473,799 Members | 2,666 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

can't connect to sql server with domain users? Help....

Hello

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list

I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated

Thanks in advance

Reza
Nov 18 '05 #1
7 2749


----- Reza wrote: ----

Hello

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list

I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated

Thanks in advance

Rez
-------------
Just to clarify, I have updated the server and database name in the connection string.
Nov 18 '05 #2
are you sure that in the connection string the user is DOMAINNAME\USER NAME ?
have you tried by connection like this:

server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rated Security=True

Regards,
Martin
"Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in message
news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Hello,

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything
was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production
servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are
failing to connct to database, getting this message: "login failed for user 'username'"

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list.
I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated.
Thanks in advance,

Reza

Nov 18 '05 #3
Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username and
password
if you don't have query analizer try this:

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your server

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in message
news:AD******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but still
the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'!
----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

are you sure that in the connection string the user is DOMAINNAME\USER NAME ? have you tried by connection like this:

server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rated Security=True

Regards,
Martin
"Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in message
news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
> Hello,
>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in
the
database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message:
> "login failed for user 'username'"
>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered
identically in the database user list. >> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a
resolution will be greatly apreciated. >> Thanks in advance,
>> Reza


Nov 18 '05 #4
Martin

I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same thing

Any idea

thanks
rez

----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----

Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username an
passwor
if you don't have query analizer try this

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d databas

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your serve

Regard
Marti

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in messag
news:AD******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com..
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name an without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but stil
the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
are you sure that in the connection string the user i DOMAINNAME\USER NAME have you tried by connection like this
server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rated Security=Tru
Regards Marti "Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in messag news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com..
Hello
The project was working, where I had a domain user registered i

th database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase Everythin was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to th productio servers - database server and web server. Following that all th users ar failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'
I am getting the user with property identity and it is registere
identically in the database user list I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So
resolution wil be greatly apreciated Thanks in advance
Rez

Nov 18 '05 #5
Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add the
aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=True

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in message
news:EE******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Martin,

I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I
changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same
thing!
Any idea?

thanks,
reza

----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username and password
if you don't have query analizer try this:

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your server
Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in message
news:AD******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
> Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and
without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but still the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'! >> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>> are you sure that in the connection string the user is
DOMAINNAME\USER NAME ?
> have you tried by connection like this:
>> server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rated Security=True >> Regards,

> Martin
>>> "Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in message

> news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>> Hello,
>>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in

the
> database as a user, and I used that user to connect the

datebase. Everything
> was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to
the production
> servers - database server and web server. Following that all
the users are
> failing to connct to database, getting this message:
>> "login failed for user 'username'"
>>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered

> identically in the database user list.
>>> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a

resolution will
> be greatly apreciated.
>>> Thanks in advance,
>>> Reza
>>>

Nov 18 '05 #6
Well I thought I had resolved this, but looks like this company's policy not allows sql authentication for the users, so I am back to step one.
It works for aspnet user, however, there is a fix list of people that will be able to access it, which they belong to a domain.
and looks like I get the same message, login failed for user 'username'
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----

Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add th
aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=Tru

Regard
Marti

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in messag
news:EE******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com..
Martin
I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it i complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this?
changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the sam
thing
Any idea
thanks rez
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your usernam an passwor
if you don't have query analizer try this
osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d databas
if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to you
serve Regard

Marti
"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in messag

news:AD******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com..
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain nam

an without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, bu stil the same problem - Login failed for user 'username' ----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
are you sure that in the connection string the user i
DOMAINNAME\USER NAME
have you tried by connection like this
server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rate Security=Tru Regards

Marti
"Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in messag

news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com..
Hello
The project was working, where I had a domain user registered i

th
database as a user, and I used that user to connect th

datebase Everythin
was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project t
th productio
servers - database server and web server. Following that al
th users ar
failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'
I am getting the user with property identity and it is registere

identically in the database user list
I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So

resolution wil
be greatly apreciated
Thanks in advance
Rez

Nov 18 '05 #7
If you can add these domain users to a domain group and then add rights for
this group and set the quthentication to be windows authentication

check if the group Domain Users has not been added with deny rights

Regards
Martin Mrinov

"Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in message
news:F3******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
Well I thought I had resolved this, but looks like this company's policy not allows sql authentication for the users, so I am back to step one. It works for aspnet user, however, there is a fix list of people that will be able to access it, which they belong to a domain. and looks like I get the same message, login failed for user 'username'?

