471,092 Members | 2,218 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,092 software developers and data experts.

Tony Toews AutoFELoader & Vista

Is Tony still out there? The granite site is down or gone and I've
been unable to access usenet for quite some time and am using Google.

Here's my problem. Tony's Auto FE Loader has worked beautifully for
me for the past two years. Unfortunately, we have Vista creeping into
my organization and what I have set up doesn't work. For those of you
familiar with Tony's AutoFELoader, here is the ini file for the
application (TMAD.mde) that works well in XP, but coughs up an error
message in Vista:

File tmad.ini

[Settings]
MainApp=%APPDATA%\tmad\tmad.mde
Server=X:\TMA\tmad
StartMethod=AutoSelect
Lockout=No
LockoutMsg=Sorry, not allowed into the system right now.
SupportMsg=Get hold of Tim at 2662

ShortCutName=TMA Manager's Assistant
CreateShortCutOnDesktop=yes
CreateShortCutOnCommonDesktop=no
ShortCutIconFile=X:\TMA\tmad\Graphics\animal2.ico
ShortCutIconFileIndex=0

The short cut target (again, works fine for all XP users) is:
"X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\StartMDB.exe" /cmd /inifile:"X:
\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini"

The startMdb.exe generated error message which only occurs in Vista
is:

INI file 'X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini' not found
in
/cmd /inifile:"X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini"

Any help or suggestions is most gratefully (and very desperately)
appreciated.
--
Tim http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~tmarshal/
^o<
/#) "Burp-beep, burp-beep, burp-beep?" - Quaker Jake
/^^ "What's UP, Dittoooooo?" - Ditto
Aug 6 '08 #1
6 1404
Here's the current URL for Tony:

http://www.granite.ab.ca/accsmstr.htm

--
There's ALWAYS more than one way to skin a cat!

Answers/posts based on Access 2000/2003

Message posted via http://www.accessmonster.com

Aug 6 '08 #2
On Aug 7, 4:16*am, "Timmy!" <tmars...@mun.cawrote:
Is Tony still out there? *The granite site is down or gone and I've
been unable to access usenet for quite some time and am using Google.

Here's my problem. *Tony's Auto FE Loader has worked beautifully for
me for the past two years. *Unfortunately, we have Vista creeping into
my organization and what I have set up doesn't work. *For those of you
familiar with Tony's AutoFELoader, here is the ini file for the
application (TMAD.mde) that works well in XP, but coughs up an error
message in Vista:

File tmad.ini

[Settings]
MainApp=%APPDATA%\tmad\tmad.mde
Server=X:\TMA\tmad
StartMethod=AutoSelect
Lockout=No
LockoutMsg=Sorry, not allowed into the system right now.
SupportMsg=Get hold of Tim at 2662

ShortCutName=TMA Manager's Assistant
CreateShortCutOnDesktop=yes
CreateShortCutOnCommonDesktop=no
ShortCutIconFile=X:\TMA\tmad\Graphics\animal2.ico
ShortCutIconFileIndex=0

The short cut target (again, works fine for all XP users) is:
"X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\StartMDB.exe" /cmd /inifile:"X:
\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini"

The startMdb.exe generated error message which only occurs in Vista
is:

INI file 'X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini' not found
in
/cmd /inifile:"X:\TMA\Access Applications\AppLauncher\tmad.ini"

Any help or suggestions is most gratefully (and very desperately)
appreciated.
--
Tim *http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~tmarshal/
^o<
/#) "Burp-beep, burp-beep, burp-beep?" - Quaker Jake
/^^ "What's UP, Dittoooooo?" - Ditto
I've found that the AutoFE Updater works fine in Vista with the
exception that it insists on loading Access 2007 regardless of what
version of Access I have used last and what version the database is.
There have been several versions of the StartMDB.exe. Perhaps you are
using a very old version?
Aug 6 '08 #3
"Timmy!" <tm******@mun.cawrote:
>Is Tony still out there? The granite site is down or gone
Should still be there.
>Here's my problem. Tony's Auto FE Loader has worked beautifully for
me for the past two years. Unfortunately, we have Vista creeping into
my organization and what I have set up doesn't work. For those of you
familiar with Tony's AutoFELoader, here is the ini file for the
application (TMAD.mde) that works well in XP, but coughs up an error
message in Vista:
Have you tried loading the latest version of the Auto FE Updater?

