473,657 Members | 2,667 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

"unable to attach to the process" - VS 2003 VB.NET dll and VB6

Hello,

I'm calling a VB.NET 2003 dll that's registered in COM+. I've added a
reference to it in a VB6 DLL that I'm calling from a Classic ASP page.
Previously I was able to attach to my .NET dll and debug it. I haven't
been able to do this in a while and I'm thinking that it must be
because I've installed VS 2005 on my machine subsequently.

So in my C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98 directory I
added a file called vb6.exe.config that contains the following:

<configuratio n>

<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/>
</startup>

</configuration>

I also added an app.config file to my .NET dll's project that looks
like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuratio n>
<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />
</startup>
</configuration>

So I'm running my VB6 dll in the IDE and I put a break point on the
line after the CreateObject line in VB6 dll code.

Dim objDotNet As MyDotNetDLL.cls MyDotNetClass
Set objDotNet = CreateObject("M yDotNetDLL.clsM yDotNetClass")
'Put a break point here...

I have my VB.NET dll project open in the IDE and I try to attach to the
process using Tools / Debug Processes.

I pick dllhost that has "Microsoft Active Server pages" beside it with
the Type Script, .NET, T-SQL, Win32. I then pick "Common Language
Runtime" as the program type that I want to debug and I still get the
"Unable to attach to process" message.

Thanks,
Eric

Sep 21 '06 #1
6 6435
Try

<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />

Regards

Jochen

<er**********@g mail.comwrote in message
news:11******** **************@ b28g2000cwb.goo glegroups.com.. .
Hello,

I'm calling a VB.NET 2003 dll that's registered in COM+. I've added a
reference to it in a VB6 DLL that I'm calling from a Classic ASP page.
Previously I was able to attach to my .NET dll and debug it. I haven't
been able to do this in a while and I'm thinking that it must be
because I've installed VS 2005 on my machine subsequently.

So in my C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98 directory I
added a file called vb6.exe.config that contains the following:

<configuratio n>

<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/>
</startup>

</configuration>

I also added an app.config file to my .NET dll's project that looks
like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuratio n>
<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />
</startup>
</configuration>

So I'm running my VB6 dll in the IDE and I put a break point on the
line after the CreateObject line in VB6 dll code.

Dim objDotNet As MyDotNetDLL.cls MyDotNetClass
Set objDotNet = CreateObject("M yDotNetDLL.clsM yDotNetClass")
'Put a break point here...

I have my VB.NET dll project open in the IDE and I try to attach to the
process using Tools / Debug Processes.

I pick dllhost that has "Microsoft Active Server pages" beside it with
the Type Script, .NET, T-SQL, Win32. I then pick "Common Language
Runtime" as the program type that I want to debug and I still get the
"Unable to attach to process" message.

Thanks,
Eric

Sep 21 '06 #2
Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
Try

<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />

Regards

Jochen
Would that be instead of the <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/or
in addition to it.

-Eric

Sep 21 '06 #3
I use it instead but I think both ways should do it.

Regards

Jochen

<er**********@g mail.comwrote in message
news:11******** **************@ d34g2000cwd.goo glegroups.com.. .
Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
>Try

<requiredRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />

Regards

Jochen

Would that be instead of the <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/or
in addition to it.

-Eric

Sep 22 '06 #4

Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
I use it instead but I think both ways should do it.

Regards

Jochen

<er**********@g mail.comwrote in message
news:11******** **************@ d34g2000cwd.goo glegroups.com.. .
Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
Try

<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />

Regards

Jochen
Would that be instead of the <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/or
in addition to it.

-Eric
So I put a <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/in my vb6.exe.config
file that's in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98 and in
the app.config file that's in the same directory as my VB.NET dll
that's registered in COM+. Still no joy. So the VB.NET dll is in the
MyDLL\obj\Debug directory and in that directory I have:

..sbas
App.config
MyDLL.dll
MyDLL.pdb
MyDLL.tlb
temp
TempPE

My app.config file and vb6.exe.config files now look like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuratio n>
<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />
<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />
</startup>
</configuration>
-Eric

Sep 25 '06 #5
Well, you have to create the config file for the process you are goiung to
debug. As far as I understand this is NOT vb6.exe but DLLHOST.exe in the
System32 folder!

Jochen

<er**********@g mail.comwrote in message
news:11******** **************@ d34g2000cwd.goo glegroups.com.. .
>
Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
>I use it instead but I think both ways should do it.

Regards

Jochen

<er**********@ gmail.comwrote in message
news:11******* *************** @d34g2000cwd.go oglegroups.com. ..
Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
Try

<requiredRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />

Regards

Jochen
Would that be instead of the <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/or
in addition to it.

