468,104 Members | 1,307 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,104 developers. It's quick & easy.

Can I manage MSDE with SSMS??

Hello,

We have an XP workstation containing a very important MSDE-based
application. Its MSDE database isn't likely to change for quite a
while.

The app contains an internal backup method (File, Backup, Backup) and
an auxiliary app/script for shrinking the database and logs. I would
like to automate the backup and shrinking so end users don't have to
remember to do them.

The workstation has a static IP so it can go out to the Internet when
necessary.
The workstation is presently not joined to the domain.

1. Can I install SSMS Express *only* as a local app (without SQL
Express 2005) and thus use SSMS to set up nightly backups and periodic
shrink database/logs jobs??

2. We have SSMS running on SQL 2005 server box in the domain. If I
join the workstation only to the domain (local account logon is not
changed, still used), could I use SSMS from the SQL 2005 box?? Would I
need a domain login on the XP box to make this work??

Thank you, Tom

Jul 26 '07 #1
1 2299
tlyczko (tl*****@gmail.com) writes:
The app contains an internal backup method (File, Backup, Backup) and
an auxiliary app/script for shrinking the database and logs. I would
like to automate the backup and shrinking so end users don't have to
remember to do them.
Shrinking? Have you read this one:
http://www.karaszi.com/SQLServer/info_dont_shrink.asp
1. Can I install SSMS Express *only* as a local app (without SQL
Express 2005) and thus use SSMS to set up nightly backups and periodic
shrink database/logs jobs??
SSMS or SSMS Express? SSMS Express does not have support for SQL Agent,
you would need the real SSMS.

There used to be a license issue which precluded using the SQL 2000
tools with MSDE. That is, it was technically possible, it was not just
permitted by the license. I don't know what applies for the SQL 2005
tools and MSDE. You may want to check this with your local MS
representative.
2. We have SSMS running on SQL 2005 server box in the domain. If I
join the workstation only to the domain (local account logon is not
changed, still used), could I use SSMS from the SQL 2005 box?? Would I
need a domain login on the XP box to make this work??
You could connect with SQL authentication to the XP box.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...ads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinf...ons/books.mspx
Jul 26 '07 #2

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by izzy | last post: by
10 posts views Thread by noname | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by *no spam* | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Larry Bertolini | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Vogon Jeltz | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Solo | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.