473,770 Members | 2,781 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Sum the value

ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
There's two text box that has to enter the the numbers from the user and below I want to display the total value the user inputed. How can I sum it up and have it displayed every they enter a number?

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. <td><b> Total</b></td><td>
  2. Quantity #1 <Input type = 'text' Value ='0' Name ='qty1' >
  3. Quantity #2 <Input type = 'text' Value ='0' Name ='qty2'>
  4. Grand Total <input type = 'text' value ='<?php qty1 + qty2 ?>' name ='Total' >
  5.  
Or should I use a java script?
Can somebody show me how its done on JAVA technically no knowlege at all. A newbie learning to walk.
May 20 '09
21 2964
ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
Okay now its getting complicated when I put it inside my PHP. Please tell me what did i wrong and why its not computing?
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.     <?PHP                    
  2.                                     $result = mysql_query("select Total from tblEvent_Entity where Cal_ID='{$id}' and Entity ='Organizations' ");
  3.                                     $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result);
  4.                                     $TotalOrganizations =  $row['Total'];
  5.                                     echo "<tr><td width='50%'>Organizations</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalOrganizations'  id ='totalOrganizations' value='$row[Total]'
  6.                                     onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))  
  7.                                     document.getElementById('Total').value =  parseInt(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value)) + parseInt(document.getElementById('TotalAgencies').value); 
  8.                                     else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>  
  9.                                     </td></tr>";
  10.  
  11.  
  12.                                     $result = mysql_query("select Total from tblEvent_Entity where Cal_ID='{$id}' and Entity ='Agencies' ");
  13.                                     $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result);
  14.                                     $TotalAgencies=  $row['Total'];
  15.                                     echo "<tr><td>Agencies</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalAgencies' id='totalAgencies' value='$row[Total]'
  16.                                     onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalAgencies').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))  
  17.                                     document.getElementById('Total').value =(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value) + parseInt(document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value); 
  18.                                     else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>  
  19.                                     </td></tr>";    
  20.  
  21.                                      echo "Grand Total <input type = 'text' value ='' name ='Total' id='Total' >  ";?>
Nov 5 '09 #11
Markus
6,050 Recognized Expert Expert
@hsriat
What's your excuse now? ;)
Nov 6 '09 #12
ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
I have two input box that I wanted to calculate the Total while the user inputing thier numbers on the text box. On my HTML format its works perfectly but when I applied it inside my PHP code it doesn't work anymore. I appreciate your time looking at this.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.     <?PHP                     
  2.                                     $result = mysql_query("select Total from tblEvent_Entity where Cal_ID='{$id}' and Entity ='Organizations' "); 
  3.                                     $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result); 
  4.                                     $TotalOrganizations =  $row['Total']; 
  5.                                     echo "<tr><td width='50%'>Organizations</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalOrganizations'  id ='totalOrganizations' value='$row[Total]' 
  6.                                     onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))   
  7.                                     document.getElementById('Total').value =  parseInt(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value)) + parseInt(document.getElementById('TotalAgencies').value);  
  8.                                     else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>   
  9.                                     </td></tr>"; 
  10.  
  11.  
  12.                                     $result = mysql_query("select Total from tblEvent_Entity where Cal_ID='{$id}' and Entity ='Agencies' "); 
  13.                                     $row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result); 
  14.                                     $TotalAgencies=  $row['Total']; 
  15.                                     echo "<tr><td>Agencies</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalAgencies' id='totalAgencies' value='$row[Total]' 
  16.                                     onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalAgencies').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))   
  17.                                     document.getElementById('Total').value =(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value) + parseInt(document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value);  
  18.                                     else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>   
  19.                                     </td></tr>";     
  20.  
  21.                                      echo "Grand Total <input type = 'text' value ='' name ='Total' id='Total' >  ";?> 
  22.  
Nov 6 '09 #13
acoder
16,027 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Post the client-side generated (HTML) code. Also, remove the unnecessary indents to make the code easier to follow.

Do you get any JavaScript errors?
Nov 9 '09 #14
ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
Can you show me from my sample code what do you mean? Thanks for your help @acoder
Nov 10 '09 #15
acoder
16,027 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I mean the code that is generated from your PHP code when you view the source in the browser.
Nov 11 '09 #16
ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
@acoder
Here it is...
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. <tr><td width='50%'>Organizations</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalOrganizations'  id ='totalOrganizations' value=''  
  2.           onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))    
  3.           document.getElementById('Total').value =  parseInt(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value)) + parseInt(document.getElementById('TotalAgencies').value);   
  4.           else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>    
  5.           </td></tr><tr><td>Agencies</td><td width='67%'><Input type = 'text' Name ='totalAgencies' id='totalAgencies' value=''  
  6.                  onkeyup='if ((document.getElementById('totalAgencies').match(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))    
  7.             document.getElementById('Total').value =(document.getElementById('totalOrganizations').value) + parseInt(document.getElementById('totalAgencies').value);   
  8.             else document.getElementById('Total').value = '';>    
  9.             </td></tr>Grand Total <input type = 'text' value ='' name ='Total' id='Total' >  
Nov 12 '09 #17
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
no wonder it doesn’t work, the onkeyup attribute is not closed, resp. it closes at the first JavaScript quotation mark, rendering the HTML invalid.

