473,657 Members | 2,351 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Addin problem - "invalid class string"

Help, please, I can't get any addins working on a new machine. I registered
the correct plugin names into the right registry location. I gave
VSControlHostLi b with a strong name, created the interop assembly, put them
both in the GAC. On my main development machine plugins work OK. On this new
machine no plugins work (not even the ToolWindow example). I keep getting
this error message when invoking EnvDTE.Windows. CreateToolWindo w:

System.Interop. RunTimeServices .COMException (0x800401F3): Invalid Class
String.

If someone could help me get this up and running before noon I would be very
grateful.

Thanks,
Paul
Nov 21 '05 #1
3 5239
Hi,

I assume that the host (target) of your add-in is VS.NET (not an Office
product) and that you are using a shim control (because you can call
CreateToolwindo w without the shim control in VS.NET 2002 and even in VS.NET
2003 with a hack).

The shim control, provided by MS or other versions out there, needs to be
re-ProgID and re-GUID to avoid collisions with shim controls of other
products. Have you done that? See

http://groups.google.es/group/micros...0741c50a665b2e

That said, the shim control, being an ActiveX (COM) control, must be
registered with regsvr32.exe or similar. Have you done this on the client
machines?

Finally, why are you deploying it to the GAC? There is no need for that,
unless you are sharing it with other apps.

--
Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio .NET, VB6, VB5 and VBA
You can code, design and document much faster.
Free resources for add-in developers:
http://www.mztools.com

"Paul" <no***@executes pammers.org> escribió en el mensaje
news:u3******** ********@TK2MSF TNGP09.phx.gbl. ..
Help, please, I can't get any addins working on a new machine. I
registered
the correct plugin names into the right registry location. I gave
VSControlHostLi b with a strong name, created the interop assembly, put
them
both in the GAC. On my main development machine plugins work OK. On this
new
machine no plugins work (not even the ToolWindow example). I keep getting
this error message when invoking EnvDTE.Windows. CreateToolWindo w:

System.Interop. RunTimeServices .COMException (0x800401F3): Invalid Class
String.

If someone could help me get this up and running before noon I would be
very
grateful.

Thanks,
Paul

Nov 21 '05 #2
regsvr32.exe did it you were right yes yes yes

Wohoo! Pulled out of the fire!

Thanks!

Paul

"Carlos J. Quintero [.NET MVP]" <ca*****@NOSPAM sogecable.com> wrote in
message news:%2******** ********@TK2MSF TNGP10.phx.gbl. ..
Hi,

I assume that the host (target) of your add-in is VS.NET (not an Office
product) and that you are using a shim control (because you can call
CreateToolwindo w without the shim control in VS.NET 2002 and even in VS.NET 2003 with a hack).

The shim control, provided by MS or other versions out there, needs to be
re-ProgID and re-GUID to avoid collisions with shim controls of other
products. Have you done that? See

http://groups.google.es/group/micros...0741c50a665b2e
That said, the shim control, being an ActiveX (COM) control, must be
registered with regsvr32.exe or similar. Have you done this on the client
machines?

Finally, why are you deploying it to the GAC? There is no need for that,
unless you are sharing it with other apps.

--
Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio .NET, VB6, VB5 and VBA
You can code, design and document much faster.
Free resources for add-in developers:
http://www.mztools.com

"Paul" <no***@executes pammers.org> escribió en el mensaje
news:u3******** ********@TK2MSF TNGP09.phx.gbl. ..
Help, please, I can't get any addins working on a new machine. I
registered
the correct plugin names into the right registry location. I gave
VSControlHostLi b with a strong name, created the interop assembly, put
them
both in the GAC. On my main development machine plugins work OK. On this
new
machine no plugins work (not even the ToolWindow example). I keep getting this error message when invoking EnvDTE.Windows. CreateToolWindo w:

System.Interop. RunTimeServices .COMException (0x800401F3): Invalid Class
String.

If someone could help me get this up and running before noon I would be
very
grateful.

