473,511 Members | 15,818 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Transer data from Access to MYOB

55 New Member
Hi,

I have designed a database to enter Jobs for each client and is working good.

Now i am asked to transfer the Job information to MYOB to generate an Invoice.

I dunno how to do this... first of all, is this possible ?
if not, please provide any other suggestion.

thanks in advance.

Kathy
Apr 30 '07 #1
14 2823
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Hi,

I have designed a database to enter Jobs for each client and is working good.

Now i am asked to transfer the Job information to MYOB to generate an Invoice.

I dunno how to do this... first of all, is this possible ?
if not, please provide any other suggestion.

thanks in advance.

Kathy
Hi Kathy

I'm not familiar with MYOB but you need to find out what kind of file it will accept. Chances are it will look for either a fixed length text file or a csv file either of which you can dump from the Access database.

Mary
Apr 30 '07 #2
ontherun
55 New Member
thanks mccarthy.

yeah i checked with MYOB and it seems it accepts txt file.
i just need to tranfer the fields related to invoice from Access.

Still trying to figure out some solution.. the accountant of my company wanted a reliable way to do this, so that she can get the required data frm access , whenever needed, to generate an invoice in MYOB.

will appreciate any help in the mean time.

thanks n regards,

Kathy
May 1 '07 #3
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Design a query with the relevant fields. Then put this code behind a command button on a form.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. DoCmd.TransferText acExportDelim, "Specification Name", "Query Name", "File to be created", True
acExportDelim - This will output a text file with the values separated by commas
"Specification Name" - Run the export manually and the export wizard will open. Click on the advanced tab and save the settings for the export as a specification.
"Query Name" - the name of the query you created with the required data
"File to be created" - the full path and name of the text file to be created
True - Set to true if you want the field names to be outputted and false if you don't
May 1 '07 #4
ontherun
55 New Member
hi mccarthy,

nice 2 see ur reply..

i have created a query with relevant fields.

regarding the specification name, u have asked me to open the export wizard.

i clicked Export from File Menu but it asks for the file to export. i think i might pressed the wrong one... could you please tell, whether this is right or how to export manually... sorry i know am asking like an amatuer...

need your help...

thanks,

Kathy
May 1 '07 #5
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
hi mccarthy,

nice 2 see ur reply..

i have created a query with relevant fields.

regarding the specification name, u have asked me to open the export wizard.

i clicked Export from File Menu but it asks for the file to export. i think i might pressed the wrong one... could you please tell, whether this is right or how to export manually... sorry i know am asking like an amatuer...

need your help...

thanks,

Kathy
That's OK Kathy

When you hit Export the file save window will open asking for the name of the file you want to export to as normal. If you change the file type to text and enter the new filename then click save. The export text wizard will then open.

Mary
May 1 '07 #6
ontherun
55 New Member
hi,
i tried to export the query straight away without using the code.
it opens a text file wheni gave the type as '.txt'

it works good. could you please assist me on how to fill in the code..

Query name : Generate_Invoice

should i need to create a seperate file whenever i try 2 use it 2 generate the invoice

thanks,
Kathy
May 1 '07 #7
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
hi,
i tried to export the query straight away without using the code.
it opens a text file wheni gave the type as '.txt'

it works good. could you please assist me on how to fill in the code..

Query name : Generate_Invoice

should i need to create a seperate file whenever i try 2 use it 2 generate the invoice

thanks,
Kathy
Ideally yes we can add a datestamp to the file name to distinguish it.

What is the name of the saved specification?
May 1 '07 #8
ontherun
55 New Member
Ideally yes we can add a datestamp to the file name to distinguish it.

What is the name of the saved specification?
i created the txt file 'Invoice.txt' using the query.... when i tried 2 export the file i cudnt get to the advanced set up which u explained.

Qery - Generate_Invoice
File Menu----------> Export
Save type -----------> txt
File Name -------------->Invoice.txt


[could you please tell me, where i can get the advanced option to name the specification?]


regards,
Kathy
May 2 '07 #9
ontherun
55 New Member
Hi,

I have found from one of your thread, that access has the sound feature to tigger some action.

Akin to my database, i want a pop-up menu with sound or something like that, to display a message "Record has been modified.Please inform the Accountant, if there is change in Total" whenever the user modifies or edit a particulat job record from a job form.

i wanna display this messange in "Job" Form.


