473,789 Members | 3,123 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Error msg says "Web server not using ASP.Net ver 1.1" - Problem

I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
error message:

"The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
run aspx apps"

But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
suggestions appreciated.

Thanks,
Rich
Nov 19 '05 #1
5 1543
re:
One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
default port 80 maybe?
If you can run asp apps OK, it's not a port problem
( Assuming you're not running asp apps on non-standard http ports ).

I question running two webservers simultaneously, though.

That almost always leads to configuration problems.
Usually they're solved by specifying different ports for each server.

I'd look into re-registering ASP.NET 1.1
( aspnet_regiis -i from the Framework directory... )


Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:61******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
error message:

"The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
run aspx apps"

But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
suggestions appreciated.

Thanks,
Rich

Nov 19 '05 #2
Thanks. I will give that a try. May I ask how I go about re-registering
ASP.Net? I am not familiar with --- aspnet_regiis -i ---- this looks
like a command I type somewhere with a switch -i. I guess when I
re-installed the Framework - that alone did not re-register asp.net? or when
I re-installed vs2003?

Sorry for my ignorance here. My guess is that I type aspnet_regiis -i
in the Run window followed by the path to the framework. What is the path
to the framework directory that I need to include?

Thanks for your help.

Rich

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
default port 80 maybe?


If you can run asp apps OK, it's not a port problem
( Assuming you're not running asp apps on non-standard http ports ).

I question running two webservers simultaneously, though.

That almost always leads to configuration problems.
Usually they're solved by specifying different ports for each server.

I'd look into re-registering ASP.NET 1.1
( aspnet_regiis -i from the Framework directory... )


Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:61******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
error message:

"The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
run aspx apps"

But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
suggestions appreciated.

Thanks,
Rich


Nov 19 '05 #3
aspnet_regiis.e xe is located, for ASP.NET 1.1, at
drive:\WINDOWSD irectory\Micros oft.NET\Framewo rk\v1.1.4322

Open a command window and run aspnet_regiis from it.

You can run aspnet_regiis by itself ( no parameters ),
and you'll get all the parameters you can use with it.

The one which registers asp.net is aspnet_regiis -i

Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:2E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Thanks. I will give that a try. May I ask how I go about re-registering
ASP.Net? I am not familiar with --- aspnet_regiis -i ---- this looks
like a command I type somewhere with a switch -i. I guess when I
re-installed the Framework - that alone did not re-register asp.net? or when
I re-installed vs2003?

Sorry for my ignorance here. My guess is that I type aspnet_regiis -i
in the Run window followed by the path to the framework. What is the path
to the framework directory that I need to include?

Thanks for your help.

Rich

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
> One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
> default port 80 maybe?


If you can run asp apps OK, it's not a port problem
( Assuming you're not running asp apps on non-standard http ports ).

I question running two webservers simultaneously, though.

That almost always leads to configuration problems.
Usually they're solved by specifying different ports for each server.

I'd look into re-registering ASP.NET 1.1
( aspnet_regiis -i from the Framework directory... )


Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:61******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
> to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
> builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
> for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
> vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
> app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
> error message:
>
> "The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
> run aspx apps"
>
> But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
> internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
> message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
> getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
> default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
> this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
> there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
> suggestions appreciated.
>
> Thanks,
> Rich


Nov 19 '05 #4
Thank you again for your help. I am not currently at the location of the
problem workstation, so I will have to try it later. I will post the
results. In the meantime, here is what I plan to type in the command window

C:\WINDOWSDirec tory\Microsoft. NET\Framework\v 1.1.4322\aspnet _regiis -i

I sure hope this works. I would really like to keep JBuilder on that same
workstation (it is the only workstation I have with XP).

Thanks again,
Rich

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
aspnet_regiis.e xe is located, for ASP.NET 1.1, at
drive:\WINDOWSD irectory\Micros oft.NET\Framewo rk\v1.1.4322

Open a command window and run aspnet_regiis from it.

You can run aspnet_regiis by itself ( no parameters ),
and you'll get all the parameters you can use with it.

