473,569 Members | 2,752 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

SubForm Filter based on Combo box (List box) Multiselects

3 New Member
Hi All,

I'm a newbie in terms of Access and some of its functionality . I've been stuck on this problem for a couple days, even after searching the Web, etc.

Currently I have five combo boxes (actually list boxes) that are multiselects in my main form. I need to use these combo boxes to filter a subform within my main form.

My combo boxes are as follows:
1. A - 4 select options
2. B - 10 select options
3. C - 4 select options
4. D - 3 select options
5. E - 4 select options

My subform is a listing of all the possible combinations of these select options (therefore there are 4 x 10 x 4 x 3 x 4 records).

I am having trouble understanding how to link these unbound list boxes to the subform to make the filter work once a user has selected their options from the 5 combo boxes.

Case example:
If I select options 1, 2, and 3 from list box A, and option 2 from listbox B, C, D, and E; I would want the subform to filter based on this query:


SELECT * FROM TABLE WHERE
(A_id = 1 OR A_id = 2 OR A_id = 3) AND
B_id = 2 AND
C_id = 2 AND
D_id = 2 AND
E_id = 2;


I hope this makes sense. Can anyone please help me out on this one. I'd be indebted to you! I really appreciate it

Any help on which functions or what code to put and where to put it would be great!

Thanks,
Nate
Nov 13 '06 #1
9 15831
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP

Currently I have five combo boxes (actually list boxes) that are multiselects in my main form. I need to use these combo boxes to filter a subform within my main form.
Always refer to them as listboxes as the functionality is different and you will confuse the experts.


listboxes are as follows:
1. A - 4 select options
2. B - 10 select options
3. C - 4 select options
4. D - 3 select options
5. E - 4 select options

My subform is a listing of all the possible combinations of these select options (therefore there are 4 x 10 x 4 x 3 x 4 records).

I am having trouble understanding how to link these unbound list boxes to the subform to make the filter work once a user has selected their options from the 5 combo boxes.

Case example:
If I select options 1, 2, and 3 from list box A, and option 2 from listbox B, C, D, and E; I would want the subform to filter based on this query:


SELECT * FROM TABLE WHERE
(A_id = 1 OR A_id = 2 OR A_id = 3) AND
B_id = 2 AND
C_id = 2 AND
D_id = 2 AND
E_id = 2;
OK

I would create a command button (cmdFindRecords ) and put this code behind it.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1.  
  2. Private Sub cmdFindRecords_Click()
  3. Dim strWhere As String
  4. Dim iSelected As Variant
  5.  
  6.   strWhere = "(("
  7.   For Each iSelected In Me.ListBoxA_Name.ItemsSelected
  8.     strWhere = strWhere & "[A_id]=" & Me.ListBoxA_Name.ItemData(iSelected) & " OR "
  9.   Next iSelected
  10.  
  11.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  12.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 4) & ") AND ("
  13.  
  14.   For Each iSelected In Me.ListBoxB_Name.ItemsSelected
  15.     strWhere = strWhere & "[B_id]=" & Me.ListBoxB_Name.ItemData(iSelected) & " OR "
  16.   Next iSelected
  17.  
  18.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  19.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 4) & ") AND ("
  20.  
  21.   For Each iSelected In Me.ListBoxC_Name.ItemsSelected
  22.     strWhere = strWhere & "[C_id]=" & Me.ListBoxC_Name.ItemData(iSelected) & " OR "
  23.   Next iSelected
  24.  
  25.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  26.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 4) & ") AND ("
  27.  
  28.   For Each iSelected In Me.ListBoxD_Name.ItemsSelected
  29.     strWhere = strWhere & "[D_id]=" & Me.ListBoxD_Name.ItemData(iSelected) & " OR "
  30.   Next iSelected
  31.  
  32.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  33.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 4) & ") AND ("
  34.  
  35.   For Each iSelected In Me.ListBoxE_Name.ItemsSelected
  36.     strWhere = strWhere & "[E_id]=" & Me.ListBoxE_Name.ItemData(iSelected) & " OR "
  37.   Next iSelected
  38.  
  39.   ' remove last OR and close the both brackets
  40.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 4) & "))"
  41.  
  42.   Forms![MainFormName]![SubFormName].Form.RecordSource = "SELECT * FROM TableName WHERE " & strWhere & ";"
  43.   Me.SubFormName.Requery
  44.  
  45. End Sub
  46.  
  47.  
Nov 13 '06 #2
NeoPa
32,564 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I would do something very like that, except I feel that the IN() SQL function would work perfectly for ListBoxes, rather than the more complicated [X]=A OR [X]=B etc.
Although not usually used for a single itemed list, IN() will work correctly in that scenario too.
ComboBoxes would be different, but IN() is better for MULTISELECT ListBoxes.
BTW Congratulations on a clearly stated question.
Nov 13 '06 #3
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I would do something very like that, except I feel that the IN() SQL function would work perfectly for ListBoxes, rather than the more complicated [X]=A OR [X]=B etc.
Although not usually used for a single itemed list, IN() will work correctly in that scenario too.
ComboBoxes would be different, but IN() is better for MULTISELECT ListBoxes.
BTW Congratulations on a clearly stated question.
Good suggestion Adrian