Also, i need to display the last invoice number with respect to Client Number. I have written a search query to identify that with respect to the given invoice number but when i use navigation button to move to the next record, the last Invoice number is remain the same (even for different invoice number)

need your help.

thanks in advance.

Kathy
May 2 '07 #10
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
i created the txt file 'Invoice.txt' using the query.... when i tried 2 export the file i cudnt get to the advanced set up which u explained.

Qery - Generate_Invoice
File Menu----------> Export
Save type -----------> txt
File Name -------------->Invoice.txt


[could you please tell me, where i can get the advanced option to name the specification?]


regards,
Kathy
Select the query and right click to get Export.
Select file type as "Text File" and insert file name
Click the Export Button.
The Export Text Wizard should now open.
May 2 '07 #11
ontherun
55 New Member
Select the query and right click to get Export.
Select file type as "Text File" and insert file name
Click the Export Button.
The Export Text Wizard should now open.

Thanks for the reply...
i did the same but i got a message saying "too few parameters. Expected 1"when i clicked Export button

what is that mean?? is there any wrong in the query???
but when i run the query i got the result i wanted....
May 2 '07 #12
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Thanks for the reply...
i did the same but i got a message saying "too few parameters. Expected 1"when i clicked Export button

what is that mean?? is there any wrong in the query???
but when i run the query i got the result i wanted....
This would normally indicate an error with the query. Are you sure it's running OK? Post the SQL of the query.
May 2 '07 #13
ontherun
55 New Member
This would normally indicate an error with the query. Are you sure it's running OK? Post the SQL of the query.

SELECT Job.Job_No, Job.Cli_ABN, Job.Purchase_Order_No, Job.Date_Enacted, Job.Date_Delivered, Job.Sales_person, Job.Job_Desc, Job.Qty, Job.Street_Address1, Job.Street_Address2, Job.Suburb, Job.Postcode, Job.State, Job.Job_Sub_Total, Job.GST, Job.Job_Total
FROM Job
WHERE (((Job.Job_No)=[Enter the Job Number:]));


i have created this using query wizard. When i type the job number, i get the results of the relavant fields.. this is just the testing but the fields will be changed depends on the input from the accountant.

I am in very much need of ur advice

Thanks,
Kathy
May 2 '07 #14
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
OK Kathy

The simple answer to your problem is you can't export a query where the query requires user input. As this will not be used in the final query then remove it and export the full query to get the specification sorted.

Mary
May 2 '07 #15

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
1603
by: corvin | last post by:
Hello everyone I have problem with transfering variables from script to script: In file 2.php I make <form method=post action=https://1.1.1.1/2.php> etc. this form should transfer some hidden...
0
5366
by: sedefo | last post by:
I ran into this Microsoft Patterns & Practices Enterprise Library while i was researching how i can write a database independent data access layer. In my company we already use Data Access...
32
3190
by: Neil Ginsberg | last post by:
We're using SQL Server 7 with an Access 2000 MDB as a front end with ODBC linked tables. I recently created a new set of tables for the app, and users are complaining that unsaved data is being...
9
3279
by: Tony Lee | last post by:
Some time a ago, on this newsgroup the following comments were made in recommending good references for Access (2003) >I used to recommend Dr. Rick Dobson's, "Programming Access <version>" for...
2
7149
by: tezza98 | last post by:
Hi im creating a function to insert data from a MYOB file into an Access database. what im trying to do is copy entire tables from MYOB into ACCESS. Im using a simple Access Database with so there...
0
2439
by: vsvnmurthy | last post by:
Hi , I am trying to Transfer value of Checkbox (caption ) from Flash Form to PHP. If flash Code , if Check box selected . the value being transferred is "true" or "false" , But I want the...
0
1040
by: delp84921meekins | last post by:
myob password crack http://cracks.00bp.com F R E E
2
1731
by: Fred | last post by:
I'm fairly new to MS Access, or should I say very green. I'm very familiar with Excel but would like to conquer Access. Are there any databases which would give a rudimentry start to an...
0
1576
by: Chris Rebert | last post by:
On Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:42 AM, Abah Joseph <joefazee@gmail.comwrote: Have you considered basing this off existing software for schools, like one of the programs listed on...
0
7252
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
7371
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
1
7093
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
7517
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
5676
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
1
5077
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
4743
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and...
0
3218
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
791
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.