The one which registers asp.net is aspnet_regiis -i

Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:2E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Thanks. I will give that a try. May I ask how I go about re-registering
ASP.Net? I am not familiar with --- aspnet_regiis -i ---- this looks
like a command I type somewhere with a switch -i. I guess when I
re-installed the Framework - that alone did not re-register asp.net? or when
I re-installed vs2003?

Sorry for my ignorance here. My guess is that I type aspnet_regiis -i
in the Run window followed by the path to the framework. What is the path
to the framework directory that I need to include?

Thanks for your help.

Rich

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
re:
> One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
> default port 80 maybe?

If you can run asp apps OK, it's not a port problem
( Assuming you're not running asp apps on non-standard http ports ).

I question running two webservers simultaneously, though.

That almost always leads to configuration problems.
Usually they're solved by specifying different ports for each server.

I'd look into re-registering ASP.NET 1.1
( aspnet_regiis -i from the Framework directory... )


Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:61******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
> to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
> builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
> for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
> vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
> app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
> error message:
>
> "The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
> run aspx apps"
>
> But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
> internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
> message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
> getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
> default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
> this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
> there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
> suggestions appreciated.
>
> Thanks,
> Rich


Nov 19 '05 #5
That should be good.

Just remember to replace "WindowsDirecto ry"
with the *real name* of your Windows directory ... ;-)

It could be "windows" or "winnt", or anything else, if a different
installation directory was written in during windows setup.

Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:91******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Thank you again for your help. I am not currently at the location of the
problem workstation, so I will have to try it later. I will post the
results. In the meantime, here is what I plan to type in the command window

C:\WINDOWSDirec tory\Microsoft. NET\Framework\v 1.1.4322\aspnet _regiis -i

I sure hope this works. I would really like to keep JBuilder on that same
workstation (it is the only workstation I have with XP).

Thanks again,
Rich

"Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
aspnet_regiis.e xe is located, for ASP.NET 1.1, at
drive:\WINDOWSD irectory\Micros oft.NET\Framewo rk\v1.1.4322

Open a command window and run aspnet_regiis from it.

You can run aspnet_regiis by itself ( no parameters ),
and you'll get all the parameters you can use with it.

The one which registers asp.net is aspnet_regiis -i

Juan T. Llibre
ASP.NET MVP
http://asp.net.do/foros/
Foros de ASP.NET en Español
Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
=============== =======

"Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
news:2E******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
> Thanks. I will give that a try. May I ask how I go about re-registering
> ASP.Net? I am not familiar with --- aspnet_regiis -i ---- this looks
> like a command I type somewhere with a switch -i. I guess when I
> re-installed the Framework - that alone did not re-register asp.net? or when
> I re-installed vs2003?
>
> Sorry for my ignorance here. My guess is that I type aspnet_regiis -i
> in the Run window followed by the path to the framework. What is the path
> to the framework directory that I need to include?
>
> Thanks for your help.
>
> Rich
>
>
>
> "Juan T. Llibre" wrote:
>
>> re:
>> > One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
>> > default port 80 maybe?
>>
>> If you can run asp apps OK, it's not a port problem
>> ( Assuming you're not running asp apps on non-standard http ports ).
>>
>> I question running two webservers simultaneously, though.
>>
>> That almost always leads to configuration problems.
>> Usually they're solved by specifying different ports for each server.
>>
>> I'd look into re-registering ASP.NET 1.1
>> ( aspnet_regiis -i from the Framework directory... )
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> Juan T. Llibre
>> ASP.NET MVP
>> http://asp.net.do/foros/
>> Foros de ASP.NET en Español
>> Ven, y hablemos de ASP.NET...
>> =============== =======
>>
>> "Rich" <Ri**@discussio ns.microsoft.co m> wrote in message
>> news:61******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>> >I loaded visual studio.Net 2003 on a windows XP workstation, and I was able
>> > to run aspx applications. Later I loaded JBuilder 2005 (Enterprise Java
>> > builder 2005) which runs the Tomcat 5.0 web server (and some other servers -
>> > for RMI, application servers). I was still able to run vb.net and C# apps in
>> > vs2003. Then, yesterday (Thurs May 12, 2005), I tried running an old aspx
>> > app for the first time in months since loading JBuilder and got the following
>> > error message:
>> >
>> > "The Web server is not using ASP.Net version 1.1 and you will not be able to
>> > run aspx apps"
>> >
>> > But I can still run asp apps. I downloaded asp.net version 1.1 from the
>> > internet - basically re-installing the .net framework. Still get the error
>> > message when trying to run an aspx app. So I re-loaded vs2003. Still
>> > getting the error message. One question is if Tomcat has taken over the
>> > default port 80 maybe? Does anyone know what the correct fix would be for
>> > this problem? Is it a configuration/re-configuration thing for IIS? Is
>> > there something else I need to re-install, or an update/upgrade? Any
>> > suggestions appreciated.
>> >
>> > Thanks,
>> > Rich
>>
>>
>>


