473,769 Members | 5,724 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

VS2005 - Manually loading debug symbols

I am attempting to manually load debug symbols for a module. I am doing
it by carrying out the ff steps:

i). Select the call stack window
ii). right click and select 'Load Symbols' from displayed menu
iii). The Find Symbols: MyModule.pdb dialog box is displayed

However, when I navigate to and select the correct pdb file
(myModule.pdb), an error message is displayed with the message:

"The symbol myModule.pdb does not match the module"

I have rebuilt all modules and relinked without any errors - so I can't
explain whats happening - any ideas ?

Mar 27 '07 #1
7 15669
I am attempting to manually load debug symbols for a module. I am doing
it by carrying out the ff steps:

i). Select the call stack window
ii). right click and select 'Load Symbols' from displayed menu
iii). The Find Symbols: MyModule.pdb dialog box is displayed

However, when I navigate to and select the correct pdb file
(myModule.pdb), an error message is displayed with the message:

"The symbol myModule.pdb does not match the module"

I have rebuilt all modules and relinked without any errors - so I can't
explain whats happening - any ideas ?
In Modules window (Debug | Windows | Modules) check the path
to that module. Is it loaded from the correct location?

--
Oleg
[VC++ MVP http://www.debuginfo.com/]

Mar 27 '07 #2


Oleg Starodumov wrote:
>>I am attempting to manually load debug symbols for a module. I am doing
it by carrying out the ff steps:

i). Select the call stack window
ii). right click and select 'Load Symbols' from displayed menu
iii). The Find Symbols: MyModule.pdb dialog box is displayed

However, when I navigate to and select the correct pdb file
(myModule.pdb ), an error message is displayed with the message:

"The symbol myModule.pdb does not match the module"

I have rebuilt all modules and relinked without any errors - so I can't
explain whats happening - any ideas ?


In Modules window (Debug | Windows | Modules) check the path
to that module. Is it loaded from the correct location?

--
Oleg
[VC++ MVP http://www.debuginfo.com/]
Hi Oleg,

The location is cotrrect, but the symbols are not loaded - when I look
in the Symbol Load information window, I get the message: #
"PDB does not match image"

this is what I don't understand, since all the modules have been
correctly built and linked to each other - with no errors.

One thing that may be of note however, is that I have defined Post build
events, that copy the binaries (i.e. dll etc) from the ./debug directory
to a %WorkingDirecto ry% the *.pdb files remain in the ./Debug directory.
This is the same for all the modules, so that only the executable images
are in %WorkingDirecto ry% - I don't know if this is the reason why VS is
getting confused?
Mar 27 '07 #3
The location is cotrrect, but the symbols are not loaded - when I look
in the Symbol Load information window, I get the message: #
"PDB does not match image"

this is what I don't understand, since all the modules have been
correctly built and linked to each other - with no errors.

One thing that may be of note however, is that I have defined Post build
events, that copy the binaries (i.e. dll etc) from the ./debug directory
to a %WorkingDirecto ry% the *.pdb files remain in the ./Debug directory.
This is the same for all the modules, so that only the executable images
are in %WorkingDirecto ry% - I don't know if this is the reason why VS is
getting confused?
VS should be able to handle it (path to the .pdb file is stored
in the executable, so it should be possible to find it).

In Modules window, r-click on the module and choose Symbol Load Information -
it should show where VS was looking for symbols. Did it look in the location
where the pdb file is?

Also, check the timestamps of the executable module and of the pdb file.
Are they the same?

Also, does the post build event only copies the executables? Or does it
modify them somehow?

Oleg


Mar 27 '07 #4


Oleg Starodumov wrote:
>>The location is cotrrect, but the symbols are not loaded - when I look
in the Symbol Load information window, I get the message: #
"PDB does not match image"

this is what I don't understand, since all the modules have been
correctly built and linked to each other - with no errors.

One thing that may be of note however, is that I have defined Post build
events, that copy the binaries (i.e. dll etc) from the ./debug directory
to a %WorkingDirecto ry% the *.pdb files remain in the ./Debug directory.
This is the same for all the modules, so that only the executable images
are in %WorkingDirecto ry% - I don't know if this is the reason why VS is
getting confused?


VS should be able to handle it (path to the .pdb file is stored
in the executable, so it should be possible to find it).

In Modules window, r-click on the module and choose Symbol Load Information -
it should show where VS was looking for symbols. Did it look in the location
where the pdb file is?
Yes. the search paths include the folder containing the required (newly
built) pdb file
>
Also, check the timestamps of the executable module and of the pdb file.
Are they the same?
I rebuilt all the modules in the solution (i.e. the entire solution).
Rebuilt solution with no errors. No linkage warning either. Regarding
timestamps - they are slightly different, but tahts because the modules
are large, and it takes a while to build each module. In this particular
case, the timestamps of the images (binaries) is a red hering (i.e.
not useful)
Also, does the post build event only copies the executables? Or does it
modify them somehow?
Yes, I only copy the executables to a working directory. I do not modify
them in anyway. Also, all the debug files are left behind in their
original folder.

>
Oleg

Mar 27 '07 #5
Also, check the timestamps of the executable module and of the pdb file.
Are they the same?