Never thought of using IN

Mary
Nov 13 '06 #4
NeoPa
32,564 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
That's funny Mary.
I posted that a while back, and just in the last minute, I came across some code you posted for something similar which used a loop to create the comparison string - and IN() aswell.

The code may prove useful here too (Passing Multi-Select field parameters to a query).
Nov 13 '06 #5
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
That's funny Mary.
I posted that a while back, and just in the last minute, I came across some code you posted for something similar which used a loop to create the comparison string - and IN() aswell.

The code may prove useful here too (Passing Multi-Select field parameters to a query).
I can't remember what I did 5 minutes ago and and you want me to remember how I answered another question. AHH!!!

Mary

Nov 14 '06 #6
natwong
3 New Member
Thanks so much everyone! It helped a lot. I really appreciate all your help and advice. I tweaked it a little, but the basic gist really helped! Thanks a bunch.
Nov 16 '06 #7
NeoPa
32,564 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
It's always nice to have someone come back and let us know they've been helped.
Everybody likes to feel appreciated and, more importantly perhaps, we can consider a thread finished.
So thank you.
Nov 16 '06 #8
helenevans80
1 New Member
I've used the above code and tweeked it a little to allow the user to pick some list boxes to filter, but not others. (code posted below)

I get - 'run time error '5': Invalid procedure call or reference

I've had my head stuck in it for so long now, I'm not sure I could find the problem if it were staring me in the face. Any help would be much appreciated.

Expand|Select|Wrap|Line Numbers
  1. Private Sub Command113_Click()
  2. Dim strWhere As String
  3. Dim iSelected As Variant
  4.  
  5.   strWhere = "(("
  6.  
  7.  
  8.   For Each iSelected In Me.aclist.ItemsSelected
  9.   If Not IsNull(aclist) Then
  10.  strWhere = strWhere & "[Activity]=" & Me.aclist & ")"
  11.   End If
  12.   Next iSelected
  13.  
  14.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  15.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 1)
  16.   If Left(strWhere, 1) = Not Null And Me.Combo58 = Not Null Then
  17.   strWhere = strWhere & ")AND("
  18.   End If
  19.   For Each iSelected In Me.Combo58.ItemsSelected
  20.     If Not IsNull(Combo58) Then
  21.       strValues = strValues & "[Activity_theme]=" & Me.Combo58 & ")"
  22.  
  23.  End If
  24.  Next iSelected
  25.  
  26.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  27.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 1)
  28.  
  29.  
  30.    If Left(strWhere, 1) = Not Null And Me.Combo60 = Not Null Then
  31.   strWhere = strWhere & ")AND("
  32.   End If
  33.   For Each iSelected In Me.Combo60.ItemsSelected
  34.   If Not IsNull(Combo60) Then
  35.     strWhere = strWhere & "[Activity_group]=" & Me.Combo60 & ")"
  36.   End If
  37.   Next iSelected
  38.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  39.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 1)
  40.  
  41.    If Right(strWhere, 1) = ")" And Me.Scheme_gp = Not Null Then
  42.   strWhere = strWhere & ")AND("
  43.   End If
  44.   For Each iSelected In Me.Scheme_gp.ItemsSelected
  45.   If Not IsNull(Scheme_gp) Then
  46.     strWhere = strWhere & "[Scheme_group]=" & "[Forms]![rep]![Scheme_gp]" & ")"
  47.   End If
  48.  Next iSelected
  49.  
  50.   ' remove last OR, close the bracket and add AND with open bracket
  51.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 1)
  52.   If Right(strWhere, 1) = ")" And Me.Combo64 = Not Null Then
  53.   strWhere = strWhere & ")AND("
  54.   End If
  55.   For Each iSelected In Me.Combo64.ItemsSelected
  56.   If Not IsNull(Combo64) Then
  57.     strWhere = strWhere & "[CH_theme]=" & "[Forms]![rep]![Combo64]"
  58.   End If
  59.  Next iSelected
  60.  
  61.  
  62.   ' remove last OR and close the both brackets
  63.   strWhere = Left(strWhere, Len(strWhere) - 1) & ")"
  64.  
  65.   Forms![rep]![Master2].Form.RecordSource = "SELECT * FROM Master WHERE " & strWhere & ";"
  66.   Me.Master2.Requery
Oct 13 '08 #9
zahid hameed
1 New Member
i m greatful to you submitting this code i was wondering before watching this code i got idea from it and convert it to my own needs

