473,607 Members | 2,703 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Master page questions

Hi,
I'm a newbie to the Master page. When i drag an image directly onto the
master page from say my image folder, it is reflected in all pages which use
it, however, if I drag a table, layout, image control etc onto the master
page, I don't see these added to any of the pages that is using the Master
page as a template even after I save & rebuild.

Is this expected bahaviour & if so, how do I set up say, menus using a
layout or table & some hyperlinks?

Many thanks from a confused newbie :)

Ant
Oct 20 '07 #1
5 1514
"Ant" <An*@discussion s.microsoft.com wrote in message
news:C7******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
I'm a newbie to the Master page. When i drag an image directly onto the
master page from say my image folder, it is reflected in all pages which
use
it, however, if I drag a table, layout, image control etc onto the master
page, I don't see these added to any of the pages that is using the Master
page as a template even after I save & rebuild.

Is this expected bahaviour & if so, how do I set up say, menus using a
layout or table & some hyperlinks?
Please post your MasterPage's markup...
--
Mark Rae
ASP.NET MVP
http://www.markrae.net

Oct 20 '07 #2
Hi Mark,

Below is the Master pages markup you requested.

Two images exist on the page. I dragged both onto the same area of the
Master page, however one was dragged directly from an image file, the other
is an image control linking to an image. The latter is the one that doesn't
display in pages.
I have renamed the images ImageFile.jpg & ImageInImageCon trol.jpg for clarity.

I appreciate your help here

Ant
<body>
<form id="form1" runat="server">
<div>
&nbsp; <br />

<img src="Images/ImageFile.jpg" style="z-index: 100; left: 54px;
position: absolute;
top: 12px" />
<br />
<br />
<asp:contentpla ceholder id="ContentPlac eHolder1" runat="server">

<asp:Image ID="Image1" runat="server"
ImageUrl="~/Images/ImageInImageCon trol.jpg" Style="z-index: 100;
left: 793px; position: absolute; top: 53px" />
</asp:contentplac eholder>

</div>
</form>
</body>

"Mark Rae [MVP]" wrote:
"Ant" <An*@discussion s.microsoft.com wrote in message
news:C7******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
I'm a newbie to the Master page. When i drag an image directly onto the
master page from say my image folder, it is reflected in all pages which
use
it, however, if I drag a table, layout, image control etc onto the master
page, I don't see these added to any of the pages that is using the Master
page as a template even after I save & rebuild.

Is this expected bahaviour & if so, how do I set up say, menus using a
layout or table & some hyperlinks?

Please post your MasterPage's markup...
--
Mark Rae
ASP.NET MVP
http://www.markrae.net

Oct 20 '07 #3
Ant wrote:
Hi,
I'm a newbie to the Master page. When i drag an image directly onto the
master page from say my image folder, it is reflected in all pages which use
it, however, if I drag a table, layout, image control etc onto the master
page, I don't see these added to any of the pages that is using the Master
page as a template even after I save & rebuild.

Is this expected bahaviour & if so, how do I set up say, menus using a
layout or table & some hyperlinks?

Many thanks from a confused newbie :)

Ant
Master pages are not templates. What you put in the master page is not
copied to the content page. It's used when the page is executed to
render the response.

If you put some element on the master page that doesn't have any content
or size, of course they will not be visible when you preview the content
page.

--
Göran Andersson
_____
http://www.guffa.com
Oct 20 '07 #4
"Ant" <An*@discussion s.microsoft.com wrote in message
news:FC******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Two images exist on the page. I dragged both onto the same area of the
Master page,
I'm afraid you didn't - the second one is actually *inside* your
<asp:ContentPla ceHoldertag. Depending on what you're trying to do here,
you'll need to either move the second image out of the
<asp:ContentPla ceHoldertag so that it will appear in each content page
which uses this MasterPage, or place it in the <asp:Contentsec tion of the
individual content page(s) where you want it to appear...