my recommendation: use a proper event handler.
Nov 12 '09 #18
ddtpmyra
333 Contributor
Do you mean by doing this (see onkeyup)
<Input type = 'text' Name ='totalAgencies ' id='totalAgenci es' value='$row[Total]'
onkeyup=\"if ((document.getE lementById('tot alAgencies').ma tch(/^[0-9]+$/) && document.getEle mentById('total Organizations') .value.match(/^[0-9]+$/)))
document.getEle mentById('Total ').value =(document.getE lementById('tot alOrganizations ').value) + parseInt(docume nt.getElementBy Id('totalAgenci es').value);
else document.getEle mentById('Total ').value = ''\";>
Nov 12 '09 #19
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
well, yes. although IMHO inline JavaScript is bad practice.
Nov 12 '09 #20

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
14158
by: G Kannan | last post by:
Hey all! I have written a perl script to retrieve information from a HTML Form and insert the data into an Oracle database table. I am gettting the the following error message: "Use of uninitialized value in concatenation (.) at register.pl line 38, <STDIN> line 10." The PERL code is as follows:
3
18240
by: otto | last post by:
i need to read a variable in a javascript and translate it to a form in html the javascript variable is: <SCRIPT LANGUAGE='JavaScript'>RF2N('Total');</script> and i need to put that variable as the value in this line <input type="hidden" name="AMT" value="**">
3
11953
by: Eric Chang | last post by:
I was working on this simple form with radio boxes. And when I click on one of the radio box, it tell me the value is "undefined" Why is that ? I did defined the value of each radio box: <input type=radio name='Usetax' value='basic' onClick='document.myform.amount.value=document.myform.Usetax.value'> <input type=radio name='Usetax' value='no' onClick='document.myform.amount.value=document.myform.Usetax.value'> <input type=radio...
16
11501
by: cwizard | last post by:
I'm calling on a function from within this form, and there are values set but every time it gets called I get slammed with a run time error... document.frmKitAmount.txtTotalKitValue is null or not an object... the function is like so: function calc_total() { var x,i,base,margin,total,newmargin,newtotal; base = document.frmKitAmount.txtTotalKitValue.value; margin = document.frmKitAmount.margin.value/100;
4
3019
by: dmiller23462 | last post by:
So here's my problem.....I need to set up different email distributions based on which option in the following Select form has been chosen....For instance if "Putaway" is chosen it needs to email User1@here.whatever and User4@here.whatever but if "Loaded" is chosen it needs to email User2@here.whatever and User3@here.whatever, etc, etc... I'm aware that the only thing that really needs to change is the "Mail.AddAddress" line (at least...
7
5076
by: matthew_carver | last post by:
Hello, I have an ASP page that loops through a SQL Server 2000 table, then downloads an Excel sheet the users can save, etc. Works fine, except, I see that in one particular "comments" field the Excel sheet returns a #VALUE! error in the cell when there is a large amount of text. I've looked through the MSKB, MSDN and many ng posts to see if there is a workaround or solution to this, including looking at the xlWorksheet properties. Is...
13
10146
by: dbuchanan | last post by:
Hello, Here is the error message; ---------------------------- Exception Message: ForeignKeyConstraint Lkp_tbl040Cmpt_lkp302SensorType requires the child key values (5) to exist in the parent table. ----------------------------
0
4100
by: tania | last post by:
i have this table in my database: CREATE TABLE FILM( F_ID INT(5) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT, F_TITLE VARCHAR(40) NOT NULL, DIRECTOR_FNAME VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL, DIRECTOR_LNAME VARCHAR(20) NOT NULL, TYPE VARCHAR(30) NOT NULL, DURATION TIME , YEAR_RELEASE YEAR NOT NULL, DESCRIPTION TEXT,
1
2333
by: cbellew | last post by:
Hi guys, I have a problem with an option group and a two corresponding text boxes. When the user chooses an option value i want the text boxes to populate with text dependent on the choice made. I have written an AfterUpdate procedure on the frame to try and assign the text to the value of the text box, but for some reason it does nothing... Here is the code: Private Sub Frame0_AfterUpdate() If Frame0.Value = 1 Then
275
12382
by: Astley Le Jasper | last post by:
Sorry for the numpty question ... How do you find the reference name of an object? So if i have this bob = modulename.objectname() how do i find that the name is 'bob'
0
9591
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
10228
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10057
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
10002
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
9869
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
8883
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
5312
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
3970
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
3
2816
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.