473,625 Members | 3,254 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

System.Diagnost ics.Process

I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app, appXXX, I wrote.
Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe

This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an ASP.NET app.
I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!
--
Folke
Nov 23 '05 #1
5 4185
Hello folke,
I believe this is a permissions issue. ASPNET user doesnt have permissions
to see the file. You could do it with impersonation if its an internal ASP.net
service. However I'd strongly discourage you from starting processes using
asp.net

HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app, appXXX, I
wrote. Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe

This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an
ASP.NET app.
I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!

Nov 23 '05 #2
OK!
So here is the problem.
On a Server is MyApp.mdb (Access Application)
Users want to use MyApp.mdb from a Link in a Web Page.
What is the best way to start MyApp.mdb from the Web Page?
The do not accept to map to ther server and just doubleclick on myapp.mdb!
regards
Folke

"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
I believe this is a permissions issue. ASPNET user doesnt have permissions
to see the file. You could do it with impersonation if its an internal ASP.net
service. However I'd strongly discourage you from starting processes using
asp.net

HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app, appXXX, I
wrote. Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe

This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an
ASP.NET app.
I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!


Nov 23 '05 #3
Hello folke,
There is no concept of *starting* an mdb. You'd need to download the mdb
file and I can see you may need to use DIME if you want to use web services.
otherwise just a http like to the mdb should do!

HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
OK!
So here is the problem.
On a Server is MyApp.mdb (Access Application)
Users want to use MyApp.mdb from a Link in a Web Page.
What is the best way to start MyApp.mdb from the Web Page?
The do not accept to map to ther server and just doubleclick on
myapp.mdb!
regards
Folke
"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
I believe this is a permissions issue. ASPNET user doesnt have
permissions
to see the file. You could do it with impersonation if its an
internal ASP.net
service. However I'd strongly discourage you from starting processes
using
asp.net
HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app, appXXX,
I wrote. Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe

This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an
ASP.NET app.
I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!

Nov 23 '05 #4
Thanks for your answer.
Look at code below!

private void btnStart_Click( object sender, System.EventArg s e)
{
myProcess.Start ();
}
private void btnStop_Click(o bject sender, System.EventArg s e)
{
System.Diagnost ics.Process[] myProcesses;
myProcesses =
System.Diagnost ics.Process.Get ProcessesByName ("MSAccess") ;
foreach (System.Diagnos tics.Process instance in myProcesses)
{
instance.WaitFo rExit(3000);
instance.CloseM ainWindow();
}
This is for a Windows app. When I configure the myProcess object
StartInfo/FileName to "c:\x\y\msApp.m db" I can start and stop any number of
Access windows running msApp.mdb
I just wonder why an ASP.NET app cannot do the same thing (can't find the
file)?
As for your response I'll follow your advise and go for a download, maybe
execute it from within an ActiveX control!
regards
Folke
"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
There is no concept of *starting* an mdb. You'd need to download the mdb
file and I can see you may need to use DIME if you want to use web services.
otherwise just a http like to the mdb should do!

HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
OK!
So here is the problem.
On a Server is MyApp.mdb (Access Application)
Users want to use MyApp.mdb from a Link in a Web Page.
What is the best way to start MyApp.mdb from the Web Page?
The do not accept to map to ther server and just doubleclick on
myapp.mdb!
regards
Folke
"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
I believe this is a permissions issue. ASPNET user doesnt have
permissions
to see the file. You could do it with impersonation if its an
internal ASP.net
service. However I'd strongly discourage you from starting processes
using
asp.net
HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app, appXXX,
I wrote. Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe

This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an
ASP.NET app.
I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!


Nov 23 '05 #5
Hello folke,
Yes but if you do that in the ASP.net process theoretically it will start
the access application in the server. It wont however because it will not
have permissions to do so. How is that in any way benefitial to u? May be
am missing something. Anyways to answer your question the ASP.net user doesnt
have permissions to do what you are wanting it to do

HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
Thanks for your answer.
Look at code below!
private void btnStart_Click( object sender, System.EventArg s e)
{
myProcess.Start ();
}
private void btnStop_Click(o bject sender, System.EventArg s e)
{
System.Diagnost ics.Process[] myProcesses;
myProcesses =
System.Diagnost ics.Process.Get ProcessesByName ("MSAccess") ;
foreach (System.Diagnos tics.Process instance in myProcesses)
{
instance.WaitFo rExit(3000);
instance.CloseM ainWindow();
}
This is for a Windows app. When I configure the myProcess object
StartInfo/FileName to "c:\x\y\msApp.m db" I can start and stop any
number of
Access windows running msApp.mdb
I just wonder why an ASP.NET app cannot do the same thing (can't find
the
file)?
As for your response I'll follow your advise and go for a download,
maybe
execute it from within an ActiveX control!
regards
Folke
"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
There is no concept of *starting* an mdb. You'd need to download the
mdb
file and I can see you may need to use DIME if you want to use web
services.
otherwise just a http like to the mdb should do!
HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
OK!
So here is the problem.
On a Server is MyApp.mdb (Access Application)
Users want to use MyApp.mdb from a Link in a Web Page.
What is the best way to start MyApp.mdb from the Web Page?
The do not accept to map to ther server and just doubleclick on
myapp.mdb!
regards
Folke
"Dilip Krishnan" wrote:
Hello folke,
I believe this is a permissions issue. ASPNET user doesnt have
permissions
to see the file. You could do it with impersonation if its an
internal ASP.net
service. However I'd strongly discourage you from starting
processes
using
asp.net
HTH
Regards,
Dilip Krishnan
MCAD, MCSD.net
dkrishnan at geniant dot com
http://www.geniant.com
> I'm using the Process class in my app to start another app,
> appXXX, I wrote. Appxxx is located at c:\folke\appxxx .exe
>
> This is wroking fine from a Windows Application, but NOT from an
> ASP.NET app.
> I get the error message: Can't find file! ???
> I need to start appxxx from the ASP.NET app!

Nov 23 '05 #6

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
1737
by: marccruz | last post by:
Given an instance of System.Diagnostics.Process, how can I get the parent process o Given an instance of System.Diagnostics.Process, how can I get the child processes For example, I start a process which executes a script that starts a java program System.Diagnostics.Process proc = System.Diagnostics.Process() proc.StartInfo.FileName = "test.bat"
1
3041
by: Heiko Besemann | last post by:
Dear group, I created an aspx page using System.Diagnostics.Process() to launch "tracert" from shell and redirect output to Response.Output which prints it as text/plain into my browsers window. Now that works fine so far. My problem is that while tracert process is running and ASP ..NET is putting data into the pages output stream, my webapplication is locked until tracert process exits. How can I stop locking my application and be...
1
5974
by: solex | last post by:
Hello All, Hopefully someone has run into this error. I have written a class(source below) that launches a thread to monitor the StandardOutput of a System.Diagnostics.Process, in particular I am executing the find.exe program. The application works perfectly in the development environment. As soon as I execute the compiled program and start the find process I get an "Application Error". The error states that the instruction...
2
15463
by: andreas | last post by:
hi, In windows xp in the start launch menu when i put notepad "c:\test.txt" i get notepad with test.txt in it. in vb.net when i state system.diagnostics.process.start("notepad.exe" i get notepad but
11
3742
by: Nurit N | last post by:
This is the third newsgroup that I'm posting my problem. I'm sorry for the multiple posts but the matter becoming urgent. I hope this is the right place for it... I have created a very simple batch file (echo hello world) and was trying to retrieve the standard output but every time I run the code it returns ExitCode as 1.
0
1796
by: Daniel | last post by:
System.Diagnostics.Process.Start fails on windows server 2003 the process returns process.ExitCode == 0 but executing any process with System.Diagnostics.Process.Start on windows xp works fine. anything to do different for windows server 2003? some special permission for the process that executes another executable with System.Diagnostics.Process.Start ?? here is the code:
0
849
by: Daniel | last post by:
C# windows service freezes on System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(info) When I launch PSCP from a C# windows service and launch pscp 0.53 there are no issues. but when I use C# windows service to launch pscp 0.58 C# freezes in System.Diagnostics.Process.Start(info)? pscp 0.58 works fine at command line, but causes C# to freeze on ystem.Diagnostics.Process.Start(info) also i noticed that the pscp process does not show in taske manager while...
0
4194
by: Colin Williams | last post by:
I am using the code below to map network drive and then fire up an app in a sub dir of that drive. However when using the file open dialog from that app, drive K: appears just as Network drive K: (this could confuse users) rather than showing the path it is mapped to like in explorer. Using a batch file to execute these commands works great. Any ideas? System.Diagnostics.Process.Start("net.exe", "use K:...
0
3013
by: =?Utf-8?B?UHVjY2E=?= | last post by:
-- Hi I'm using vs2005, .net 2 for windows application. The application I started using System.Diagnostics.Process is having a "listFiles.StandardOutput" buffer size problem. I was wondering where and how can I adjust the buffer size problem. I don't want to be limited to a set buffer size, is that possible? thank you. public static int GetNisFile(System.Diagnostics.ProcessStartInfo psi, ref DataTable dtAccounts, ref...
2
6864
by: test3 | last post by:
Hello folks, I'm using System.Diagnostics.Process to start a thirdparty program (that works perfectly when started via command line). I'm using Process.StandardOutput to get the output of the program. That works for 95 %, but the other 5 % it doesn't. It seems to me that the started process just hangs, and therefor my program hangs, too (p.WaitForExit()). I researched that this only happens when the output of the program is longer than...
0
8189
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
1
8356
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For most users, this new feature is actually very convenient. If you want to control the update process,...
0
8497
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
7184
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
6118
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
4089
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
4193
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
2621
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
2
1500
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.