473,509 Members | 6,048 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

How do I combine reports?

418 Contributor
I have a report (rptAPDetails) that is based on qryAPDetails shows grant expenses for all invoice payments. Similarly I have a report (rptPayDetails) that is based on qryPayDetails which shows payroll expenses for grants.

I would like to generate a report combining these two reports. Where I will be able to combine expenses for all grants by types. For example,
Grant 9500215
A/P Expenses $xx,xxx.00
Payroll Expense $xx,xxx.00
TOTAL $xx,xxx.00
GRAND TOTAL (All grants) $xxx,xxx.00

I made a copy of rptAPDetails and called it srptAP and similarly created srptPay. Used these two reports as sub reports. But I didn’t succeed. My main form is based on tblECHO where ECHOID is the PK (auto) and ties all these queries.

How do I combine these reports? Can someone please help me with directions?

Thanks.
May 20 '09 #1
21 5557
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
The main report should contain a query with tblGrants and tblFundGrants so you can tie them together on the child/master fields using tblFundgrantID. Try that and let me know how it goes.
May 20 '09 #2
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Thanks for the tip. I will try. This is what I am planning to do. See if I am on right track.

1. Create a query using tblECHO, tblGrants, tblGrantFunds. Let's name it qryECHO

2. Create a main report: rptECHO based on qryECHO

3. Question: Do I add srptAP and srptPay on to rptECHO? or Do I add qryAPDetails and qryPayDetails?

I am looking forward to fruitful Thursday. It will be nice to accomplish something before I leave for the long weekend.

Thanks.
May 21 '09 #3
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
@MNNovice
Sounds good

3. Question: Do I add srptAP and srptPay on to rptECHO? or Do I add qryAPDetails and qryPayDetails?

I am looking forward to fruitful Thursday. It will be nice to accomplish something before I leave for the long weekend.

Thanks.
Add your two reports to the main report make sure the child/master fields have their relations and you should be set. Good luck, I do hope today is fruitfull for you.
May 21 '09 #4
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Add your two reports to the main report make sure the child/master fields have their relations and you should be set.
I am assuming you are referring to rptApDetails and rptPayDetails (Post #1). Am I correct?
May 21 '09 #5
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Are you dealing with forms or reports (or maybe both)?
May 21 '09 #6
MNNovice
418 Contributor
NeoPa:

I am dealing with reports. Trying to create a report that will combine info from two other reports. Report 1 is rptAPDetails (has all invoice expense data for grant expenses) and Report 2 is called rptPayDetails which has all payroll expenses for grants.

The process to claim reimbursements for these grant expenses is called ECHO. I have a tblECHO with a PK (auto) ECHOID. Based on Denburt's suggestion, I created qryECHO to include tblECHO and tblGrantFund. GrantFundID is the field that ties these tables.

I was successful in creating reports on AP expenses and Payroll expenses. I am trying to combine the two and create ECHO reports by grant expenses. It should list ECHO No, Grant No and associated AP and payroll expenses for these Grants.

ECHO: 1
Grannt 1xxxxx
AP $00000
Pay $00000
Sub Total $0000000

Grant 2xxxxx
....
Total ECHO 1 $000000

You get the idea.

But I didn't succeed doing this, YET. As I tried to use rptAPDetails as a sub report to rptECHO and selected: " Show tblAP for each record in qryEHO using GrantFundID" I got this error message:

"The link you selected cannot be used. This link was created based on relationships betwee source tables. To use this link you must add the missing field to the form or report's record source."

I am not sure I understand what is the solution here. When I select: "show qryECHOAPDetail for each record in qryEcho using ECHOID" each ECHO is repeated several times (16 -18 times). Of course I need to use the GrantFundID but have not been successful.

Can you give me some direction?

Thanks.
May 21 '09 #7
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt / NeoPa
I think I figured it out a little bit more. So don't respond to my help until I come back and report on my progress. Thanks.
May 21 '09 #8
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
@Denburt
My advice would be very much along the lines of what DenBurt suggested. This isn't an area I have a lot of experience in, but the quoted approach should work, assuming the links between all the items are logically organised.
May 21 '09 #9
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
Make sure GrantFundID is in the query that you are using in the record source for the main report and the subreports. It sounds like that is or could be the problem there.
May 21 '09 #10
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt/ NeoPa

I was successful in pulling the report together.

1. Created qryECHO (tblECHO, tblAP & tblGrantFunds). Used this for the main form frmECHO
2. Used srpAP and srpPay for the two sub reports.
3. Used ECHOID for the joining fields.

It's working. Thanks for your help.
May 26 '09 #11
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
That's great glad you got it. I guess I was off on the ID that tied them together but it sounds like your on the mark now.
May 26 '09 #12
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt:

I have been trying to develop a report that will be based on the Fund number. So basically it should look like this:

FUND NO

A/P expenses
Payroll Expenses

ECHO No
TOTAL

How do I approach this? Thanks.
May 26 '09 #13
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
Well according to the last DB you sent out you would create a main report based on a query with tblFunds and tblGrantFund your subreports it appears that you have an 1 echoID for tblAP and a separate echoID for tblPayroll correct? If so then create 1 subreport on tblAP and tblEcho then the second subreport would be based on tblPayroll and tblecho then it can all be joined using grantfundID and you can show the echo number next to each Payroll no. echo no. in the other you would show tblap expenses and next to the the echo no. (hope that helps)
May 26 '09 #14
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt:

I am trying to do a Fund Report not and ECHO Report. I will explain further tomorrow. I must leave now to catch my train.

