473,699 Members | 2,436 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

DoCmd.OutputTo on Networked WiFi Drive?

14 New Member
Microsoft Access 2010
Windows 7 Laptop with LAN
Ipad with pdf expert wifi drive

I'm using a simple access database comand button to select and export a single record in pdf format to a predetermined location. I've tried saving to a local drive (c:\) and it works just perfectly. When I try saving to the networked wifi drive it breaks. Access says "The OutputTo action was canceled". I tried removing the filename reference from the code so that I can manually select the save location but it again breaks telling me "You cannot use an Internet address here. Enter a path that points to a location on your computer or on the network." This drive is networked over the LAN to the laptop. The computer assignes it a drive letter (Z:\) but apparently it still uses the ip address. I can access and browse the drive without any issue from "My Computer". Is there a way to make this work?
Dec 6 '12 #1
19 3711
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Although this presents in Access, I believe it's actually a problem related to the O/S. I'll move it there in case anyone there has further insight into why this may be happening and what could be attempted to get around it. It may be possible in Access to get around it by using other export approaches, but that's a different question.

I suggest you first test that you have full access to the folder you intend to export to.

If you find you do then you could try setting up a new drive letter to point to that same drive (or even folder) using the old DOS command SUBST. SUBST /? from a command line will give you the full syntax.
Dec 6 '12 #2
zmbd
5,501 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
As Neopa has said, find out if you have read/write/modify rights to the destination.

If so, then if the Admin mapped the drive using the IP address you may not be able to work around this; however, if you can get the UNC for the drive then you may be able to get there: How to Return a Universal Naming Convention (UNC) Path from an Existing Drive Letter I know it's for MSA 2000; however, it works in my current DB under 2010.
Dec 6 '12 #3
elturbo3
14 New Member
I can certainly save and delete files from this wifi drive while it is networked to my laptop. I'm afraid this is a limitation of Access or the OutputTo method in general. The UNC is in the form \\IP Address\DavWWWR oot. This method does not like IP address.
Dec 6 '12 #4
elturbo3
14 New Member
Bah...

Figured it out! I've tried this a million ways with IP address and drive names but it was ultimately a syntax issue with the drive name I guess. Well, thanks for the suggestions guys. Appreciate the help!


This code doesn't work.
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, , acFormatPDF, "y:\" & filename & ".pdf", False
This code does work.
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, , acFormatPDF, "y:" & filename & ".pdf", False
Dec 6 '12 #5
zmbd
5,501 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
It would have been helpfull to have posted the resolved string. I suspect that "filename" variable may already have a leading backslash.
Dec 6 '12 #6
elturbo3
14 New Member
@zmbd

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. filename=Me!txtLicense
This also works to get to a folder on the networked drive.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, , acFormatPDF, "y:FolderName\" & filename & ".pdf", False
Dec 6 '12 #7
zmbd
5,501 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
Close... but no cigar...
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. filename=Me!txtLicense 
But what is the actual string... what does id resolve to I suspect something like "\thepathtothef ile\filetopen"
Dec 6 '12 #8
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
What Z is saying, with reference to your post #5, is to post the exact value of the contents of filename when you post what does and doesn't work, otherwise we are still in the dark as to what you are actually asking Access to do for you. As he says, it may be that the contents of that item are formatted in such a way as to cause a problem in that particular context. Only by seeing that can we analyse what you're telling us and, hopefully, explain it for you.
Dec 6 '12 #9
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Basically, if I tell you
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. y = x + 2
And when I look at y, and it's 7, but I'm expecting y to be 4, and I ask you why y isn't 4, you would ask me to look at what's in x.

And if I was to inspect x, I would find that x is equal to 5. And so I would have to find out where I set x and why it was set incorrectly.