Tony
--
Tony Toews, Microsoft Access MVP
Please respond only in the newsgroups so that others can
read the entire thread of messages.
Microsoft Access Links, Hints, Tips & Accounting Systems at
http://www.granite.ab.ca/accsmstr.htm
Tony's Microsoft Access Blog - http://msmvps.com/blogs/access/
Aug 7 '08 #4
On Aug 7, 7:22 am, "Tony Toews [MVP]" <tto...@telusplanet.netwrote:
Have you tried loading the latest version of the Auto FE Updater?
Ahhhhhhh. Wonderful. And I didn't need to alter the 20+ inis I have
set up.

Question, though: On Vista, when I use %appdata% as the Windows
environment variable (which I do for all of my ini files, I think),
the app gets copied to:

C:\Documents and Settings\tim\Application Data\Roaming\tmad\tmad.mde

As opposed to what happens in XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\tim\Application Data\tmad\tmad.mde

What's the "Roaming" about? I don't know much about Vista.

We'll be messing with our new TS server again on Monday.

Thank you to Linq Adams for answering and as for Wayne's point, While
A2007 is in our organization, all of my users are presently using
2003.

Does the reinstall problem occur with use of 2003/2007 or has that
been fixed in some SP? (Probably should create a new topic for this,
I suppose...)
--
Tim http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~tmarshal/
^o<
/#) "Burp-beep, burp-beep, burp-beep?" - Quaker Jake
/^^ "What's UP, Dittoooooo?" - Ditto
Aug 7 '08 #5
On Aug 8, 5:00*am, "Timmy!" <tmars...@mun.cawrote:
Does the reinstall problem occur with use of 2003/2007 or has that
been fixed in some SP? *(Probably should create a new topic for this,
I suppose...)
--
Tim *http://www.ucs.mun.ca/~tmarshal/
^o<
/#) "Burp-beep, burp-beep, burp-beep?" - Quaker Jake
/^^ "What's UP, Dittoooooo?" - Ditto
SP1 has shortened the reinstall time to something that's more
bearable, but it's still there. This is the sort of thing that really
annoys me. I would think that with a bit of effort it wouldn't have
been beyond the realms of possibility to get rid of the "reinstall"
altogether.
Aug 7 '08 #6
"Timmy!" <tm******@mun.cawrote:
>Have you tried loading the latest version of the Auto FE Updater?

Ahhhhhhh. Wonderful. And I didn't need to alter the 20+ inis I have
set up.
Glad to hear that worked.
>Question, though: On Vista, when I use %appdata% as the Windows
environment variable (which I do for all of my ini files, I think),
the app gets copied to:

C:\Documents and Settings\tim\Application Data\Roaming\tmad\tmad.mde

As opposed to what happens in XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\tim\Application Data\tmad\tmad.mde

What's the "Roaming" about? I don't know much about Vista.
I have no idea. I've never seen that before. It also didn't do that in my testing
in a Windows Vista Virtual PC environment.

Tony
--
Tony Toews, Microsoft Access MVP
Please respond only in the newsgroups so that others can
read the entire thread of messages.
Microsoft Access Links, Hints, Tips & Accounting Systems at
http://www.granite.ab.ca/accsmstr.htm
Tony's Microsoft Access Blog - http://msmvps.com/blogs/access/
Aug 10 '08 #7

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

10 posts views Thread by Nathaniel Branden | last post: by
16 posts views Thread by David W. Fenton | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by JDeats | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Rick | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by brett | last post: by
reply views Thread by salad | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Don Barton | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by bobh | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.