473,788 Members | 2,754 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

I suspect memory leak !!

We have a web application in AS. It also uses COM+ and SQL Server as
back-end.

Sometimes the size of the dllhost.exe grows unexpectedly. It is such that we
restart our IIS/ PWS. Also there is only one instance of dllhost running
when we restart the webserver but later on we notice more than one instance
sometimes.

Please suggest.


Jul 19 '05 #1
11 2232
one of your COM objects is causing it.

check that you clean up in your classes. ie. close objects and db
connections etc.
and do proper error trapping to avoid endless loops etc.

many instances of dllhost isn't really a problem, but untidy code inside COM
objects will definitely cause them to munch memory

"Newbie" <ab*@pqr.com> wrote in message
news:%2******** ********@TK2MSF TNGP12.phx.gbl. ..
We have a web application in AS. It also uses COM+ and SQL Server as
back-end.

Sometimes the size of the dllhost.exe grows unexpectedly. It is such that we restart our IIS/ PWS. Also there is only one instance of dllhost running
when we restart the webserver but later on we notice more than one instance sometimes.

Please suggest.

Jul 19 '05 #2
The problem is almost certainly caused by something you introduced to the
system. I have never seen dllhost.exe go crazy except in cases where there
is a rogue component, an infinite loop, unclosed objects or an MDAC version
in desperate need of an upgrade. Please review http://www.aspfaq.com/2227

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/


"Newbie" <ab*@pqr.com> wrote in message
news:#a******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP12.phx.gbl...
We have a web application in AS. It also uses COM+ and SQL Server as
back-end.

Sometimes the size of the dllhost.exe grows unexpectedly. It is such that we restart our IIS/ PWS. Also there is only one instance of dllhost running
when we restart the webserver but later on we notice more than one instance sometimes.

Please suggest.

Jul 19 '05 #3
"almost certainly" ?

We recently diagnosed a serious memory leak in Analysis Services that was
causing our DLLHOST processes to eventually fail. I remember taking
exception to the MSDN guidelines that implicitly suggested all memory
problems were due to design/programming errors by the customer.

Tony Proctor

"Aaron Bertrand - MVP" <aa***@TRASHasp faq.com> wrote in message
news:eQ******** *****@tk2msftng p13.phx.gbl...
The problem is almost certainly caused by something you introduced to the
system. I have never seen dllhost.exe go crazy except in cases where there is a rogue component, an infinite loop, unclosed objects or an MDAC version in desperate need of an upgrade. Please review http://www.aspfaq.com/2227

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/


"Newbie" <ab*@pqr.com> wrote in message
news:#a******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP12.phx.gbl...
We have a web application in AS. It also uses COM+ and SQL Server as
back-end.

Sometimes the size of the dllhost.exe grows unexpectedly. It is such
that we
restart our IIS/ PWS. Also there is only one instance of dllhost running
when we restart the webserver but later on we notice more than one

instance
sometimes.

Please suggest.


Jul 19 '05 #4
> We recently diagnosed a serious memory leak in Analysis Services that was
causing our DLLHOST processes to eventually fail.


I was speaking about DLLHOST in relation to IIS and ASP. What does Analysis
Services have to do with your COM DLLs?

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/
Jul 19 '05 #5
So was I Aaron. The web application used a number of VB components via ASP.
Most of these used both SQLServer and MS OLAP.

Tony Proctor

"Aaron Bertrand - MVP" <aa***@TRASHasp faq.com> wrote in message
news:uw******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP12.phx.gbl...
We recently diagnosed a serious memory leak in Analysis Services that was causing our DLLHOST processes to eventually fail.
I was speaking about DLLHOST in relation to IIS and ASP. What does

Analysis Services have to do with your COM DLLs?

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/

Jul 19 '05 #6
> So was I Aaron. The web application used a number of VB components via
ASP.
Most of these used both SQLServer and MS OLAP.


