473,616 Members | 2,970 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

error: 'something' does not name a type

77 New Member
Hi,
I have a struct with this definition
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. struct SeverityAction : public Action {
  2.     uint32_t theSeverity;      //*****
  3.   public:
  4.     SeverityAction(uint32_t aSeverity);
  5. ...
  6. };
  7.  
and the uint32_t is defined in "/usr/include/stdint.h"
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. /* Unsigned.  */
  2. typedef unsigned char        uint8_t;
  3. typedef unsigned short int    uint16_t;
  4. #ifndef __uint32_t_defined
  5. typedef unsigned int        uint32_t;
  6. # define __uint32_t_defined
  7. #endif
  8. #if __WORDSIZE == 64
  9. typedef unsigned long int    uint64_t;
  10. #else
  11. __extension__
  12. typedef unsigned long long int    uint64_t;
  13. #endif
However I get this error:
Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. error: ‘uint32_t’ does not name a type
  2. error: expected ‘)’ before ‘aSeverity’
How can I fix that?
Mar 29 '11 #1
3 18226
Banfa
9,065 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
uint32_t might be defined in "/usr/include/stdint.h" but have you included it in a relevant place?
Mar 29 '11 #2
mahmoodn
77 New Member
You are right. that file was included in another file but previous versions of gcc didn't complain about that.

thanks :)
Mar 29 '11 #3
Banfa
9,065 Recognized Expert Moderator Expert
If you need a header you should include it.

You should not assume that just because it is included into another header that you include that in future versions that other header will continue to include the header you need.
Mar 29 '11 #4

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

0
2005
by: Liam3 | last post by:
I'm having a problem with a table that accidently had a column added whose type is the same as the table. This is seriously creating a problem as I cannot delete the table and I really don't have the ability to destroy the database (with all the other tables) just to get rid of this. Does anyone know of a way to get the database to allow a drop of a table that has this sort of situation. Here's a sample of what I get... Any thoughts...
0
1683
by: Danny Pressley | last post by:
I have a VS.NET 2003 Visual C++ MFC Application Project in which I added a new resource file, I then added an icon to this new resource file and did a rebuild and got the following error: "fatal error CVT1100: duplicate resource. type:ICON, name:1, language:0x0409". But the resource ID is unique and only located in the new Resource1.h and MyResourceFile.rc files. Any ideas why this error is occuring? To generate the issue real quick, you...
11
13130
by: Danny Pressley | last post by:
I have a VS.NET 2003 Visual C++ MFC Application Project in which I added a new resource file, I then added an icon to this new resource file and did a rebuild and got the following error: "fatal error CVT1100: duplicate resource. type:ICON, name:1, language:0x0409". But the resource ID is unique and only located in the new Resource1.h and MyResourceFile.rc files. Any ideas why this error is occuring? To generate the issue real quick, you...
3
4785
by: selena | last post by:
I have created 2 ASP pages that gives users the option of switching back and forth between French and English. They click on the word English and it converted the text to English and the French link converts the text to French. In the ASP page with the form on it there is an includes file pointing to the scripts page. The scripts page holds the values for both languages. It works great in ASP but as soon as I rename the page to a .aspx...
7
3519
by: Együd Csaba | last post by:
Hi, I've a problem with some of my stored procs. My config is: RH7.1, Postgres 7.3.2 I had converted a few fields of a few tables from one type to another and after this I made all the necessary changes on the functions and recreated all my types and functions. It seemd to be all right, but the newly created functions won't work anymore.
4
4031
by: Ondrej Spanel | last post by:
The code below does not compile with .NET 2003, I get folowing error: w:\c\Pokusy\delegTemplArg\delegTemplArg.cpp(11) : error C2993: 'float' : illegal type for non-type template parameter 'x' The error shows compiler is quite confused - x is not a template parameter at all. I have found two workarounds, but still I think the code should compile.
1
13380
by: dotNetDave | last post by:
I keep getting the following error on one of my web service pages: Parser Error Parser Error Message: Could not create type 'SyPixx.Web.ClearService.ConfigureAlarms'. Source Error: Line 1: <%@ WebService Language="vb" Codebehind="ConfigureAlarms.asmx.vb" Class="SyPixx.Web.ClearService.ConfigureAlarms" %>
0
3252
by: WebDev2 | last post by:
I can't get AJAX.NET Pro to work. I keep getting a Compiler Error Message: CS0246: The type or namespace name 'AjaxPro' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?) I have a reference to AJAX.NET Pro and I created and the wire up was placed in the Webconfig file. <!-- Wire up Ajax.NET Pro ashx Handler --> <location path="ajaxpro">
2
14740
by: paul.dunstone | last post by:
HI all I am using msbuild to compile my web application project. After building the solution I get the following error message: Server Error in '/Community' Application. -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Value cannot be null.
4
23869
by: infinetinc | last post by:
I'm receiving the following error when this site is published to the production environment: Compiler Error Message: CS0246: The type or namespace name 'GridViewHelper' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?) The error does not occur on my local machine. The GridViewHelper function is defined in my APP_CODE folder and is in both locations. I'm using MS Visual Web Developer 2005 Express.
0
8203
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main usage, and What is the difference between ONU and Router. Let’s take a closer look ! Part I. Meaning of...
0
8647
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. Here is my compilation command: g++-12 -std=c++20 -Wnarrowing bit_field.cpp Here is the code in...
0
8592
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
0
8449
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the choice of these technologies. I'm particularly interested in Zigbee because I've heard it does some...
0
7121
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
6097
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
5550
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
4063
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
1
2579
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.