thanks again
Aug 5 '10 #10

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

3
11092
by: Jason | last post by:
I am trying to filter records in a primary form based on records in related tables. The data in the related tables is being displayed in the primary form through subforms. To be more specific, I have a primary form named TestResults, which is connected to data in a table named TestResults. There are basically two other tables that are...
0
2346
by: CSDunn | last post by:
Hello, In Access ADP's that connect to SQL Server databases, any time I have a situation where I have a combo box in a main form that looks up a record in a subform, the subform record source has to be based on either a View or a Table. I can almost always use a View, and it helps to do this since I can have better control over the size of...
3
4488
by: Nicolae Fieraru | last post by:
Hi All, I have a problem and I can't figure out how to solve it. My database has three tables: tblCustomers, with CustomerId and CustomerName tblProducts, with ProductId and ProductCode tblPurchases, with PurchaseId, CustomerId and ProductId I created a form with a subform which shows all the customers, one at a time
1
2279
by: MLH | last post by:
I have a form with a subform control on it listing records returned by a saved query named UnbilledVehicles. I would like to put command buttons on the main form to apply dynamic filters to the records displayed in the subform control. Say, for instance, to list only 2004 model cars. I'm seeking the simplest approach. The main form is...
9
9674
by: Ecohouse | last post by:
I have a main form with two subforms. The first subform has the child link to the main form identity key. subform1 - Master Field: SK Child Field: TrainingMasterSK The second subform has a master-child link to the first subform. subform2 - Master Field: subTrainingModule.Form!TrainingModuleTopicSK Child Field: TrainingModuleTopicSK
4
2898
by: virtualgreek | last post by:
Dear All, First of all I would like to take the time to thank you all for your efforts and time spent at this wonderful forum. I have found it very helpful with numerous examples available for every level of user. I am facing a rather weird behaviour with a combo box on a subform (Continuous form). I have two tables. Order and...
1
2857
by: kinglioness | last post by:
Hello All, I am new to this forum so I apologize if this quesiton was asked already. Although i did search but i couldn't find. I have 2 combo boxes one unbound and the other bound they are on the main form. One (combo box) filters the other. I would like for both boxes to filter the subforms which by the way are on tab controls I have 8...
4
5198
WyvsEyeView
by: WyvsEyeView | last post by:
I am doing the very standard thing of filtering the contents of one combo box based on another combo box. I've done it many times, but always on a main form. Now I'm trying to do it on a datasheet subform and it is not working. After making the selection in the first combo box, when I move to the second combo box, I get the Access input parameters...
1
6784
by: woodey2002 | last post by:
Hi Everyone and many thanks for your time.. I am trying to begin access and a bit of VBA i am enjoying it but I have a annoying problem I just can’t get any where on. My databse mostly includes bits of code for different examples. I have one last thing to finish. I am trying to create a search form that will allow users to select criteria from...
0
7694
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However, people are often confused as to whether an ONU can Work As a Router. In this blog post, we’ll explore What is ONU, What Is Router, ONU & Router’s main...
0
7609
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can effortlessly switch the default language on Windows 10 without reinstalling. I'll walk you through it. First, let's disable language...
0
7921
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. ...
0
8118
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that...
0
7964
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each protocol has its own unique characteristics and advantages, but as a user who is planning to build a smart home system, I am a bit confused by the...
0
6278
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then...
0
5217
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert...
0
3651
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in...
0
936
bsmnconsultancy
by: bsmnconsultancy | last post by:
In today's digital era, a well-designed website is crucial for businesses looking to succeed. Whether you're a small business owner or a large corporation in Toronto, having a strong online presence can significantly impact your brand's success. BSMN Consultancy, a leader in Website Development in Toronto offers valuable insights into creating...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.