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/lib...hh(vs.80).aspx
http://www.odetocode.com/Articles/419.aspx
--
Mark Rae
ASP.NET MVP
http://www.markrae.net

Oct 20 '07 #5


"Göran Andersson" wrote:

Thanks for the idea but i actually have put various controls in the
tables/layouts but they werent visible. i even put controls straight on the
form e.g. image control, but it didn't show in the asp page.

Thanks kindly for the idea though


Ant

Master pages are not templates. What you put in the master page is not
copied to the content page. It's used when the page is executed to
render the response.

If you put some element on the master page that doesn't have any content
or size, of course they will not be visible when you preview the content
page.

--
Göran Andersson
_____
http://www.guffa.com
Oct 20 '07 #6

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

7
1948
by: Martijn Saly | last post by:
Hi there, I've created a master page with some controls on it, a Calendar control among others. Now depending on the date(s) selected, the content page needs to be updated. In the masterpage I've created StartDate and EndDate properties, which are basically wrappers around the SelectedDates property from the Calendar control. When I select another date in the Calendar, the page updates normally, but when Page_Load for the content page...
2
4172
by: Steve Franks | last post by:
I am trying to access strongly typed properties in a page's master page from the content page. I followed an article that describes how to do this, and it seems quite straight forward. However when I try to access the property from my content page intellisense does not show the public property. Likewise when I go to compile I get an error saying that Specifically here is the article I am trying to follow: ...
14
2385
by: multiformity | last post by:
So I have been working on an opensource project for a while, and decided to really try to make it look better after focusing on the functionality most of this time. Up to now, I have simply used a standard ASPX page with minor modifications to it. All of my pages inherit from a "BasePage.cs" class, that handles common things like getting the user's information out of the session, determines if a page should or should not be password...
8
2362
by: PJ | last post by:
How can I get a reference to the master page class? It is defined as a partial class, but I cannot seem to type a variable to the name of the partial class? The compiler continually shows "The type 'MyMaster' is not defined." I would like to reference the master page from a control, by casting the Master property of the Page property to the type, but obviously I cannot do this if I can't get a reference to the actual type. Thanks,
20
3357
by: M.Siler | last post by:
Let me first by saying I am NOT a .net programmer, but am very skilled with ASP, JavaScript, HTML, DHTML, Flash development. I've been reading through posts here about Frames vs. Master Pages and there seems to be the thought of why use Frames when you can use a Master Page? How does a Master Page only update a section without re-displaying the entire page. We have a site that has some small swf banners for lack of a better term that we...
1
2940
by: LilC | last post by:
I'm creating an application that has a standard layout for all pages. The information that is displayed in the layout will be dynamic based on the user that is logged in. Thus when a page is browsed to, I need to check to see if the user has logged in or not. Then if they have logged in, I need to pull their information from the database to display in the header. In previous applications, I made use of a base web page that all the...
8
6682
by: JT | last post by:
Hi, I have done a fair amount of style editing inline in ASP. I'm now using VS 2005 with a standard web project (not Web Application Project). This is my first foray into CSS in a style sheet and also my first true attempt at using master pages. I tried setting up a style sheet with a simple setting to float an image to the right and it had no effect on the image. Then, I tried putting the style code in my ASPX file as such,
4
1485
by: lichaoir | last post by:
I have two questions about the use of Master Page: 1. How to access properties and controls in the master page from content page? (I know I can use the "FindControl()" method of the "Master" Property to access the controls. But how can I access the properties? I've tried to write a property in the master page and access it from content page, but it didn't work.) 2. How to specify default content in the master page? (I've tried to...
10
2122
by: =?Utf-8?B?RGFuaQ==?= | last post by:
Hi, Trying to create a master page that holds a menu, and the menu switches between pages in the site. 2 problem arrosed: a. When I navigate from page to page (all AJAX Web Forms, with the Master pages as their master...) the entire page is refreshed - also the menu which belongs to the master, how can I fix it - so only the inside content will be refreshed ?
0
8469
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
1
8128
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
8322
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
6803
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
5997
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
3953
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
4013
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
1574
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
0
1316
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.