473,772 Members | 2,349 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

MySQL INSERT error

Howdy,

I'm a but of a newbie and I'd appreciate some help with a MySQL issue
I'm having. I'm trying to insert some data into MySQL from a POST form
but the query breaks whenever a user fails to fill out a value. Here's
the PHP code that breaks when the $_POST[opus] variable is left blank:

mysql_query("IN SERT INTO piece VALUES (NULL, '$_POST[composer]',
$_POST[opus], $_POST[year], '$_POST[name]' , '$_POST[work_type]',
$_COOKIE[user_cookie])") or die(mysql_error ());

Here's my error message:

"You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that
corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use
near '1865,'Symphony No. 2 in B-flat Major','1',15)' at line 1"

And lastly, here's the settings of the mySQL field:

opus is a mediumint of length nine. NULL = yes. Default = NULL.

Thanks,
Jacob

Feb 20 '06 #1
3 6890
Looks like you're not escaping the POST'd data, which is very
dangerous, unless you are automagically escaping incoming data.

Anyway, I'd suggest storing your query in a string, then echoing it
before it is executed so you can see the entire query, Then you might
be able to see where the problem is. Nothing jumps out at me after a
cursory glance at your code.

Feb 20 '06 #2
>I'm a but of a newbie and I'd appreciate some help with a MySQL issue
I'm having. I'm trying to insert some data into MySQL from a POST form
but the query breaks whenever a user fails to fill out a value. Here's
Then don't submit the query if the user fails to fill in a value.
Give the user an error message. Or if it's legitimate and you
want to insert a null value, replace the unset value with the
word null (for integers where you're not enclosing the value in
quotes).

You're also begging for a SQL injection attack here. And
happens if $_POST['name'] is:
Beethoven's 5th symphony
which will also cause SQL errors?

If you take input from the browser (which includes anything from
$_GET, $_POST, $_REQUEST, or $_COOKIE) and put it into SQL
without at a minimum quoting it first (e.g. with addslashes()
or mysql_escape_st ring()), you're in trouble. If user input
(especially a single or double quote as part of the input)
can cause SQL errors, you're in trouble.
the PHP code that breaks when the $_POST[opus] variable is left blank:

mysql_query("I NSERT INTO piece VALUES (NULL, '$_POST[composer]',
$_POST[opus], $_POST[year], '$_POST[name]' , '$_POST[work_type]',
$_COOKIE[user_cookie])") or die(mysql_error ());

Here's my error message:

"You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that
corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use
near '1865,'Symphony No. 2 in B-flat Major','1',15)' at line 1"


Gordon L. Burditt
Feb 20 '06 #4

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
3527
by: Lenz Grimmer | last post by:
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE----- Hash: SHA1 Hi, MySQL 4.0.14, a new version of the popular Open Source/Free Software Database, has been released. It is now available in source and binary form for a number of platforms from our download pages at http://www.mysql.com/downloads/ and mirror sites.
0
2983
by: Kenneth Illingsworth | last post by:
--=_603E7359.5B3A569C Content-Type: text/plain; charset=US-ASCII Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable Content-Disposition: inline I suspect that this is some kind of issue with privileges. However, the = account I am using has been given 'ALL' privileges to the database I am = trying to insert to. Am I save to assume that ALL includes insert = privileges?
0
3948
by: Mike Chirico | last post by:
Interesting Things to Know about MySQL Mike Chirico (mchirico@users.sourceforge.net) Copyright (GPU Free Documentation License) 2004 Last Updated: Mon Jun 7 10:37:28 EDT 2004 The latest version of this document can be found at: http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/souptonuts/README_mysql.txt?download
1
3379
by: jlee | last post by:
I'm pretty much a newbie on mysql, and I need some help. I am running mysql Ver 12.22 Distrib 4.0.24, for portbld-freebsd5.4 (i386) on a server hosting an active website. The site's developer uses his own php shopping cart to receive customer orders. The configuration was done via cPanel with no external modifications - which produced no protests when built, ran and connected with no
2
8259
by: speralta | last post by:
My tired old eyes may be failing me, but the following insert statements look correct to me, but I can't seem to get a clean insert from a fairly large text file database into mysql. I was wondering if maybe I'm hitting a limit on character length per line on some insert statements that I'm trying. Here's the error messages: execute failed: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server...
1
15391
by: Ike | last post by:
Recently, I began using a different MySQL verver (i.e. different machine as well as different version#, going from 4.12a to 4.1.9 max). The following query used to work: select firstname, lastname, from associates where username like 'nancianne' but now fails with: "You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'from associates
2
5255
by: Boujii | last post by:
Greetings, I have been attempting to make a drop down menu of countries. From this menu I wish to create a variable in order to INPUT into mysql database. I have no trouble making the drop down menu, but I am unable to store a variable for it. Here is a rough copy of what I am making: <html> <head> <title>Add New MySQL User</title> <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1"> </head>
2
7047
josie23
by: josie23 | last post by:
Egad, I'm not a coder/programmer by nature or occupation but understand things like html and css and a small amount of perl. So, basically, I'm a perl/mysql imbecile. But, I've been trying to find syntax to insert values into a mysql database table. I'm able to use the below syntax to insert hard-coded values like 'josie' and 'smith' but can't find working syntax to insert $scalar data from another file (which is really what perl-mysql is...
221
367735
Atli
by: Atli | last post by:
You may be wondering why you would want to put your files “into” the database, rather than just onto the file-system. Well, most of the time, you wouldn’t. In situations where your PHP application needs to store entire files, the preferred method is to save the file onto the server’s file-system, and store the physical location of the file in your database. This is generally considered to be the easiest and fastest way to store files. ...
1
9586
ssnaik84
by: ssnaik84 | last post by:
Hi Guys, Last year I got a chance to work with R&D team, which was working on DB scripts conversion.. Though there is migration tool available, it converts only tables and constraints.. Rest of things (stored procedures, functions).. we have to manually edit. That time, we face some interesting challenges.. I failed to document all of them, but whatever I can share with u.. I will try.. :) ...
0
9621
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
9454
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
10264
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10106
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
7461
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
6716
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5355
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
4009
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3610
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.