By using this site, you agree to our updated Privacy Policy and our Terms of Use. Manage your Cookies Settings.
445,841 Members | 1,675 Online
Bytes IT Community
+ Ask a Question
Need help? Post your question and get tips & solutions from a community of 445,841 IT Pros & Developers. It's quick & easy.

How can two people use the same Access database?

P: 1
I know this may be a silly question but is there a way for more than one user to add information to the same database at the same time? Each user would be working on different records within the database. at the moment it comes up with an error when the second person enter that they cannot add or chage the data as it will not be saved.

Can anyone help, this is urgent
Sep 7 '07 #1
Share this Question
Share on Google+
2 Replies


Expert 100+
P: 126
You won't be able to change the design of tables, and possibly not even access the same table at the same time (unless you use forms with sql and recordsets), but try this:

Copy the table, and paste it in the same place, with the name Tables.mdb or something.

In one of the copies, delete all the forms, queries, reports and modules (leaving just the tables). In the other one, delete all the tables, go to File -> Import External Data -> Link Tables, browse to the other copy, and double click on it. Select all the tables and click OK.

Now, leave the version with the tables in the same place, and move the version without - place one copy of this in the local area for each user. You will now only be allowed one user to login to your local version (of which there are many), but all the users are accessing the same tables.

Hope this helps.
Sep 7 '07 #2

MMcCarthy
Expert Mod 10K+
P: 14,534
I know this may be a silly question but is there a way for more than one user to add information to the same database at the same time? Each user would be working on different records within the database. at the moment it comes up with an error when the second person enter that they cannot add or chage the data as it will not be saved.

Can anyone help, this is urgent
In Tools - Options go to Advanced tab and change the Default Open Mode to shared.
Sep 8 '07 #3

Post your reply

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.