473,549 Members | 2,948 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

How to dynamically resize a continuous Dialog form to fit / show all records

TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
I have recently had a issue where I open a continuous dialog form, showing anywhere from 1 to X records, X usually being in the 2-5 range. I found it very annoying that Access2010 per default made the continues form take up the entire height of the screen, even when there is only a few records.

So to fix that issue I came up with a bit of code to make the window size roughly match the amount of records, with the ability to specify a max amount of records to show. If the amount of records exceed the max, I also use the code to modify the scrollbar settings, so that only if there are more then Max records the scrollbar is shown.

The code is shown below, I placed it in the Load event of the form:

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Private Sub Form_Load()
  2.    'Variables
  3.       Dim lngCount As Long
  4.       Dim lngWindowHeight As Long
  5.       Dim lngOldWindowHeight As Long
  6.       Dim lngDeltaTop As Long
  7.       Dim lngMaxRecordsToShow As Long
  8.  
  9.       lngMaxRecordsToShow = 10
  10.  
  11.    'Find the amount of records in form
  12.       Dim rs As DAO.Recordset
  13.       Set rs = Me.RecordsetClone
  14.       If Not rs.EOF Then rs.MoveLast
  15.       lngCount = rs.RecordCount
  16.  
  17.    'Check whether there are more then Max amount of records
  18.       If lngCount > lngMaxRecordsToShow Then
  19.          lngCount = lngMaxRecordsToShow
  20.          'Enable vertical scrollbar
  21.             Me.ScrollBars = 2 'Vertical
  22.       Else
  23.          'Disable scrollbars
  24.          Me.ScrollBars = 0 'None
  25.       End If
  26.  
  27.    'Calculate new windowheight.
  28.    'If you do not have a header/footer, or they are not visible adjust accordingly
  29.       lngWindowHeight = Me.FormHeader.Height + _
  30.                   Me.Detail.Height * lngCount + _
  31.                   Me.FormFooter.Height + _
  32.                   400
  33.                   'The 567 is to account for title bar Height.
  34.                   'If you use thin border, adjust accordingly
  35.  
  36.    'The form will be "shortened" and we need to adjust the top property as well to keep it properly centered
  37.       lngOldWindowHeight = Me.WindowHeight
  38.       lngDeltaTop = (lngOldWindowHeight - lngWindowHeight) / 2
  39.  
  40.    'Use the move function to move the form
  41.  
  42.       Me.Move Me.WindowLeft, Me.WindowTop + lngDeltaTop, , lngWindowHeight
  43.  
  44.    'Cleanup
  45.       Set rs = Nothing
  46. End Sub
I use:
AutoRezise= True
AutoCenter=True
with this code. Odd results may occur if you do not, but you can go test that yourself.
Oct 5 '12 #1
15 51227
twinnyfo
3,653 Recognized Expert Moderator Specialist
Smiley,

Quite an interesting solution. Have you found any bugs or quirks with this code, as of yet? My experience with resizing forms has been trial and error, and sometimes the forms will just be the wrong size, even though I set the size. Very creative solution, though!
Oct 5 '12 #2
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
Not as of yet, as I just wrote the code for the first time today. I looked around online, but couldn't find any similar solution, so figured I should share my approach.

Problems I imagine might occur, is if you leave the MaxNrOfRecords very high, and thus the total height of the window overflows some maxHeight on the window.
Oct 5 '12 #3
NeoPa
32,564 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I did something similar a while back and it took me ages to realise that to resize a form you had to move it. Not very intuitive, but I got there eventually. I was convinced for ages that resizing simply didn't work.
Oct 22 '12 #4
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
I had to laugh a bit at that (not you) cause I have been there myself. Thankfully Google and Bytes were there to help me :)
Oct 22 '12 #5
Hoopla3000
7 New Member
Cool idea Smiley. I've used this twice now with great success. In setting the window height, I added to the lngWindowHeight calc:

... + IIf(Me.Navigati onButtons = True, 250, 0) + ...

in case the form has the navigation buttons enabled.
Apr 10 '13 #6
TheSmileyCoder
2,322 Recognized Expert Moderator Top Contributor
Nice touch Hoopla, thank you very much for reporting it back. I shall try to have a look at it soon, and then update the original post.
Apr 14 '13 #7
NeoPa
32,564 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Hoopla3000:
In setting the window height, I added to the lngWindowHeight calc:
Where's that "Like" button when you need it? Good idea :-)
Apr 14 '13 #8
Hoopla3000
7 New Member
I just noticed today that this doesn't work in Access 2013 as well as it does in 2010. It may be that the window height is returned differently in 2013 with the flat metro styling. Does anyone know a quick fix?