And is this the case now, or only in your "recently diagnosed" scenario?
Did you raise the issue with Microsoft? Did you have a support ticket? Did
you get it resolved by Microsoft? Is there already a hotfix for the
problem? How do you expect them to fix something if you don't make them
directly aware of the problem? For all intents and purposes, your own
diagnosis points to OLAP as the cause only in your own isolated environment.
Until there is an issue acknowledged by the vendor, you can't expect us to
take for gospel that the problem is with OLAP. In any case, I have used MS
OLAP tools in ASP applications before (I currently maintain one such app for
2000+ clients), and I have yet to see them cause dllhost problems on their
own. So obviously my initial statement stands: there is something involved
here that you are doing differently.
Jul 19 '05 #7
Heh, steady on Aaron. I'm not asking you to take anything as gospel. My
point was merely that MS can be as guilty of a memory leak as anyone else,
and AS (Analysis Services) has a particular reputation in this area.

As it happens, the problem *was* reported to MS. They did acknowledge there
was a leak, and that our diagnosis was spot on. A non-redistibutable hotfix
was created, but then removed from their web site as soon as we took it.
This is not acceptable as all our customers need the fix too. Unfortunately,
the issue is slightly complicated by the fact the initial report was done
via an OEM partner in the US, and now has to be reported independently by
ourselves in the UK - such is the machinery of MS support. :-(

Tony Proctor

"Aaron Bertrand - MVP" <aa***@TRASHasp faq.com> wrote in message
news:OA******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP10.phx.gbl...
So was I Aaron. The web application used a number of VB components via ASP.
Most of these used both SQLServer and MS OLAP.


And is this the case now, or only in your "recently diagnosed" scenario?
Did you raise the issue with Microsoft? Did you have a support ticket?

Did you get it resolved by Microsoft? Is there already a hotfix for the
problem? How do you expect them to fix something if you don't make them
directly aware of the problem? For all intents and purposes, your own
diagnosis points to OLAP as the cause only in your own isolated environment. Until there is an issue acknowledged by the vendor, you can't expect us to
take for gospel that the problem is with OLAP. In any case, I have used MS OLAP tools in ASP applications before (I currently maintain one such app for 2000+ clients), and I have yet to see them cause dllhost problems on their
own. So obviously my initial statement stands: there is something involved here that you are doing differently.

Jul 19 '05 #8
Your original issue mentioned nothing of Analysis Services, and I am still
going on the assumption that it is a different issue than the case you
brought up with Microsoft.

Do you want help with your initial issue, or do you want to discuss how
poorly Microsoft treated you?

If the latter, this isn't the place.

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/


"Tony Proctor" <tony_proctor@a imtechnology_NO SPAM_.com> wrote in message
news:OU******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP10.phx.gbl...
Heh, steady on Aaron. I'm not asking you to take anything as gospel. My
point was merely that MS can be as guilty of a memory leak as anyone else,
and AS (Analysis Services) has a particular reputation in this area.

As it happens, the problem *was* reported to MS. They did acknowledge there was a leak, and that our diagnosis was spot on. A non-redistibutable hotfix was created, but then removed from their web site as soon as we took it.
This is not acceptable as all our customers need the fix too. Unfortunately, the issue is slightly complicated by the fact the initial report was done
via an OEM partner in the US, and now has to be reported independently by
ourselves in the UK - such is the machinery of MS support. :-(

Tony Proctor

Jul 19 '05 #9
eh? Are we at cross-purposes here?

My original reply in this thread mentioned Analysis Services (or Microsoft
OLAP, as it used to be called). msolap80.dll was the hotfixed MS component.
We've confirmed that the hotfix cures our leak.

Unless the OP's problem fits the same description as ours then this
direction is not helping him. As I said before, my intention was merely to
suggest that leaks are not always the fault of the application developer.

Thanks for the offer but we'll progress the call, and the request for a
redistributable fix, through normal channels Aaron.

Tony Proctor

"Aaron Bertrand - MVP" <aa***@TRASHasp faq.com> wrote in message
news:#I******** ******@tk2msftn gp13.phx.gbl...
Your original issue mentioned nothing of Analysis Services, and I am still
going on the assumption that it is a different issue than the case you
brought up with Microsoft.