So if you ask me what the value of x is, I should respond with x is 5. The response would not be x is y = x + 2.
Dec 6 '12 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

0
2267
by: Victor Kaiser | last post by:
I am using DoCmd.OutputTo to allow users to save Access reports in snapshot format or other desired formats. Once the user selects the desired format and clicks "OK", a dialog box appears that informs the user of the progress ("Now outputting page X of...to the file...") This is fine. However, the title of the dialog box is "Printing", which is misleading since the user isn't actually printing but rather is saving data to a file. Is there...
2
8047
by: deko | last post by:
This code is behind a button that exports the contents of a query ("qryXL_Tx") to an Excel spreadsheet. It works fine the first time, but will not run a second time. When I go to look at my query... it's blank! No SQL at all.... Any ideas why this sub is eating my query?? Private Sub cmdExportXL_Click() strXLfile = "Transactions_" & strTxType & strTxAcct & strQtr & strYr & ".xls"
0
1594
by: Robert Langen | last post by:
I'm calling an Access XP application from an Outlook XP appointment form. Everything works, but the lines DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "testreport", acFormatRTF, "c:\test.rtf", False Docmd.Quit produce Access hangs. That means, the file testreport.rtf is correctly created, but Access doesn´t quit. The process msaccess.exe stays and consumes 98% processor time. If I remove the OutputTo line, Access quits perfectly.
4
6279
by: tmountjr | last post by:
I've got a user who's trying to export a text file with unicode formatting. When he exports it as straight ascii, some of the foreign characters (mostly just accent marks and the like - no non-roman characters that I can see) don't come through right. So he needs it in Unicode formatting. He's using code for the DoCmd.OutputTo command. There's a very undocumented Encoding option for that command, but no options are specified and there's...
1
5316
by: Ryan | last post by:
Hello. I was hoping that someone may be able to assist with an issue that I am experiencing. I have created an Access DB which imports an Excel File with a particular layout and field naming. Next the user can go into a Form which basically a dynamic query with a friendly interface that eventually outputs a table that is stored in the DB as well as exported to a CSV file. The CSV file is then used with a vendor solution to fill in...
1
6290
by: Simon | last post by:
Dear reader, With the DoCmd.OutputTo ...... you have the possibility to write a report to an external location. In case the external location is an existing file the DoCmd is not responding with the warning "File already exist". The file will be overwrite without any warning even with the DoCmd.Setwarnings True in
0
2568
by: Galka | last post by:
Hello A command DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputReport, "rptCON ONSITE absent students per week", acFormatRTF, "F:/rptCON ONSITE absent students per week.rtf", False worked fine when the database was in Access 2000. I have transferred the database into Access 2003. Now the command looks working: I see the pop up message "Outputting ..." and pages count, but the file is not on the drive F:. I tried to change drives, but no use. I do not mind where...
2
3759
by: jmartmem | last post by:
Greetings, I have several Access 2007 reports that I regularly export to individual PDF flat files on a web server. I've successfuly created a module sub to export the reports using the DoCmd.OutputTo Macro action, but I can't seem to figure out how to run the macro automatically. I can succesfully run the macro below manually (without the IF statements), but have yet to make it work with the IF statement. Ideally, the macro will run...
16
4496
by: g diddy | last post by:
Hi, I have used the Docmd.outputto function in various places in my code but for some reason all code that comes afterwards, even msgbox doesn't show. I was just wondering if there is anything that could be causing this. For example in the snippet below the docmd command brings up a box saying that it is outputting the file to c:\FullTimetable.snp but no msgbox appears saying "test". I have about 6 or so if statements with the same problem and...
0
1390
by: soupy8728 | last post by:
Hi, I need to export a couple of queries into Excel and have them go into a single workbook. The queries have hyperlinks in them. Here is the code I'm using: Public Function Hyperlink() DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputQuery, "Availability Tracker", acFormatXLS, "C:\Availability Tracker.xls" DoCmd.OutputTo acOutputQuery, "Counts", acFormatXLS, "C:\Availability Tracker.xls"
0
8697
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8622
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
9184
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
1
8930
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
7767
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
5878
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
1
3062
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
2359
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
3
2013
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.