----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add the aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=True

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in message
news:EE******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
> Martin,
>> I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is
complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same thing!
>> Any idea?
>> thanks, > reza
>> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>> Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your
username and
> password
> if you don't have query analizer try this:
>> osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database
>> if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication
to your server >> Regards > Martin
>> "Reza" <an*******@disc ussions.microso ft.com> wrote in message

> news:AD******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>> Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and
> without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated

Security=True, but still
> the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'!
>>> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>>> are you sure that in the connection string the user is

> DOMAINNAME\USER NAME ?
>> have you tried by connection like this:
>>> server=serverna me;database=dat abasename;Integ rated

Security=True >>> Regards,
>> Martin
>>>> "Reza" <uw******@hotma il.com> wrote in message
>> news:B6******** *************** ***********@mic rosoft.com...
>>> Hello,
>>>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in

> the
>> database as a user, and I used that user to connect the

datebase.
> Everything
>> was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to

the
> production
>> servers - database server and web server. Following that all

the
> users are
>> failing to connct to database, getting this message:
>>> "login failed for user 'username'"
>>>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is

registered >> identically in the database user list.
>>>> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a

> resolution will
>> be greatly apreciated.
>>>> Thanks in advance,
>>>> Reza
>>>>

Nov 18 '05 #8

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

1
2955
by: KAM MAHONEK | last post by:
If you place an image of your server on a rebuilt server, rename it and change the SID. You get an error message “UNABLE TO CONNECT” when you use the SQL Query analyzer on a desktop computer to connect to the server (hosting the image). If you add the server (hosting the image) to the Windows2000 server domain/active server and restart the server (hosting the image), you get the following error message: "YOUR SQL SERVER INSTALLATION IS...
1
3314
by: Amadelle | last post by:
Hi all, I am so desparately in need of some guidance! After two days of struggling I still can't connect to the Active Directory server. I have used so many different ways and so many different string paths and I still don't have a successful connection. Things I have tried: Using Directory Searcher: DirectorySearcher ds = new DirectorySearcher(); ds.SearchRoot = new DirectoryEntry();
5
4612
by: Kona | last post by:
Hello, Is it right to tell that DB2 Connect has the same function that Oracle Net ? If I have an ODBC application is it also right to tell that I have 2 possibilities on my client workstation to acces a remote UDB database on a Sun machine : a) with a run-time client b) with DB2 Connect Personnal Edition Thank you
2
1267
by: Mike MacSween | last post by:
FE on workstations/BE on server. W2K to W2K server. One of these users logs on to her local machine, not the domain (although the machine is networked and she has permissions). I'm not there now, but my experience here is that if you try to start on Access app logged onto the local machine I get empty forms. Until I actually use network neighbourhood to connect to some file or other on the server, via a logon dialogue. Anybody know of...
11
5568
by: ricolee99 | last post by:
Hi everyone, I'm trying to invoke my .exe application from a remote server. Here is the code: ManagementClass processClass = new ManagementClass ("\\\\" +"RemoteServerName" + "\\root\\CIMV2:Win32_Process");
3
4642
by: Reza | last post by:
Hello I tried this friday, but didn't get anywhere so trying again Basically, I have a fixed list of people that can access the application in the Intranet, and with the policy of the company the Users can be created only with Windows authentication in SQL Server - with SQL server authentication have no problem So every time I try to connect get the error message, "Login failed for user, 'username'. I have also tried windows authentication...
6
2139
by: TulasiKumar | last post by:
hi all, i have one requirement in my project.The requirement is i want to fix some domain sites in TcpIp like proxy servers behaviour.When ever end user passing the inforamtion of that domain sites,at that time i want to get the inforamtion and i ahve do some operations.How can i implement this requirement? or What classes are supported in C#.Net? .Please give your suggestion.This requirement is very urgent. thanks in advance,...
6
4904
by: scottyman | last post by:
I can't make this script work properly. I've gone as far as I can with it and the rest is out of my ability. I can do some html editing but I'm lost in the Java world. The script at the bottom of the html page controls the form fields that are required. It doesn't function like it's supposed to and I can leave all the fields blank and it still submits the form. Also I can't get it to transfer the file in the upload section. The file name...
3
2618
by: =?Utf-8?B?ZGF2aWQ=?= | last post by:
Last week I asked a question about connection to database from client machine (developer machine). I have changed the database security setup for "SQL Server and Windows" under (local)Windows NT node of Enterprise Manager. However, I could not setup a database connection to Server from Client using Server Explorer of Visual Studio 2005. The detail is in the following. Configuration of server and client: Server: Windows Server 2000, SQL...
0
10495
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10269
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
10248
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
9085
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
7573
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
6811
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5469
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
4148
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3764
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.