473,773 Members | 2,286 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

CSS Navigation Menu - horizontal and keep submenu opened

22 New Member
I have this code used for the navigation on an HTML page. It's an accordion style dropdown menu. Everything works fine I just need to change it so that the submenuheader class allows it to be a clickable link. Right now all that happens with for example Home has two submenus of About Us and Quality. When you click home it expands the dropdown. But I want it to expand and also direct to a Home page. thanks in advance!


Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. var ddaccordion={
  2.  
  3.     contentclassname:{}, //object to store corresponding contentclass name based on headerclass
  4.  
  5.     expandone:function(headerclass, selected){ //PUBLIC function to expand a particular header
  6.         this.toggleone(headerclass, selected, "expand")
  7.     },
  8.  
  9.     collapseone:function(headerclass, selected){ //PUBLIC function to collapse a particular header
  10.         this.toggleone(headerclass, selected, "collapse")
  11.     },
  12.  
  13.     expandall:function(headerclass){ //PUBLIC function to expand all headers based on their shared CSS classname
  14.         var $=jQuery
  15.         var $headers=$('.'+headerclass)
  16.         $('.'+this.contentclassname[headerclass]+':hidden').each(function(){
  17.             $headers.eq(parseInt($(this).attr('contentindex'))).trigger("evt_accordion")
  18.         })
  19.     },
  20.  
  21.     collapseall:function(headerclass){ //PUBLIC function to collapse all headers based on their shared CSS classname
  22.         var $=jQuery
  23.         var $headers=$('.'+headerclass)
  24.         $('.'+this.contentclassname[headerclass]+':visible').each(function(){
  25.             $headers.eq(parseInt($(this).attr('contentindex'))).trigger("evt_accordion")
  26.         })
  27.     },
  28.  
  29.     toggleone:function(headerclass, selected, optstate){ //PUBLIC function to expand/ collapse a particular header
  30.         var $=jQuery
  31.         var $targetHeader=$('.'+headerclass).eq(selected)
  32.         var $subcontent=$('.'+this.contentclassname[headerclass]).eq(selected)
  33.         if (typeof optstate=="undefined" || optstate=="expand" && $subcontent.is(":hidden") || optstate=="collapse" && $subcontent.is(":visible"))
  34.             $targetHeader.trigger("evt_accordion")
  35.     },
  36.  
  37.     expandit:function($targetHeader, $targetContent, config, useractivated){
  38.         $targetContent.slideDown(config.animatespeed, function(){config.onopenclose($targetHeader.get(0), parseInt($targetHeader.attr('headerindex')), $targetContent.css('display'), useractivated)})
  39.         this.transformHeader($targetHeader, config, "expand")
  40.     },
  41.  
  42.     collapseit:function($targetHeader, $targetContent, config, isuseractivated){
  43.         $targetContent.slideUp(config.animatespeed, function(){config.onopenclose($targetHeader.get(0), parseInt($targetHeader.attr('headerindex')), $targetContent.css('display'), isuseractivated)})
  44.         this.transformHeader($targetHeader, config, "collapse")
  45.     },
  46.  
  47.     transformHeader:function($targetHeader, config, state){
  48.         $targetHeader.addClass((state=="expand")? config.cssclass.expand : config.cssclass.collapse) //alternate btw "expand" and "collapse" CSS classes
  49.         .removeClass((state=="expand")? config.cssclass.collapse : config.cssclass.expand)
  50.         if (config.htmlsetting.location=='src'){ //Change header image (assuming header is an image)?
  51.             $targetHeader=($targetHeader.is("img"))? $targetHeader : $targetHeader.find('img').eq(0) //Set target to either header itself, or first image within header
  52.             $targetHeader.attr('src', (state=="expand")? config.htmlsetting.expand : config.htmlsetting.collapse) //change header image
  53.         }
  54.         else if (config.htmlsetting.location=="prefix") //if change "prefix" HTML, locate dynamically added ".accordprefix" span tag and change it