The attached image shows how the sizing differs between two versions of Access but the same application.

I just realized and should note that the Access 2013 image was taken from Windows Server 2012, which may be an additional factor.

Attached Images
File Type: png Access_2010_vs_2013_sizing.png (27.9 KB, 7444 views)
Jun 5 '14 #9
Seth Schrock
2,965 Recognized Expert Specialist
This is a great help. I'm always fighting with the height of my continuous forms. Everytime I go into design view and back to form view, I have to fix the height of the window. Thanks Smiley.
Jun 7 '14 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

1
4735
by: Dalan | last post by:
I designed a dialog box with a combo to select individual vendors from a form and its related data for print ouput. Though the dialog box seems to work okay, I apparently do not have the filtering code behind the OnOpen Event Procedure of the report structured correctly. Anyone's assistance will be appreciated, although I would like to stay...
2
15170
by: Noah Coad [C# MCP] | last post by:
I'm creating a program the must show the time (a clock) in a user control and the text must fill the user control. How do I make text dynamically resize to fill a label/panel/usercontrol? Thanks!! -Noah Coad Microsoft MVP & MCP (.NET/C#)
1
2415
by: andrew | last post by:
Hi there, I'm having a problem with a modeless form in my app. I have a main form in my app and a socket that waits on data from a server (I use BeginReceive/EndReceive for that) and when I receive certain data from the server I want to create a new modeless form to show some of that data. But after receiving the data from the socket the...
3
2973
by: Guadala Harry | last post by:
Here's the functionality I'm after: I need for a page to display a photo. When users click on other links within the page, the photo changes. I'd like to swap out the photo without doing a Postback of the entire page. I initially implemented this with an aspx page that contains an IFame which displays only the picture (gif). The behavior...
7
4619
by: Peter | last post by:
I have a primary form named frmMain. During some extended data pulls I launch another Dialog Form named frmUpdating. How do I keep the frmUpdating centered on the frmMain if a user moves the frmMain form? -Peter
14
3751
by: Simon Abolnar | last post by:
I would like to know how to open child form from dialog form. Thanks for help! Simon
1
2823
by: Teelions | last post by:
I know that this can be done for iframes but am wondering if it can be also done for layers. I have 2 pages: an asp content page that has a html (toc.html) include placed within it. The content of toc.html is a menu list placed inside a layer called "navcontainer". The content of the asp page is inside a layer named "wrapper". And the...
1
6039
by: JDeats | last post by:
I have a simple WinForm with a WinForms splitter down the middle. I would like to make it so when the user clicks on a button inside the left portion of the screen (the panel to the splitters left) that portion of the form is reduced in size by about 90% (I want to shrink this area of the of the form). The splitter doesn't appear to have...
0
1727
by: ashishyadav2007 | last post by:
In Setup project for .net I have added a dialog(form) between Start and End dialog(form), but i need to show that dialog(form) only if a registry search condition is successful. If registry search condition fails I dont want to show that dialog(form) during installation process. How can I do that -- i mean how can i apply launch condition to a...
1
3831
by: rythmic | last post by:
Hi! I have developed a system where I use Dojos dijit dialog to show certain information. It works perfectly for all major browsers except for firefox ( where I've tested v3.6 and 4 BETA) The first time I try to get a dijit dialog it all works as expected and all is well and I close it. The second time I try to open another dialog I get an...
0
7446
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language...
0
7718
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. ...
0
7956
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that...
0
7809
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the...
0
6041
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then...
1
5368
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes...
0
3498
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in...
1
1936
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
0
763
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.