473,699 Members | 2,628 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

need help debugging please

hey all,
i have a simple user control that has a button on it which is on my web
page. everytime i click it i get the following message:

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
A Runtime Error has occurred.
Do you wish to Debug?

Line: 52716926
Error: Expected ';'
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------

no matter what i answer the ide does nothing (vs2005) . i can't tell if this
is client side or server-side and i'm not sure how to go about debugging
this?

thanks,
rodchar
Nov 13 '07 #1
4 1050
re:
!A Runtime Error has occurred.
!Do you wish to Debug?
!Line: 52716926
!Error: Expected ';'

You are actually getting an error on line 52,716,926 ?
You wrote an application with over 52 million lines of code ?


Juan T. Llibre, asp.net MVP
asp.net faq : http://asp.net.do/faq/
foros de asp.net, en español : http://asp.net.do/foros/
=============== =============== ========
"rodchar" <ro*****@discus sions.microsoft .comwrote in message
news:7E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
hey all,
i have a simple user control that has a button on it which is on my web
page. everytime i click it i get the following message:

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
A Runtime Error has occurred.
Do you wish to Debug?

Line: 52716926
Error: Expected ';'
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------

no matter what i answer the ide does nothing (vs2005) . i can't tell if this
is client side or server-side and i'm not sure how to go about debugging
this?

thanks,
rodchar

Nov 13 '07 #2
is this even possible? any ideas on where to start?

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
!A Runtime Error has occurred.
!Do you wish to Debug?
!Line: 52716926
!Error: Expected ';'

You are actually getting an error on line 52,716,926 ?
You wrote an application with over 52 million lines of code ?


Juan T. Llibre, asp.net MVP
asp.net faq : http://asp.net.do/faq/
foros de asp.net, en español : http://asp.net.do/foros/
=============== =============== ========
"rodchar" <ro*****@discus sions.microsoft .comwrote in message
news:7E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
hey all,
i have a simple user control that has a button on it which is on my web
page. everytime i click it i get the following message:

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
A Runtime Error has occurred.
Do you wish to Debug?

Line: 52716926
Error: Expected ';'
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------

no matter what i answer the ide does nothing (vs2005) . i can't tell if this
is client side or server-side and i'm not sure how to go about debugging
this?

thanks,
rodchar


Nov 14 '07 #3
This looks like a client-side javascript error. The interpreter is looking
for a ';' to end a statement. The number of lines looks REAL strange. In
this case the number of lines includes the script and HTML rendered to the
browser.

Are you using some kind of code generator for the script or HTML for the
page where this is happening? I may have "gone crazy".

"rodchar" wrote:
is this even possible? any ideas on where to start?

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
!A Runtime Error has occurred.
!Do you wish to Debug?
!Line: 52716926
!Error: Expected ';'

You are actually getting an error on line 52,716,926 ?
You wrote an application with over 52 million lines of code ?


Juan T. Llibre, asp.net MVP
asp.net faq : http://asp.net.do/faq/
foros de asp.net, en español : http://asp.net.do/foros/
=============== =============== ========
"rodchar" <ro*****@discus sions.microsoft .comwrote in message
news:7E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
hey all,
i have a simple user control that has a button on it which is on my web
page. everytime i click it i get the following message:
>
---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
A Runtime Error has occurred.
Do you wish to Debug?
>
Line: 52716926
Error: Expected ';'
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------
>
no matter what i answer the ide does nothing (vs2005) . i can't tell if this
is client side or server-side and i'm not sure how to go about debugging
this?
>
thanks,
rodchar
Nov 14 '07 #4
no code generator, i just designed my ui way too complicated. it turned out
to be a javascript call from the server-side that did not have the ;

thanks,
rod.

"Ea******@HighF lyingBirds.com" wrote:
This looks like a client-side javascript error. The interpreter is looking
for a ';' to end a statement. The number of lines looks REAL strange. In
this case the number of lines includes the script and HTML rendered to the
browser.

Are you using some kind of code generator for the script or HTML for the
page where this is happening? I may have "gone crazy".

"rodchar" wrote:
is this even possible? any ideas on where to start?

