473,698 Members | 2,300 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Tracing Links Problem and Conversion Errors

JamesDC
66 New Member
Hey all,

I have two problems with trying to upgrade an access file, not written by myself.

This first is that I'm trying to change the items on a dropbox list, and they are linked with the following code:

SELECT DISTINCTROW [Processing Data].[ID], [Processing Data].[Number], [Processing Data].[Products] FROM [Processing Data];

My problem is that I cannot find any table called Processing Data. Are there other places that I could look to try to find this? Or is there a way to open the link from inside the properties box for the dropbox?

My second question is concerning these conversion errors that appeared in the Table menu when the database was converted from Access 200 to Access 2002. They seem to each contain a small error comment, and I'm not sure if I should delete them.

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide,

James
Feb 23 '07
29 2650
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Look for a command button whose name is Command176 (Don't rely on the text in the associated label but look for the Name of the control itself).
Feb 27 '07 #21
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Sorry about that,

the line that the error came up on is :
ItemNum.SetFocu s

Where ItemNum is highlighted. The exact error is Compile Error: Variable Not Defined

I can't find any items on any of the forms that use Command176 when clicked. So I'm still looking...
Open the form in design view that this code is written behind. You should be able to tell from the top display bar which form it is. The command button will be one of the buttons on this form. Look at the properties of each button and check the name property under the Other tab to find it.

Now look for ItemNum as a textbox name on this form.

Mary
Feb 27 '07 #22
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Snap again :D
Feb 27 '07 #23
JamesDC
66 New Member
It's like I'm talking to only 1 person with the way your two replies keep coming back...

Anyways, I searched all the buttons, comboboxes, and text boxes and could not find any trace of a Command176 being used. I did find an old un-used form though that has a text field with control source: "Item Num"

I suspect this has something to do with "ItemNum" in the code, but the space is creating a problem...
Feb 27 '07 #24
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
It's like I'm talking to only 1 person with the way your two replies keep coming back...

Anyways, I searched all the buttons, comboboxes, and text boxes and could not find any trace of a Command176 being used. I did find an old un-used form though that has a text field with control source: "Item Num"

I suspect this has something to do with "ItemNum" in the code, but the space is creating a problem...
Comment out all the code with an apostrophe at the beginning of each line and this will stop the error. You can always visit it again if it turns out that something is no longer working.

Mary
Feb 27 '07 #25
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
It's like I'm talking to only 1 person with the way your two replies keep coming back...
Hey Ade -

Now I'm getting worried. If we start thinking alike we're in big trouble. :D

Mary
Feb 27 '07 #26
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Open the form in design view that this code is written behind. You should be able to tell from the top display bar which form it is. The command button will be one of the buttons on this form. Look at the properties of each button and check the name property under the Other tab to find it.

Now look for ItemNum as a textbox name on this form.

Mary
Snap again :) (Ooops - didn't catch all the updates in-between. Now I have it's frightening how similar our answers are :().
Alternatively, to get to the design of the form whose code is displayed in the VBA window, hit Alt-F11. This should switch you across to the main Access window with that object selected.
Feb 27 '07 #27
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
In that case it is worth your while going through the errors and making sure all issues have been dealt with. Any issues not dealt with are very likely to bite you on the 4rse later on :(
To be sure that it is in a reliable state I would also recommend compiling the database completely before continuing. This will highlight any errors in the code that it discovers can't work. This is a very handy tool for finding and fixing errors.

Good luck with the task.
My nether regions are currently a little sore as I just discovered some more problems related to a database upgrade I did recently to A2K (And I did compile and test etc before releasing it).
I was hoping it wouldn't get to this stage, but in my recent experience, I had to comment out all offending code when I upgraded (I had to upgrade from 95 to 97 and then again on to 2K) and I only revisited the code to fix it all up when it was fully upgraded.
My problem was mainly due to CurrentDB not being liked by Access97. Access 2K liked it fine though so I just re-instated the lines when it got that far.
In your case you'll probably find that there's just a whole bunch of extraneous code which was just never tidied up properly (or at all). As the lady says - just comment it out unless and until you find you actually need it.
Feb 27 '07 #28
JamesDC
66 New Member
I've commented out that entire command176 block of code and now there are no errors on debugging. I'm going through the database now to determine if anything was hurt by doing this. So far everything is working fine...
Feb 27 '07 #29
NeoPa
32,569 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Glad to hear that James.
Upgrading can be a headache as you've found out, but after the learning curve things do settle down a bit. Of course taking over someone else's sloppy work is never fun - it's hard enough when they are relatively tidy.
Feb 27 '07 #30

