473,788 Members | 2,855 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Can you create an updatable query with multible joins

I created 2 tables, each with an autonumber primary key. Fields are:
ID (autonumber Primary key)
Number (single)
Color (Text)
FName (text)in one table and LName (text)in the other

What I'm trying to do is make a select query with not one but two
fields in the join, that will allow me to update the LName field . IE

SELECT FirstName.FName , LastName.LName, FirstName.ID, FirstName.Numbe r,
LastName.ID, LastName.Number
FROM LastName INNER JOIN FirstName ON (LastName.Numbe r =
FirstName.Numbe r) AND (LastName.ID = FirstName.ID);

I've tried:
adding all the joined/keyed/indexed fields
changing the inner joins to left then right joins.
Indexing the number field with no duplicates

Once I add the second join, the query is no longer updatable. Any
comments are welcome.
Thanks in advance,
Adolph

Nov 13 '05 #1
4 6762
You can't _always_ make a multijoin query updateable, but sometimes you can.
Make sure the primary key field of the table(s) you want to update are
contained in the query... without that, you are doomed from the beginning.

Larry Linson
Microsoft Access MVP

"adolph" <ad****@program consultants.com > wrote in message
news:11******** **************@ g44g2000cwa.goo glegroups.com.. .
I created 2 tables, each with an autonumber primary key. Fields are:
ID (autonumber Primary key)
Number (single)
Color (Text)
FName (text)in one table and LName (text)in the other

What I'm trying to do is make a select query with not one but two
fields in the join, that will allow me to update the LName field . IE

SELECT FirstName.FName , LastName.LName, FirstName.ID, FirstName.Numbe r,
LastName.ID, LastName.Number
FROM LastName INNER JOIN FirstName ON (LastName.Numbe r =
FirstName.Numbe r) AND (LastName.ID = FirstName.ID);

I've tried:
adding all the joined/keyed/indexed fields
changing the inner joins to left then right joins.
Indexing the number field with no duplicates

Once I add the second join, the query is no longer updatable. Any
comments are welcome.
Thanks in advance,
Adolph

Nov 13 '05 #2
"Larry Linson" <bo*****@localh ost.not> wrote in
news:mRrse.4027 $kj5.950@trnddc 03:
You can't _always_ make a multijoin query updateable, but
sometimes you can. Make sure the primary key field of the table(s)
you want to update are contained in the query... without that, you
are doomed from the beginning.


Also, the Access-specific DISTINCTROW predicate can often work
wonders, at least for some kinds of queries.

--
David W. Fenton http://www.bway.net/~dfenton
dfenton at bway dot net http://www.bway.net/~dfassoc
Nov 13 '05 #3
I've My query already has:
1. the keyed field as a join
2. another joined field that is indexed
3. All joined fields (keyed and indexed) from both tables in the
results.

Yet the query is not updatable.
Any ideas? Or can you give a simple example of a multijoined query that
is updatable so I can compare it with mine.
Adolph
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Nov 13 '05 #4


Adolph Dupre wrote:
I've My query already has:
1. the keyed field as a join
2. another joined field that is indexed
3. All joined fields (keyed and indexed) from both tables in the
results.

Yet the query is not updatable.
Any ideas? Or can you give a simple example of a multijoined query that
is updatable so I can compare it with mine.
Adolph
*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***


I've had the exact situation happen to me. Fortunately, when I
replaced a join with the IN (SELECT ... ) syntax the query became
updateable. YMMV.

James A. Fortune

Nov 13 '05 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

13
5558
by: aaron | last post by:
I have a question about (i think) joining. If I have a table in a database that has this info: key - name - favorite 1 - john - 2 2 - judy - 3 3 - joe - 1 the favorite icecream table is this:
0
1408
by: Mario Zoratti | last post by:
Hello, everybody, Please be so kind to explain how it is possible to make a query pass through in Access 97 vs SQL server updatable. The query is "SELECT CDC. * FROM CDC": it is very simple and there is no join with other tables. The same table linked directly to SQL server is updatable, while the query isn't. Thanks very much Mario.
2
1879
by: Johnny M | last post by:
I have been using Access since office 4.3. I have just upgraded to Office 2003 and am having issues with creating updatable queries. If I link one table to a selection query based on the same table, the resulting query is not updatable. OR If I link 2 tables together that don't have a primary key the result is not updatable. I know I was able to do this in previous versions since I usually don't use a primary key. Thanks
7
13078
by: Martin Lacoste | last post by:
I have a very basic query that Access 2000 will not allow to be updatable. I've gone through all the situations in the help file where data cannot be updated, and I don't see that this query belongs to any of those. I have checked all permissions, locks, etc.. - can't find anything out of the ordinary that would explain it. Deleted the DistinctRow - no change. The SQL version is below - anyone notice the problem or have any...
14
2570
by: Martin Lacoste | last post by:
Access 2000 Trying even the most basic queries - select queries joining (inner join) two tables - and the results are not updatable, and I can't tell why they aren't. All permissions are on, recordset is dynaset, unique values is no, etc.. etc.. Here's the SQL if it helps..: SELECT tbl.ID FROM tbl INNER JOIN Master ON tbl.IDNumber = Master.IDNumber;
2
2493
by: Enterprise | last post by:
Hi, Here is my code for the Union query "Table union Table union Table ;" The tables are actually queries themselves. I made a form for the query, but when I try to update the form, I get a message that says "This recordset is not updatable." Can I somehow make it updatable? Thanks P.S. Using access 2000.
0
1404
by: CC | last post by:
Dear all, Following Many-to-Many table structure is part of my database ----------------------------------- TbGeneral (dossier information) PK: dsr_id TbDossierSample PK: dsr_sample_id
3
1467
by: sparks | last post by:
I have read in a bunch of files and saved the filename in the table along with the idnumbers and names. Thing is they sent us some files that have to be changed now figures LOL in the table I have filename field and name field no problem with an update if filename = "ABC.F" name ="BOB" but I have 30 of these.
8
4442
geolemon
by: geolemon | last post by:
I'm trying to perform an update, and I can't avoid this error - I've tried this query what must be 5 different very fundamentally different ways now. Arg. I used to be a DBA in large DB2 and SQL Server environments, but I'm a little rusty, plus I'm very new to Access. I am trying to perform a calculation based on information in a few tables, and use the result to update another. Should be simple, here's what counts from the tables...
0
9656
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
10370
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10177
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
10113
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
1
7519
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
5402
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
5538
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
4074
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
3677
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.