473,513 Members | 6,210 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

"Syntax error in FROM clause"

Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
good day guys, please help me with this code that i have. i'm having a "Syntax error in FROM clause" error. Here is my code, any help is much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.  Dim strSQL As String = "Select * from " & Trim(cboID.Text)
  2. Dim rsData as ADODB.Recordset
  3.  
  4. If rsData.State = ConnectionState.Open Then rsData.Close()
  5. rsData.Open(strSQL, DBConn, ADODB.CursorTypeEnum.adOpenKeyset, _
  6. ADODB.LockTypeEnum.adLockPessimistic)
Aug 2 '11 #1
16 3129
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I have no idea what cboID.Text is. Did you output the string to make sure it's correct? If your table has spaces, you need to use the square bracket qualifiers.
Aug 2 '11 #2
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
thank you so much for the quick reply sir, you've proven yourself a great help even on the first time that I ask question on this forum. cboID.text gives users the previledge to select what table he/she would use.
Aug 2 '11 #3
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Did you output the query string to see if it's correct? What are these table names?
Aug 2 '11 #4
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
yes i did and i did also try to assign a variable to hold the query string but still no luck.
Aug 2 '11 #5
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
What are these table names?
Aug 2 '11 #6
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
table names are created by the user at runtime.
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Dim sql As String = "CREATE TABLE " & txtTabelName.text & "
  2.     (StudentId INTEGER CONSTRAINT PkeyMyId PRIMARY KEY,"
  3.     + "Name CHAR(50), Address CHAR(255), Contact INTEGER)"
  4.  
  5.     cmd = New OdbcCommand(sql, conn)
  6.  
  7.     cmd.ExecuteNonQuery()
Aug 2 '11 #7
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Read this and post the results: http://bytes.com/topic/access/insigh...bug-sql-string

Also, I noticed you have DBConn in your code but it's not defined anywhere.
Aug 2 '11 #8
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
That was my mistake, the code that I posted was just a part of the private sub. Here's the whole code:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Private Sub cboID_Click(ByVal sender As Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles cboID.Click
  2.         Try
  3.             Dim rsData As New ADODB.Recordset
  4.             Dim ListUsers As New ListViewItem
  5.  
  6.             If rsData.State = ConnectionState.Open Then rsData.Close()
  7.             rsData.Open("Select * from '" & cboID.Text & "'", DBConn, _
  8.                         ADODB.CursorTypeEnum.adOpenKeyset, _
  9.                         ADODB.LockTypeEnum.adLockPessimistic)
  10.  
  11.             lvExmView.AutoResizeColumns(ColumnHeaderAutoResizeStyle.HeaderSize)
  12.             lvExmView.Items.Clear()
  13.  
  14.             Do Until rsData.EOF
  15.                 ListUsers = lvExmView.Items.Add(rsData.Fields("ID").Value)
  16.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("Question").Value)
  17.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("A").Value)
  18.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("B").Value)
  19.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("C").Value)
  20.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("D").Value)
  21.                 ListUsers.SubItems.Add(rsData.Fields("Ans").Value)
  22.                 rsData.MoveNext()
  23.             Loop
  24.             'lvExmView.AutoResizeColumns(ColumnHeaderAutoResizeStyle.ColumnContent)
  25.  
  26.         Catch ex As Exception
  27.             MsgBox(Err.Description & vbNewLine & vbNewLine & _
  28.                 Err.Number & " " & Err.Source, MsgBoxStyle.Critical, "Error")
  29.             Err.Clear()
  30.         End Try
  31.     End Sub
Aug 2 '11 #9
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
DBConn is a public declared variable (Public DBConn as ADODB.Recordset)

I same thing that I first use to debug my code is to use a messagebox to dispplay the real value of the string. I even tried this