Nov 19 '05 #6

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
1804
by: Silvia | last post by:
I have a application web and when execute this for a long time generated this error: Server Error in '/RAIMServer' Application. ----------------------------------------------------------- --------------------- Timeout expired. The timeout period elapsed prior to obtaining a connection from the pool. This may have occurred because all pooled connections were in use and
7
1484
by: Craig | last post by:
When trying to create a new project on a new install of .NET 2003 I get the following error Error says Web server in not running asp.net 1.1 But I look in the administrative tools and it says Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 Configuration How can I fix this?
1
2001
by: Hemant | last post by:
Why i am getting this error. Server Error in '/' Application Runtime error Please help me out. Thank you
3
6019
by: christianprogrammermilwaukee | last post by:
BASIC Settings PLEASE !! This New Company I'm with Sets their Default WebSite to a local Directory on "D" Yea I've been down the whole route reinstalling XP Pro,,, IIS 5.1 The .NET framework everything. Now I'm just frustrated... What the Heck !! Theres a web project (C# ASP.net) in the solution containing many many some odd 19 or so projects. MSVSS is additionally in the picture to make things a little more complex. (I.E. the non web...
3
3438
by: Pratchaya | last post by:
Hi Everyone ============================================================== About PHP::: Error/Problem PHP Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): ============================================================== In the past i use my code/script work fine with Mandrake 9.1 - 10.1 ( + apache ,mysql ) Now i move to redhat EL4 with the same code/script
1
3996
by: shade1383 | last post by:
I have a web service that runs fine on my local machine and works fine with a VB .Net project remotely, but when I try to run using Access 2002 I get the following error. Server was unable to proccess request ---> object refference not set to an instance of an object Following is the web method: Public Structure vbVINVariables Public mModel As String Public mYear As String
1
4677
by: Janez Kostanj¹ek | last post by:
Hello everyone, this is my first post to postgres mailing list. System that I use: I am using Postgres under last CygWin published on public mirrors at the moment. OS system runing is Windows 2000 professional, 1024 or 256 or 512 MB of RAMand 40Gb of disk. Postmaster shows version 7.4.1 Problem:
4
2463
by: JackBlack | last post by:
Hi, all! Need a little help tracking down a runtime error problem. I'm getting this error: "Unable to cast object of type 'myStruct' to type 'myStruct'... but the two types are identical! I have a class method that's building an array of user-defined structures (see below), and returning that array to the calling routine. I'm getting the error on that calling line. The structure in both the webform and class are defined like this:
4
57116
by: aSoundMind | last post by:
Hi there, I recieve this error Server Error in '/integrate' Application. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Configuration Error Description: An error occurred during the processing of a configuration file required to service this request. Please review the specific error details below and modify your configuration file appropriately.
0
2193
by: sa6113 | last post by:
I am using this code to connect to a windows machine using paramiko, I have installed sshd on the machine and it works properly: sock.connect((hostname, port)) t = paramiko.Transport(sock) event = threading.Event() t.start_client(event) event.wait() if not t.is_active(): print 'SSH negotiation failed.'
0
9511
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
1
10139
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
9983
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
9020
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
6768
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5417
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
4092
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3697
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.
3
2909
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.