-Eric

So I put a <supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322"/in my vb6.exe.config
file that's in the C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98 and in
the app.config file that's in the same directory as my VB.NET dll
that's registered in COM+. Still no joy. So the VB.NET dll is in the
MyDLL\obj\Debug directory and in that directory I have:

.sbas
App.config
MyDLL.dll
MyDLL.pdb
MyDLL.tlb
temp
TempPE

My app.config file and vb6.exe.config files now look like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuratio n>
<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />
<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />
</startup>
</configuration>
-Eric

Sep 26 '06 #6
Hello,

Dr. Jochen Manns wrote:
Well, you have to create the config file for the process you are goiung to
debug. As far as I understand this is NOT vb6.exe but DLLHOST.exe in the
System32 folder!

Jochen
So I now have a dllhost.exe.con fig file and an app.config file that now
look like:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" ?>
<configuratio n>
<startup>
<supportedRunti me version="v1.1.4 322" />
<requiredRuntim e version="v1.1.4 322" />
</startup>
</configuration>

I'm able to step into my .NET DLL. The way it gets called is my .NET
dll is registered in COM+ (creating a tlb file). I'm then running a
classic ASP application that call a vb6 dll (also registered in COM+).
My vb6 dll then calls my .NET dll which calls a web service. I pass
in the url to the web service as a parameter to my .NET dll, I'm
currently passing in a url that points to a test harness web service
that also sits on my local machine. When I call the web service it
runs correctly, but I'm not able to step into the code for my web
service.

The test web service is in a .NET solution together with my .NET dll
that's the link between the web service and my vb6 dll. When I look at
the break points in my web service they all have a "?" beside them
saying the "The breakpoint will not currently hit. No symbols are
loaded for the document." I've done a rebuild all on my solution with
the solution configuration set to "Debug." The datestamp for the pdb
file for the web service matches the .dll.

The web service is in C# while the calling dll is in VB.NET, but these
2 projects are in the same solution.

-Eric

Sep 27 '06 #7

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
1349
by: Eric Brasher | last post by:
I am trying to work with the new sdk 3.0 from quickbooks which allows subscriptions to events in the quickbooks app. One problem I am having is creating an activex exe using vb.net. The subscription process states that the com object used to recieve events from qb has to run out of process. How do I create an "Out of Process" compatible solution in vb.net?
5
11032
by: David Webb | last post by:
The problem started when the Working Folder for a project was somehow set to the folder of another project. I set the correct working folder in VSS and deleted the .vbproj files that had been created in the wrong folder on the hard drive. Before I discovered these files, .NET kept trying to create a new project with _1 following the project name. Deleting those files corrected that problem. I deleted the Virtual Directory, rebooted, and...
3
8050
by: Henne | last post by:
Hello, in VB6 we werr able to make ActiveX-DLL's (In Process Components) and ActiveX-Exe (Out Of Process Components). Out Application is build of one main application that starts other modules. These modules are ActiveX-Exe's. The main application controls the modules via ActiveX. We decided to use ActiveX-Exe because we want to run the modules in
2
4427
by: GD | last post by:
Hi, An intranet application, with a SMTP mail function that lets users to attach files with emails by selecting files in their local computers (through a file browser component), works perfect on my local machine. However, after deployment to a server that has Windows 2003 Sever installed, the mail function is able to attach the file created by the application. However, when users attach some files selected from their local machines, it...
1
2185
by: Shawn Wildermuth | last post by:
I have some simple code that loads a control with LoadControl and casts it to the codebehind object: Control ctrl = LoadControl("~/Controls/BlogEntryViewer.ascx"); BlogEntryViewer entry = (BlogEntryViewer)ctrl; About 80% of the time this fails in the cast. The BlogEntryViewer.ascx file specifies the right file (and it compiles btw): <%@ Control Language="C#" AutoEventWireup="true" CodeFile="BlogEntryViewer.ascx.cs"
2
7318
by: Grande | last post by:
Hi all, I recently changed a webservice to take in a third parameter, and it hasn't been working since. I get the following error at runtime: "Server was unable to process request. ---Method not found: 'SCR.Domain.Users.User SCR.Service.Users.UserService.ChangePassword(Int32, System.String, System.DateTime)'."
0
2615
by: jb489 | last post by:
Hi all, Hope I am posting this in the right forum. I seem to be having a problem when using serialization and web services. <b>Scenario:</b> I have built a web service which includes a multitude of web methods. All the web methods have various parameters, but one parameter which they all have in common is an 'object' parameter. This is due to the fact that the web service works differently according to the type of object being...
3
2129
by: tvnaidu | last post by:
I need to bringup xterm of remote machine on local machine, I did login to remote and set "export DISPLAY=ip_local:0.0", then I issued "xhost +" command, so that I would like to launch GUI window of remote machine locally, I get this error (first I did login to remote and issued these). # export DISPLAY=ip_local:0.0 # xhost + xhost: unable to open display "ip_local:0.0" any idea?.
0
8402
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8315
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
1
8508
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
7341
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
6172
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
5633
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
1
2733
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
1962
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
2
1627
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.