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Dim strSQL as string
  2.  
  3. strSQL= Chr(34) & "Select * from " & cboID.text & Chr(34)
  4. msgbox(strSQL)
and got this output "Select * from TableName" with the quotes but still the same error goes in.
Aug 2 '11 #10
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
In your full code, there are single quotes around the table name, if anything, they should be an open square bracket and a close square bracket.
Aug 2 '11 #11
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
You mean something like this,
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.  "Select * from " & [cboID.text], dbconn
Aug 2 '11 #12
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Not quite. Your shortened code and your full code is not the same. In your full code, you have this
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. "Select * from '" & cboID.Text & "'"
Which means the end query is this
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Select * from 'tableName'
That is incorrect. If you're using the single quotes because there are spaces in the table name, then it needs to be brackets and not single quotes.
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. "Select * from [" & cboID.Text & "]"
Aug 2 '11 #13
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
I know that this is a dumb question but what is this "[]" for? (completely new to it :p)
Aug 2 '11 #14
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
To tell the engine that what's inside is an object. It's required only for those items that use reserved keywords or spaces in the name. If none of your table names have spaces in the name, then you don't need it. If my table is named Purchase Orders, I can't use select * from purchase orders. That will error out, I need to use select * from [purchase orders].

You may not even need it. But you definitely can't use the single quotes that you're using in your code. Single quotes are string demarcaters.
Aug 2 '11 #15
Richard Alvarez
32 New Member
Thank you so much, i really appreciate your help sir. I really do because this is the first time i learn about this bracket thing. Thank you again.
Aug 2 '11 #16
Rabbit
12,516 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Not a problem, good luck.
Aug 2 '11 #17

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

2
4361
by: AIM | last post by:
Error in msvc in building inheritance.obj to build hello.pyd Hello, I am trying to build the boost 1.31.0 sample extension hello.cpp. I can not compile the file inheritance.cpp because the two...
2
2939
by: Gregory | last post by:
Hi, One of the disadvantages of using error handling with error codes instead of exception handling is that error codes retuned from a function can be forgotten to check thus leading to...
13
6574
by: deko | last post by:
I use this convention frequently: Exit_Here: Exit Sub HandleErr: Select Case Err.Number Case 3163 Resume Next Case 3376 Resume Next
7
4979
by: p | last post by:
WE had a Crystal 8 WebApp using vs 2002 which we upgraded to VS2003. I also have Crystal 9 pro on my development machine. The web app runs fine on my dev machine but am having problems deploying....
3
16196
by: Manuel | last post by:
I'm trying to compile glut 3.7.6 (dowbloaded from official site)using devc++. So I've imported the glut32.dsp into devc++, included manually some headers, and start to compile. It return a very...
2
5300
by: f rom | last post by:
----- Forwarded Message ---- From: Josiah Carlson <jcarlson@uci.edu> To: f rom <etaoinbe@yahoo.com>; wxpython-users@lists.wxwidgets.org Sent: Monday, December 4, 2006 10:03:28 PM Subject: Re: ...
2
19404
hyperpau
by: hyperpau | last post by:
Before anything else, I am not a very technical expert when it comes to VBA coding. I learned most of what I know by the excellent Access/VBA forum from bytes.com (formerly thescripts.com). Ergo, I...
0
2897
hyperpau
by: hyperpau | last post by:
Before anything else, I am not a very technical expert when it comes to VBA coding. I learned most of what I know by the excellent Access/VBA forum from bytes.com (formerly thescripts.com). Ergo, I...
5
4155
by: yashu0209 | last post by:
I have an error occurring when i try to compile the program and the error is: D:\Program Files\visual studio 6.0\MSDev98\MyProjects\GLEnabledView\GLNew.cpp(164) : error C2653: 'CGLEnabledView' :...
2
3230
by: randa zaghdan | last post by:
Hi I have a problem with my program in vc 2008 When I compile it, the following errors are listed. I try to resolve it but no hope Does any one can help me ? thanks . Linking......
0
7254
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
7153
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
7373
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
5677
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
1
5079
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
4743
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and...
0
1585
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated ...
1
796
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
0
452
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.