Thanks,
Paul


Nov 21 '05 #3
Well, then you can re-ProgID and re-GUID now. Be aware if you don´t do it
and another add-in developer does the same, your add-in could end using the
shim control of the another add-in if it was registered after yours, or even
worse, it could break your add-in if it is uninstalled.

BTW, the microsoft.publi c.vsnet.ide newsgroup is better than this for add-in
questions, and the Yahoo forum (http://groups.yahoo.com/group/vsnetaddin/)
even better.

--
Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio .NET, VB6, VB5 and VBA
You can code, design and document much faster.
Free resources for add-in developers:
http://www.mztools.com

"Paul" <no***@executes pammers.org> escribió en el mensaje
news:ev******** ******@TK2MSFTN GP15.phx.gbl...
regsvr32.exe did it you were right yes yes yes

Wohoo! Pulled out of the fire!

Thanks!

Paul


Nov 21 '05 #4

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
4602
by: Brian Morris | last post by:
I'm new to .NET and just trying a few things out, like emailing. I created a form in Visual Studio .Net to input some information for generating an email and I'm getting the following error when it executes both on my server or on the server of the .NET service provider. I'm obviously missing something very basic and I'm hoping one of you can point out my error. Thank you for your assistance. Brian
1
3873
by: Ron | last post by:
I am trying to run asp.net pages. The server is accessed via http://sitename/username I have verified it is using port 80 and aspx extensions are configured. But when I run and asp.net page I get the following error: Invalid file name for monitoring: 'E:\'. File names for monitoring must have absolute paths, and no wildcards. Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the
1
3963
by: verb13 | last post by:
In an asp page in localhost I have this: Set x = Server.CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary") And I get this error: Invalid class string If I omit Server like this: Set x = Server.CreateObject("Scripting.Dictionary") I get this error: ActiveX component can't create object: 'Scripting.Dictionary' In the same asp page this works fine: Set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
7
17874
by: Dica | last post by:
i've used the sample code from msdn to create an encyption/decryption assembly as found here: http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/dnnetsec/html/SecNetHT10.asp i'm able to encrypt and then decrypt data okay as in the following code: // encrypt the data // Encryptor enc = new Encryptor(EncryptionAlgorithm.TripleDes); byte key = Encoding.ASCII.GetBytes("0123456789012345");
7
2250
by: GS | last post by:
Hi! I am getting an "Invalid Xml" exception when I try to load an xsl file using XslTransform.Load(string url). The Xsl file is valid and works fine if I just rename the file. There are some postings with this problem, but none of them have a solution as yet. If anyone has any ideas on how to resolve this, please do post.
7
9528
by: Søren Dreijer | last post by:
Hi, I have a mixed C#, managed C++ and unmanaged C++ project. The managed class calls a method which exists in an unmanaged singleton class. During the entire lifetime of the application, this gives no problems whatsoever. However, upon shutdown an exception pops up: "The string binding is invalid" If I call the singleton method from inside a purely unmanaged class, I
1
8015
by: Java Guy | last post by:
I'm trying to view a web page. IE tells me there are (Java?) errors on the page. Here they are: Line: 15 Char: 7 Error: Wrong number of arguments or invalid propert assignment Code: 0 URL: http://(address.of.my.webcam):port/LiveView.html and
10
4025
by: jonathanemil | last post by:
Hello, I am a 1st semester Computer Science student in a Python class. Our current assignment calls for us to read a list from a file, create a 2-dimensional list from the file, and check to see whether or not 2-dim list constitutes a "magic square" (i.e. all the rows, columns and diagonals equal each other when added). We are to create several definitions, and I have had no problem reading from the file, creating the list, and getting the...
1
2799
by: eBob.com | last post by:
I have some code which is trying to determine where text will wrap in a custom text box (which Inherits from Control). It determines the number of characters which will fit in the first line, but then encounters an exception when it calls MeasureCharacterRanges to see if the next character, i.e. the one destined to become the first character of the second line, will fit. The message says only "Invalid parameter" - it does not say which...
0
8399
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8312
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
8827
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
8732
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
8504
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
7337
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
5632
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
4318
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
2
1622
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.