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

0
313
by: Peter Otten | last post by:
QOTW: "With only one historian, there are no errors, everything written becomes fact." - Raymond Hettinger about Brett Cannon as the author of the python-dev summary "ode runs in the scope it was *defined* in, not the scope it is invoked in." - Jp Calderone Dan Bishop posts a string-to-date conversion oneliner for Martin Bless. http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=ad052e5c.0407201114.71ba95a0%40posting.google.com
3
1714
by: Serge Rielau | last post by:
Hi SQL Procedure developers, As threatened in earlier posts the SQL PL Tracing facility is finally oot-and-aboot. SQL procedure tracing: Analyzing SQL procedure flow This article describes an API that allows for transparent tracing of SQL procedures as well as explicit tracing of non-SQL procedures in DB2 Universal Database (UDB) V8.2 for LUW. An example SQL interface to this API is provided, as well.
4
6484
by: Nikhil Patel | last post by:
Hi all, I am a VB6 programmer and learning C#. I am currently reading a chapter on types. I have question regarding enums. Why do we need to convert enum members to the value that they represent? Thanks in advance... -Nikhil
5
3188
by: Stig | last post by:
I would like to output the sequence of method calls from a running c# applcaition, but I don't want to add Debug.trace calls at the entry and exit points in each an every methods. Does there exist a c# profiler which can profile and then log the sequence of function calls automatically? regards Stig Nielsson
6
1659
by: serge calderara | last post by:
Dear all, I have an applicatin that generate a querry to an SQL server, then display results on a second webform. I try to see how tracing works, then I have notice that as soon as I implement tracing on the page, when I click on the BACK button of explorer I get a warning message that information of the page needs to be resend to be displayed ?
2
1757
by: deepukutty | last post by:
Hi all, I know tht we can do tracing in two ways.one in application level and the other is at Page level. I am able to see the details of trace either on the page itself or .../trace.axd page. I want to use maximum out of the available trace details . or let me put it like this.... tell me the actual scenario's where these trace details will be use ful and
0
1365
by: cnys | last post by:
We have an ASP.NET 2.0 (C#) app and we're trying to add tracing into it. The tracing functionality within .NET is great, but when we output this to a file, it's kind of sparse. So, we're looking for ideas on how to get more tracing info. output to our log file than what's currently output by calling the Write methods. Here are some snippets of what we're thinking of:
1
1740
by: Carlos Martinez | last post by:
Hi all: I want to know how can I trace an address. I don't need the conversion from an integral type to string. Suppose I have an "asString" function that do that conversion. My main problem is that code must compile for 2 compilers and 2 Operating Systems. I cannot assume the size of pointers to have 4, 8, ... bytes.
3
3969
by: prakashwadhwani | last post by:
I have just been asked to port an Access 97 app from an old Pentium 3 to a new Pentium Core-2-Duo PC. On the new PC, Office 2003 is installed. On opening the database, Access provided me with an option to convert the database which I did. However, there are a couple of small issues. For one, there were a couple of conversion errors which it stored in a conversion errors table (saying it could not find the field "description").
0
8608
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language synchronization. With a Microsoft account, language settings sync across devices. To prevent any complications,...
0
9029
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that captivates audiences and drives business growth. The Art of Business Website Design Your website is...
0
7732
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then launch it, all on its own.... Now, this would greatly impact the work of software developers. The idea...
1
6522
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new presenter, Adolph Dupré who will be discussing some powerful techniques for using class modules. He will explain when you may want to use classes instead of User Defined Types (UDT). For example, to manage the data in unbound forms. Adolph will...
0
5860
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert into image. Globals.ThisAddIn.Application.ActiveDocument.Select();...
0
4370
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in the same network. But I'm wondering if it's possible to do the same thing, with 2 Pfsense firewalls...
0
4619
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
1
3050
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
3
2006
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating effective websites that not only look great but also perform exceptionally well. In this comprehensive...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.