  55.             $targetHeader.find('.accordprefix').html((state=="expand")? config.htmlsetting.expand : config.htmlsetting.collapse)
  56.         else if (config.htmlsetting.location=="suffix")
  57.             $targetHeader.find('.accordsuffix').html((state=="expand")? config.htmlsetting.expand : config.htmlsetting.collapse)
  58.     },
  59.  
  60.     urlparamselect:function(headerclass){
  61.         var result=window.location.search.match(new RegExp(headerclass+"=((\\d+)(,(\\d+))*)", "i")) //check for "?headerclass=2,3,4" in URL
  62.         if (result!=null)
  63.             result=RegExp.$1.split(',')
  64.         return result //returns null, [index], or [index1,index2,etc], where index are the desired selected header indices
  65.     },
  66.  
  67.     getCookie:function(Name){ 
  68.         var re=new RegExp(Name+"=[^;]+", "i") //construct RE to search for target name/value pair
  69.         if (document.cookie.match(re)) //if cookie found
  70.             return document.cookie.match(re)[0].split("=")[1] //return its value
  71.         return null
  72.     },
  73.  
  74.     setCookie:function(name, value){
  75.         document.cookie = name + "=" + value + "; path=/"
  76.     },
  77.  
  78.     init:function(config){
  79.     document.write('<style type="text/css">\n')
  80.     document.write('.'+config.contentclass+'{display: none}\n') //generate CSS to hide contents
  81.     document.write('<\/style>')
  82.     jQuery(document).ready(function($){
  83.         ddaccordion.urlparamselect(config.headerclass)
  84.         var persistedheaders=ddaccordion.getCookie(config.headerclass)
  85.         ddaccordion.contentclassname[config.headerclass]=config.contentclass //remember contentclass name based on headerclass
  86.         config.cssclass={collapse: config.toggleclass[0], expand: config.toggleclass[1]} //store expand and contract CSS classes as object properties
  87.         config.revealtype=/^(click)|(mouseover)$/i.test(config.revealtype)? config.revealtype.replace(/mouseover/i, "mouseenter") : "click"
  88.         config.htmlsetting={location: config.togglehtml[0], collapse: config.togglehtml[1], expand: config.togglehtml[2]} //store HTML settings as object properties
  89.         config.oninit=(typeof config.oninit=="undefined")? function(){} : config.oninit //attach custom "oninit" event handler
  90.         config.onopenclose=(typeof config.onopenclose=="undefined")? function(){} : config.onopenclose //attach custom "onopenclose" event handler
  91.         var lastexpanded={} //object to hold reference to last expanded header and content (jquery objects)
  92.         var expandedindices=ddaccordion.urlparamselect(config.headerclass) || ((config.persiststate && persistedheaders!=null)? persistedheaders : config.defaultexpanded)
  93.         if (typeof expandedindices=='string') //test for string value (exception is config.defaultexpanded, which is an array)
  94.             expandedindices=expandedindices.replace(/c/ig, '').split(',') //transform string value to an array (ie: "c1,c2,c3" becomes [1,2,3]
  95.         var $subcontents=$('.'+config["contentclass"])
  96.         if (expandedindices.length==1 && expandedindices[0]=="-1") //check for expandedindices value of [-1], indicating persistence is on and no content expanded
  97.             expandedindices=[]
  98.         if (config["collapseprev"] && expandedindices.length>1) //only allow one content open?
  99.             expandedindices=[expandedindices.pop()] //return last array element as an array (for sake of jQuery.inArray())
  100.         if (config["onemustopen"] && expandedindices.length==0) //if at least one content should be open at all times and none are, open 1st header
  101.             expandedindices=[0]
  102.         $('.'+config["headerclass"]).each(function(index){ //loop through all headers
  103.             if (/(prefix)|(suffix)/i.test(config.htmlsetting.location) && $(this).html()!=""){ //add a SPAN element to header depending on user setting and if header is a container tag
  104.                 $('<span class="accordprefix"></span>').prependTo(this)
  105.                 $('<span class="accordsuffix"></span>').appendTo(this)