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
!A Runtime Error has occurred.
!Do you wish to Debug?
!Line: 52716926
!Error: Expected ';'
>
You are actually getting an error on line 52,716,926 ?
You wrote an application with over 52 million lines of code ?
>
>
>
>
Juan T. Llibre, asp.net MVP
asp.net faq : http://asp.net.do/faq/
foros de asp.net, en español : http://asp.net.do/foros/
=============== =============== ========
"rodchar" <ro*****@discus sions.microsoft .comwrote in message
news:7E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
hey all,
i have a simple user control that has a button on it which is on my web
page. everytime i click it i get the following message:

---------------------------
Error
---------------------------
A Runtime Error has occurred.
Do you wish to Debug?

Line: 52716926
Error: Expected ';'
---------------------------
Yes No
---------------------------

no matter what i answer the ide does nothing (vs2005) . i can't tell if this
is client side or server-side and i'm not sure how to go about debugging
this?

thanks,
rodchar
>
>
>
Nov 14 '07 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

2
3053
by: lawrence | last post by:
I've been bad about documentation so far but I'm going to try to be better. I've mostly worked alone so I'm the only one, so far, who's suffered from my bad habits. But I'd like other programmers to have an easier time understanding what I do. Therefore this weekend I'm going to spend 3 days just writing comments. Before I do it, I thought I'd ask other programmers what information they find useful. Below is a typical class I've...
3
1274
by: gilgamesh | last post by:
Hi there, What's a good tool to use for debugging ASP pages which contain bunch of javascripts? Thanks, Gilgamesh
0
1040
by: Eric Clapton | last post by:
I have created a vb.net project in local drive and the program contains crystal report 9.0 through ODBC and link to SQL server. I can run this no problem on WinXP. But when I move the project to a mapped drive and run the same application there. I got the following error: "Just-In-Time Debugging Handler and CLR Remote Host JIT Debugging component resitration is incorrect.
0
213
by: Allen Iverson | last post by:
I have created a vb.net project in local drive and the program contains crystal report 9.0 through ODBC and link to SQL server. I can run this no problem on WinXP. But when I move the project to a mapped drive and run the same application there. I got the following error: "Just-In-Time Debugging Handler and CLR Remote Host JIT Debugging component resitration is incorrect.
5
2201
by: Saurabh Aggrawal | last post by:
Hi, I am in the process of debugging a 32 bit driver in user mode. I am debugging a dll( printer UI) which internally uses the GDI32.dll. I am using the Windbg for debugging. Windbg is loading the symbol files for the GDI32.dll, kernel32.dll..... and all the other dll's properly. While debugging i want to see what is happening in GDI32 behind the scene. Is there a way? If not then why do we load the GDI32.pdb for debugging. Thanks,...
10
8707
by: Shawn | last post by:
JIT Debugging failed with the following error: Access is denied. JIT Debugging was initiated by the following account 'PLISKEN\ASPNET' I get this messag in a dialog window when I try to open an asp.net page. If I press OK then I get a page with this message: Server Application Unavailable The web application you are attempting to access on this web server is currently unavailable. Please hit the "Refresh" button in your web browser...
14
8669
by: | last post by:
I cannot for the life of me get remove debugging to work. I continue to receive "Error while trying to run project: Unable to start debugging on the web server. Access is denied. Verify that you are an administrator or member of the Debugger Users". I have followed (ms-help://MS.VSCC.2003/MS.MSDNQTR.2003FEB.1033/vsdebug/html/vxtbsHTTPServer Errors.htm). I have seen...
5
2802
by: rn5a | last post by:
Can someone please suggest me a text editor especially for DEBUGGING ASP scripts apart from Microsoft Visual Interdev? I tried using Visual Interdev & created a project but Interdev generates some error related to FrontPage extensions. I couldn't exactly understand the error. I tried to create the project in C: \Inetpub\wwwroot. If I just open a ASP file (by navigating to the File-->Open File... menu), then Interdev doesn't give the...
14
2156
by: bcap | last post by:
Hello, I really would apprciate help! =) What I want to do is be able to change the status of mulitple records using a drop down and a checkbox. I have a drop down called "ChangeStatus" with the values to change the status to Pending, Accepted, Declined, Cancelled, Completed.
1
4869
by: DR | last post by:
What ports do i need to unblock on client and server (running msvsmon.exe) to debug remotely from my client box with visual studio 2005 pro? When I attach to remote process a connection shows up in msvsmon.exe on the remote machine, however, the client box with visual studio displays error: "Unable to connect to the mricosoft visual studio remtoe debugging monitor named 'the box name' the micorosft visual studio remote debugging monitor...
0
8687
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8617
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
9174
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
9035
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
8914
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
8884
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
5875
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
2
2347
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
3
2009
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.