Do you want help with your initial issue, or do you want to discuss how
poorly Microsoft treated you?

If the latter, this isn't the place.

--
Aaron Bertrand
SQL Server MVP
http://www.aspfaq.com/


"Tony Proctor" <tony_proctor@a imtechnology_NO SPAM_.com> wrote in message
news:OU******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP10.phx.gbl...
Heh, steady on Aaron. I'm not asking you to take anything as gospel. My
point was merely that MS can be as guilty of a memory leak as anyone else, and AS (Analysis Services) has a particular reputation in this area.

As it happens, the problem *was* reported to MS. They did acknowledge

there
was a leak, and that our diagnosis was spot on. A non-redistibutable

hotfix
was created, but then removed from their web site as soon as we took it.
This is not acceptable as all our customers need the fix too.

Unfortunately,
the issue is slightly complicated by the fact the initial report was done via an OEM partner in the US, and now has to be reported independently by ourselves in the UK - such is the machinery of MS support. :-(

Tony Proctor


Jul 19 '05 #10

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

8
3414
by: ranjeet.gupta | last post by:
Dear All Is the Root Cause of the Memory corruption is the Memory leak, ?? suppose If in the code there is Memory leak, Do this may lead to the Memory Corruption while executing the program ? In nut shell, what is/are the realtion/s between the Memory Leak and Memory Corruption. Juts Theoritical Assumtion below:
17
4815
by: José Joye | last post by:
Hi, I have implemented a Service that is responsible for getting messages from a MS MQ located on a remote machine. I'm getting memory leak from time to time (???). In some situation, it is easier to reproduce (e.g.: remote machine not available). After about 1 day, I get a usage of 300MB of memory. I have used .NET Memory Profiler tool to try to see where the leak is located. For all the leaky instances, I can see the following (I...
4
6093
by: Don Nell | last post by:
Hello Why is there a memory leak when this code is executed. for(;;) { ManagementScope scope = new ManagementScope(); scope.Options.Username="username"; scope.Options.Password="password"; scope.Path.Path=@"\\pc\root\cimv2";
20
8119
by: jeevankodali | last post by:
Hi I have an .Net application which processes thousands of Xml nodes each day and for each node I am using around 30-40 Regex matches to see if they satisfy some conditions are not. These Regex matches are called within a loop (like if or for). E.g. for(int i = 0; i < 10; i++) { Regex r = new Regex();
23
4571
by: James | last post by:
The following code will create memory leaks!!! using System; using System.Diagnostics; using System.Data; using System.Data.SqlClient; namespace MemoryLeak
8
8554
by: Adrian | last post by:
Hi I have a JS program that runs localy (under IE6 only) on a PC but it has a memory leak (probably the known MS one!) What applications are there that I could use to look at the memory usage of each object within my JS app to help locate my problem? Thanks
3
5327
by: Jim Land | last post by:
Jack Slocum claims here http://www.jackslocum.com/yui/2006/10/02/3-easy-steps-to-avoid-javascript- memory-leaks/ that "almost every site you visit that uses JavaScript is leaking memory". Anybody know anything about this? Does *Javascript* leak memeory, or does the *browser* leak memory?
27
2181
by: Neil | last post by:
Hello all! I wrote program with a array of pointers, and I suspect they are pointing at each other in the Do ...While loop. Something is messed up with the increment variable word. A program clip of what I'm talking about. #include <stdio.h> #include <string.h>
22
9365
by: Peter | last post by:
I am using VS2008. I have a Windows Service application which creates Crystal Reports. This is a multi theaded application which can run several reports at one time. My problem - there is a memory leak someplace. I can not detect the memory leak by running several reports by hand, but when I run tha app as a servrice and process few hundred reports there is significant memory leak. The application can consume over 1GB of memory where it...
0
9656
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
9498
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
10366
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10175
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
0
8993
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
6750
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5536
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
4070
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3675
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.