I rebuilt all the modules in the solution (i.e. the entire solution).
Rebuilt solution with no errors. No linkage warning either. Regarding
timestamps - they are slightly different, but tahts because the modules
are large, and it takes a while to build each module. In this particular
case, the timestamps of the images (binaries) is a red hering (i.e.
not useful)
Try to use this tool to check if the exe/pdb really match or not:
http://www.debuginfo.com/tools/chkmatch.html

You can also try to use it to enforce the matching if necessary
(it is better to have Edit & Continue disabled in the projects
if you are going to do that).

Oleg


Mar 27 '07 #6


Oleg Starodumov wrote:
>>>Also, check the timestamps of the executable module and of the pdb file.
Are they the same?

I rebuilt all the modules in the solution (i.e. the entire solution).
Rebuilt solution with no errors. No linkage warning either. Regarding
timestamps - they are slightly different, but tahts because the modules
are large, and it takes a while to build each module. In this particular
case, the timestamps of the images (binaries) is a red hering (i.e.
not useful)


Try to use this tool to check if the exe/pdb really match or not:
http://www.debuginfo.com/tools/chkmatch.html

You can also try to use it to enforce the matching if necessary
(it is better to have Edit & Continue disabled in the projects
if you are going to do that).

Oleg
Hi Oleg, I'm still not having any joy on this issue. Additionally, the
link you sent is dead - anyone knows how I can resolve this?. It seems
weird that images from the same build process, appear not to be related
--- what gives ?
Mar 30 '07 #7
Hi Oleg, I'm still not having any joy on this issue. Additionally, the
link you sent is dead - anyone knows how I can resolve this?. It seems
weird that images from the same build process, appear not to be related
--- what gives ?
Try again that link, it should work.

Oleg


Mar 30 '07 #8

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

4
6901
by: Matt Sawyer | last post by:
I am attempting to use an API (CxApiOem.dll) that has a large number of defines and complicated structs. It's just too much hassle to attempt to use DLLImport to make the desired API calls. Instead, I created a managed C++ DLL (OneBoxAPI.dll) that wraps the desired API calls in a manner which is easy to call from C#. This way I can use the header files that are part of the API for all the defines and structs. I am having a problem...
1
2089
by: Eric Hirst | last post by:
I have a Visual Studio Solution .sln which contains multiple projects, including an ODBC driver .dll and a client .exe. The client .exe is a simple MFC query tool. Nothing I can find in the client references the driver directly. It uses a connection string to access the driver, and does not provide this string until the user has filled in a login dialog. But when I debug the .exe, I see that the ODBC driver .dll is being loaded very...
0
1196
by: dioscuroi | last post by:
When I call OCI (Oracle Call Interface) functions in Debug mode of VC+ 7.0, it takes too much time to load oracle debug symbols, and finall failed. Error messages are printed in output window, just like a follows: 'ExeCrashZoneServer.exe': Loaded 'C:\Oracle\Ora81\bin\oraclient8.dll' Cannot find or open a required DBG file. 'ExeCrashZoneServer.exe': Loaded 'C:\Oracle\Ora81\bin\ORACORE8.DLL' Cannot find or open a required DBG file....
1
1747
by: Andrew Ducker | last post by:
I'm trying to load an assembly into a temporary AppDomain rather than my main AppDomain, so that it can be unloaded later on. However, it's also loading into my main AppDomain at the same time. My code is: AppDomain a = AppDomain.CreateDomain("TestDomain"); a.Load("AppDomainTestAssembly"); and in the Console window I get the following when the second line executes:
3
2292
by: Doug | last post by:
I'm having problems w/ the VS2005 debugger with C#. It blows past any breakpoints in even the simplest "Hello World" console application. I can't do any step-by-step debugging. I've provided the code and debugging output later in this post. I've seen a number of threads with similar problems that I'll address below. The one that's the largest concern is this one, which talks about the same problem trying to use the debugger with SQL...
7
2611
by: Joseph Geretz | last post by:
I've been working on an Addin for Outlook in C#. It hasn't been long now, just a couple of days. Suddenly though, running my project in Debug launches Outlook as specified, but no breakpoints are hit in my source code. The Addin isn't being loaded. If I create a new Addin program from scratch, e.g. AddIn1, it loads up fine from Outlook. I archived my existing code, cleared out the registry and recreated a brand new Addin project with...
2
3180
by: Dinh Bao Tuyen | last post by:
Hi everyone, I can't debug javascript in VS 2005. In my VS2005, I can't find Script Explorer in menu. Can u help me???
3
4251
by: Bardo | last post by:
Hi all, We are trying to debug an assembly which was built in debug configuration on our build server. The output window of visual studio indicates that no symbols are being loaded for the assembly. However, when the PDB file is copied alongside the dll, the symbols load ok. We were a little confused, because we had already been debugging this assembly WITHOUT copying the pdb file. What I discovered was that when the assembly is built...
4
2511
by: Mr Gray | last post by:
Hello, I am using VS.NET 2003 and have multiple projects in my solution and an asp.net web app which is the startup project. I have inherited this project from someone else and am trying to upgrade the project but that problem is for another day :) The issue I am experiencing is due to debug symbols not being loaded and therefore my breakpoints are not being hit. I just get a normal break point with a '?' symbol in the centre. I...
0
9423
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
10211
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
10045
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
1
9994
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
9863
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
8870
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
0
6673
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
5447
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
3958
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.