Thanks.
May 26 '09 #15
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt: Good morning.

ECHOID is same for all tables. I didn’t quite understand how do you find two separate ECHOIDs? tblAP and tblPayroll (and other similar expense tables – all will have to be connected to tblECHO with ECHOID.

I am trying to create a detailed report by Fund. Funds are a 3-digit numbers starting with 8 (872, 833, 819 etc). A fund can have multiple project number which is a 5-digit numbers usually starts with 6. (63740 , 64690, 65651 etc). A project can be further separated by sub class which is a combination of numbers and digits (T217, PJ08, 0999 etc).

My questions are:

1. What would be the correct way to do a report by Fund for each ECHO?
2.How do I do a summary report for all funds?
3. How do I arrange the report in an ascending order by fund number?

The latest version of my DB is attached. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks.
May 27 '09 #16
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I'll try to get to downloading this tonight M.

I may need to clarify the question somewhat when I have done, as I admit to finding the requirement quite difficult to understand in the terms presented.

Maybe I'll have a clearer understanding when I get the db.

@Den, I'll post back when I have the database so it can be deleted. You do the same if you beat me to it.
May 28 '09 #17
Denburt
1,356 Recognized Expert Top Contributor
I downloaded it yesterday and managed to look it over to some degree. Before we move on to this second report request I would like to confirm the name of the report you are using for your Echo report. The one I see is a little off so I am not sure if I am looking at the right one. I think if we verify that everything is in order on that one it will help us with your fund report since I think they will be very close to the same thing with just a few minor changes. Thanks
May 28 '09 #18
MNNovice
418 Contributor
Denburt:

Not sure which report you are referring to. I found one inconsistency on posting 11. The correct names for the sub reports are srptEchoAP and srptEchoPay. Usually I add "Detail" or "Sum" to indicate whether it's a detailed report or a summary report.

For the fund report I attempted with srptEchoAPFund and srptEchoPayFund. For the main report I used rptECHOFund. None of these worked.

Hope this answers your questions. If not, let me know. Thanks for your help.
May 28 '09 #19
MNNovice
418 Contributor
NeoPa:

Feel free to ask for further clarifications. I know often I struggle to pose my questions. Many thanks for your help.
May 28 '09 #20
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I found a report called rptAPDetail (rptAPDetails).

I saw no subreports on it at all.

Am I missing something here as I'm a bit stuck on how to proceed.
May 28 '09 #21
NeoPa
32,557 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Forget that. I read through the thread again and saw that I was looking for rptECHO instead. I've found that & will have a look as time allows.
May 28 '09 #22

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

8
7072
by: mark | last post by:
Access2000 How do I write a query that combines the CTC field from each record below into one record? I need to concatenate the CTC field with a separator, like below: ...
5
12973
by: Jamie Pittman via AccessMonster.com | last post by:
I have two tables with 5000 entries on them. One is based for regular time with several variables example (employee name, date,time in and out, code, customer, building) I have another table that...
24
8131
by: trint | last post by:
add them into one PrintDocument: PrintDocument pd1 = new PrintDocument(); PrintDocument pd2 = new PrintDocument(); PrintDocument pdCombined = new PrintDocument(); pdCombined = pd1 + pd2;...
0
1108
by: Hendri | last post by:
My company have any report with ms exel , My question is how to make a web application with asp.net that can join with all office fitur. and i want to save the spread sheet by day, so if my boss...
1
2657
by: Red | last post by:
So I inherited this db that has multiple 'orders' tables. Each order table is name for the year of the orders... i.e. 2005 is 'Orders-2005', 2006 is "Orders-2006" So, I am not allowed to...
2
2592
by: David Lozzi | last post by:
Howdy, Can I compile multiple Crystal Reports into a single PDF? If so, how? I need this functionality because the second report will be selected by the user.... Is there a way to select a...
1
5834
by: Venk | last post by:
I want to combine 2 different reports. That is Report 1 should be followed by report 2 If Report 1 is in Page 1, automatically report2 should be in page2 Any thought or help on this would be...
2
22638
by: drurjen | last post by:
Good morning. I am importing an XLS file into one of my tables. The fields are: Date Id Time IO 12/22/2006 2 12:48:45 PM 9 12/22/2006 16 5:40:55 AM 1 12/22/2006 16 12:03:59 PM 2 ...
13
3231
by: MNNovice | last post by:
I have three tables, tblAP, tblPayroll and tblAllocation. Each records three separate expenses. All three are related by FK ECHOID, each has common fields such as AccountNo, FundNo, GrantNo,...
0
7237
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
7347
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
1
7073
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
7506
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
1
5062
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
4732
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and...
0
3218
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The...
0
3207
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
779
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.