  106.             }
  107.             $(this).attr('headerindex', index+'h') //store position of this header relative to its peers
  108.             $subcontents.eq(index).attr('contentindex', index+'c') //store position of this content relative to its peers
  109.             var $subcontent=$subcontents.eq(index)
  110.             var needle=(typeof expandedindices[0]=="number")? index : index+'' //check for data type within expandedindices array- index should match that type
  111.             if (jQuery.inArray(needle, expandedindices)!=-1){ //check for headers that should be expanded automatically (convert index to string first)
  112.                 if (config.animatedefault==false)
  113.                     $subcontent.show()
  114.                 ddaccordion.expandit($(this), $subcontent, config, false) //Last Boolean value sets 'isuseractivated' parameter
  115.                 lastexpanded={$header:$(this), $content:$subcontent}
  116.             }  //end check
  117.             else{
  118.                 $subcontent.hide()
  119.                 config.onopenclose($(this).get(0), parseInt($(this).attr('headerindex')), $subcontent.css('display'), false) //Last Boolean value sets 'isuseractivated' parameter
  120.                 ddaccordion.transformHeader($(this), config, "collapse")
  121.             }
  122.         })
  123.         $('.'+config["headerclass"]).bind("evt_accordion", function(){ //assign custom event handler that expands/ contacts a header
  124.                 var $subcontent=$subcontents.eq(parseInt($(this).attr('headerindex'))) //get subcontent that should be expanded/collapsed
  125.                 if ($subcontent.css('display')=="none"){
  126.                     ddaccordion.expandit($(this), $subcontent, config, true) //Last Boolean value sets 'isuseractivated' parameter
  127.                     if (config["collapseprev"] && lastexpanded.$header && $(this).get(0)!=lastexpanded.$header.get(0)){ //collapse previous content?
  128.                         ddaccordion.collapseit(lastexpanded.$header, lastexpanded.$content, config, true) //Last Boolean value sets 'isuseractivated' parameter
  129.                     }
  130.                     lastexpanded={$header:$(this), $content:$subcontent}
  131.                 }
  132.                 else{
  133.                     ddaccordion.collapseit($(this), $subcontent, config, true) //Last Boolean value sets 'isuseractivated' parameter
  134.                 }
  135.          })
  136.         $('.'+config["headerclass"]).bind(config.revealtype, function(){
  137.             if (config.revealtype=="mouseenter"){
  138.                 ddaccordion.expandone(config["headerclass"], parseInt($(this).attr("headerindex")))
  139.             }
  140.             else{
  141.                 $(this).trigger("evt_accordion")
  142.                 return false //cancel default click behavior
  143.             }
  144.         })
  145.         config.oninit($('.'+config["headerclass"]).get(), expandedindices)
  146.         $(window).bind('unload', function(){ //clean up and persist on page unload
  147.             $('.'+config["headerclass"]).unbind()
  148.             var expandedindices=[]
  149.             $('.'+config["contentclass"]+":visible").each(function(index){ //get indices of expanded headers
  150.                 expandedindices.push($(this).attr('contentindex'))
  151.             })
  152.             if (config.persiststate==true){ //persist state?
  153.                 expandedindices=(expandedindices.length==0)? '-1c' : expandedindices //No contents expanded, indicate that with dummy '-1c' value?
  154.                 ddaccordion.setCookie(config.headerclass, expandedindices)
  155.             }
  156.         })
  157.     })
  158.     }
  159. }
Dec 1 '08 #1
17 13588
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
@Nyris
but why should it expand when it instantly leads the user to the "home" site without the chance to go to"About Us" or "Quality"? or asked the other way round, how is the user supposed to get to "quality" (despite the fact that he probably couldn't read, that the site is named so).

