,##0.00"
One thing I noticed, was that If I wrote:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Me.Form.ChartSpace.charts(0).axes(1).Numberformat = "'$' #,##0.00"
the formatting in the chart would look like 'kr' 25,000.00, the ['] would carry over to the formatting, but it would still go regional (kr is danish currency). Dunno if you can use that info for anything.


I did learn 1 thing from browsing the net for a solution, Variable watching. If/when it fails and you enter debug mode, you highlight the ChartSpace and press "Shift-F9" you can add a watch on that variable. Next time you load the form and it fails again, you can get alot of detailed information about the ChartSpace objects, and its exposed properties.(Cause the helpfile was non-existant on ChartSpace and ChartObject)

I hope you find a solution.
Jan 18 '10 #15
maxpirate
37 New Member
I tried to develop a chart using the wizard and i tried to set the format when i created the form, there is no way i could alter the format of the fields. it is still reverting back to the way it is. as u did i tried to code using the event, but i keep getting some error or the error. I have been stuck with this since friday.. All the time i saved in the save confirmation dialog is getting wasted here.
Jan 18 '10 #16
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Just as a tip, if you want the character value $ to appear, independently of it's expected effect as a currency indicator, you can use \$ (within a format string).
Jan 18 '10 #17
maxpirate
37 New Member
i tried format the fields with \$ but it still takes the regional settings
Jan 19 '10 #18
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I'm sorry. I wish I could help more (or even at all really), but I cannot reproduce your problem. It all seems to work for me (& I'm UK based so $ is not my default currency either). The only time I ever recall seeing something like this was in Excel, but I don't recall the details. I'm particularly surprised the \$ thing would be converted.
Jan 20 '10 #19

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

7
745
by: Chad Z. Hower aka Kudzu | last post by:
I have a typed dataset that is on a WinForm and I have labels that have their text properties bound to fields in a data table. The values are of type decimal. When I dispaly them in the label, I...
16
25850
by: Douglas | last post by:
Gday, How would I format a number so that: TheValue = 32500 Displays in the TextBox as: $32,500.00
6
1323
by: Brad | last post by:
I guess I still have not grasped the logic of formatting a simple label or text box. Why would the following not work? I need the resulting label to display currency. lblAmtDue.Text =...
4
2018
by: Mitchell Vincent | last post by:
How is everyone formatting currency with VB.NET? Before I was calling the API function for it, which took the currency symbol from the Windows settings. I've found this to be limited when...
2
1954
by: Mitchell Vincent | last post by:
I have a bunch of text boxes and labels that hold currency values. I need some formatting on them, but since they are databound to a set, I'm confused as to how to do that. Do labels and text boxes...
14
4252
by: Scott M. | last post by:
Ok, this is driving me nuts... I am using VS.NET 2003 and trying to take an item out of a row in a loosely-typed dataset and place it in a label as a currency. As it is now, I am getting my...
1
1310
by: scoarescoare | last post by:
I am running into a problem that I cannot seem to solve. I'm using ADO.NET 2.0 with vb 2005. I have a dataset as a datasource that selects all of the Shoe_Types from a Shoe_Type table. I am...
1
1132
by: jereesh | last post by:
Hi, I need to display formatted currency values in the My UI currency fields. I would like to know how to do currency formating in javascript . ie when I pass the value and the currency code it...
9
2305
by: john coltrane | last post by:
Is there way to create a formatted string in a similar that is similar to sprintf? The same for printing, printf? C,D,E,F,G,N,X for currency, decimal, exponential, fixed, general, numerical,...
0
7377
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
1
7036
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
7489
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
1
5047
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
4705
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and...
0
3179
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
0
1547
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated ...
1
762
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
0
414
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.