468,768 Members | 1,657 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 468,768 developers. It's quick & easy.

IIS on a single IP (coexisting with Apache)

Hi
I am an applications programmer with limited knowledge of system configuration.
I have two development computers, XP Pro (IP 192.168.1.3 and 192.168.1.4) on a LAN behind a router (IP 192.168.1.1) which connects to broadband internet.
On one of my development computers I want to setup both IIS (running MS Access, MS SQL and ASP) and Apache (running MySQL and PHP). Both the web local servers are for local development use and need not (at this stage anyway) be seen by the world outside my router. I have downloaded the Support Tools and read numerous forum threads on the subject but still run into problems. My first objective is to run IIS on a single IP address (as opposed to all) so that I can use other IP addresses for Apache websites also using port 80. There are a number of things I don’t understand:
1. What IP address do I use? Can I pick any unused address in the local range 192.168.xxx.yyy?
2. localhost is supposed to have IP address 127.0.0.1 . Where is that determined and how does that relate to the address I select below (4)?
3. When I browse for http://localhost do I always get IIS? In what way does localhost in IIS differ from localhost in Apache?
4. I picked 192.168.1.14 for IIS (it refused 127.0.0.1) and set it up to port 80 in Administrative Tools --> IIS.
5. I also ran

httpcfg delete iplisten –i 0.0.0.0
httpcfg set iplisten –i 192.168.1.14:80
net stop http
net start http
iisreset

Then when I run

httpcfg query iplisten

it displays the one and only 192.168.1.14:80 as it should.

But it does not work even after restart. The localhost website stops (“Internet Explorer cannot display the website…”) and when I try to start it I get error 0x8ffe2740 which indicates an addressing conflict. Where is this addressing conflict? Who is in conflict with whom? (I have deselected port 80 in Skype and also turned Skype off but I see (below) that Skype is still listening on 3 ports. Why?)

6. When I run
netstat –aon
I get

Active Connections

Proto Local Address Foreign Address State PID
TCP 0.0.0.0:135 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 780
TCP 0.0.0.0:443 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1840
TCP 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 0.0.0.0:1486 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1264
TCP 127.0.0.1:1032 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 3768
TCP 127.0.0.1:5354 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1936
TCP 127.0.0.1:10110 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1900
TCP 192.168.1.4:80 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 1840
TCP 192.168.1.4:139 0.0.0.0:0 LISTENING 4
TCP 192.168.1.4:1214 64.250.227.20:80 CLOSE_WAIT 3992
UDP 0.0.0.0:161 *:* 220
UDP 0.0.0.0:445 *:* 4
UDP 0.0.0.0:500 *:* 572
UDP 0.0.0.0:1025 *:* 1936
UDP 0.0.0.0:1027 *:* 892
UDP 0.0.0.0:1284 *:* 892
UDP 0.0.0.0:4500 *:* 572
UDP 127.0.0.1:123 *:* 844
UDP 127.0.0.1:1274 *:* 3248
UDP 127.0.0.1:1398 *:* 4076
UDP 127.0.0.1:1463 *:* 2080
UDP 192.168.1.4:123 *:* 844
UDP 192.168.1.4:137 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.4:138 *:* 4
UDP 192.168.1.4:5353 *:* 1936

I don’t understand what this means. What are all these services running in the background? Why is my selected web server address not there?

When I have resolved the above I will make another attempt (the first one failed) to install Apache. Could somebody help me over the first hurdle?

Jan
Mar 26 '08 #1
4 8726
kenobewan
4,871 Expert 4TB
If you having this much trouble I suggest finding a good resource first. Read the chapter on security first. Otherwise you may be left rueing that a little knowledge is a dangerous thing ;).
Mar 26 '08 #2
Thank you kenobewan, but that was not very helpful. I have read quite a lot but it is not my intent to become an expert in this field. It would be very helpful if you just briefly answered the questions I posed.
Jan
Mar 26 '08 #3
kenobewan
4,871 Expert 4TB
Thank you kenobewan, but that was not very helpful. I have read quite a lot but it is not my intent to become an expert in this field. It would be very helpful if you just briefly answered the questions I posed.
Jan
Here is an article to get you started:
How to set up IIS to host your website
Mar 27 '08 #4
Thank you again kenobewan. I have already read that article and many others and also previously successfully set up IIS and created a number of ASP applications. It was only when I wanted to expand to Apache/PHP I ran into problems. IIS by default listens to port 80 on ALL IP addresses. In order to add another server I have to either use a different port for this server or still use port 80 and use specific IP addresses for each server. When I try to do the latter (which is the recommended way) IIS quits working. Why? I was hoping that the answers to my initial questions would clarify that.
Jan
Mar 27 '08 #5

Post your reply

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

5 posts views Thread by Grant Collins | last post: by
1 post views Thread by ptaz | last post: by
19 posts views Thread by Alex Madon | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Aziz | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Justin L. Kennedy | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by Marin | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.