regards
Dec 1 '08 #2
Nyris
22 New Member
The home page has announcments and what not that are important. So once the user directs him/herself to a different page right now there's no way to get back to the homepage unless you hit the back button however many times you need to.
Dec 1 '08 #3
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
there are some ways out
- define the top level links unclickable (removing the href attribute), so the onclick will show up the menu. along with this event add the href attribute, so that the element becomes a full working link element.
- use 2 onclick events. the first one to show up the submenu and adding the second event to the top level element (the second event must not be present from the start)
- use a CSS dropdown menu. there you don't need javascript at all (except for the IE hacks)

I recommend the last option.

regards
Dec 2 '08 #4
Nyris
22 New Member
Sorry for the delay! Thanks for the suggestions so far. However, I didn't write this. It was something that was premade and put into the website. Unfortuntely I have absolutely no javascript experience and I'm trying to decipher all this with little sucess. Could you point out the areas where I need to change to add the second onclick event?
Dec 19 '08 #5
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
If I had a say, I'd switch to CSS dropdown menu. this minimizes javascript to a minimum (it's only needed for IE hacks).

CSS dropdowns are pretty standard nowadays, see Son of Suckerfish Dropdowns | HTML Dog.

regards
Dec 19 '08 #6
Nyris
22 New Member
Thanks for the link. I see how this works and how it's a lot better than the javascript version. However, I need it to be horizontal and when a certain submenu is opened it stays opened. Is that possible? This was the reason to why I was leaning towards fixing the javascript code.
Dec 19 '08 #7
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
@Nyris
that's just a matter of the used CSS. see Pure CSS Menus.
@Nyris
what do you mean? the dropdown stays open as long as the mouse hovers over either the submenu or the submenu's parent link.

@Nyris
that's why I recommended it in the first place.

regards
Dec 19 '08 #8
Nyris
22 New Member
The website is FSIP. Take a look at that and you can see what the navigation looks like now.
Dec 19 '08 #9
Dormilich
8,658 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
so you didn't want to go for the nested lists? well, everything is fine, as long as you're satisfied. I'm glad I could help you solve the issue.

regards
Dec 19 '08 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
2966
by: Maria Gonzalez | last post by:
Hello, I would like to know if it is possible to create a Navigational Menu that has all the Major Categories on top row, then when a mouse is over it, the bottom row appears with sublinks but not like a list vertically. I want it to show up horizontally across that bottom row and still keep the top Category highlighted. Does anyone know where I can find a script for something like this? Is it possible to do with javascript?
8
7836
by: Posting2002 | last post by:
Hi, I am trying to create the following: http://www.ece.uwaterloo.ca/~dbusuioc/site/menu_submenu.htm So far it's in Javascript and when you're going over the top buttons in the menu, it creates a different sub-menu for each of them. This sub-menu is just a single image the way I've created it.... What I'm trying to do is now link various parts of the sub-menu to various page links or actions.
14
1937
by: Bryan | last post by:
I am attempting to make a web page more Netscape friendly... <a href="http:www.gordonceilings.com"></a> I have already corrected the table issues in an offline staging site (where I do the building and then move it to the live site when ready), so don't worry about those. My problem lies in the menu on the left. It shows up and the initial links work in Netscape 8, but the menu will not drop down to show the sub-selections. I can get the...
2
9330
by: Sergio E. | last post by:
Hi group, I write this post with the following question: How can I to build an absolutely horizontal menu?, This is because I can't find how can I configure the menu component of asp.net 2.0 in vs2005. I need somthing like this: the root menu in this form
1
2866
by: Nospam | last post by:
I am trying to have an expandable menu each time it's clicked expands, and if it's clicked again, if it is already expanded contracts, and if contracted expands, following this example http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/navigate1.htm, I notice the example works in each sub folder and folder, it contracts and expands if it is already contracted/expanded, what do I add to this: <a...
6
2339
by: adz1809 | last post by:
I have created this horizontal dropdown menu in css which is working fine in IE6+ but isn't firefox, and I have no idea why. here is the code: HTML: <body id="our-travels" class="home"> <div id="header"> <h1>Header</h1>
1
1591
by: Dave | last post by:
Hello, I'm working on a new site and i'd like to have a navigation menu on it. Ideally i'm thinking: home first item second item etc obviously with different names. I could use echo to output each line, but i
3
1607
by: RobertTheProgrammer | last post by:
Hi all, I'm having a perplexing problem with my menu control using asp.net. Basically, I want a menu control that behaves similar to a Windows menu. For example: File - New - Open - Save - Exit
0
9621
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8937
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
7463
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
6717
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5355
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
5484
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
4012
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3610
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
3
2852
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.