473,520 Members | 13,430 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
+ Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Interop.ADODB errors

I suddendly got a ton of errors regarding Interop.ADODB could not be found.
Whenever I tried to run the app in development environment, the following
errors appeared:
The dependency 'Interop.ADODB' could not be found.

The referenced component 'ADODB1' could not be found. A wrapper assembly is
not registered for this type library.

this go on until ADODB96

The referenced component 'ADODB96' could not be found. A wrapper assembly is
not registered for this type library.

What am I missing and how can I fix it?
Thanks a million.

Bill
Mar 20 '06 #1
3 7315
Hi Bill,

ADODB is COM based and since you are using it on .NET, and Interop assembly
is needed, which is generated when you add a COM reference.

BTW, why aren´t you using the native ADO.NET (System.Data namespace)
instead?

--

Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio
You can code, design and document much faster:
http://www.mztools.com
"Bill Nguyen" <bi*****************@jaco.com> escribió en el mensaje
news:uq**************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
I suddendly got a ton of errors regarding Interop.ADODB could not be found.
Whenever I tried to run the app in development environment, the following
errors appeared:
The dependency 'Interop.ADODB' could not be found.

The referenced component 'ADODB1' could not be found. A wrapper assembly
is not registered for this type library.

this go on until ADODB96

The referenced component 'ADODB96' could not be found. A wrapper assembly
is not registered for this type library.

What am I missing and how can I fix it?
Thanks a million.

Bill

Mar 21 '06 #2
Because I need to access Informix SE 7.2. Unless I can use ADO.NET with
Informix SE, I still have to cling to ADODB!

Thanks for your help.

Bill

"Carlos J. Quintero [VB MVP]" <ca*****@NOSPAMsogecable.com> wrote in message
news:Or**************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
Hi Bill,

ADODB is COM based and since you are using it on .NET, and Interop
assembly is needed, which is generated when you add a COM reference.

BTW, why aren´t you using the native ADO.NET (System.Data namespace)
instead?

--

Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio
You can code, design and document much faster:
http://www.mztools.com
"Bill Nguyen" <bi*****************@jaco.com> escribió en el mensaje
news:uq**************@TK2MSFTNGP11.phx.gbl...
I suddendly got a ton of errors regarding Interop.ADODB could not be
found. Whenever I tried to run the app in development environment, the
following errors appeared:
The dependency 'Interop.ADODB' could not be found.

The referenced component 'ADODB1' could not be found. A wrapper assembly
is not registered for this type library.

this go on until ADODB96

The referenced component 'ADODB96' could not be found. A wrapper assembly
is not registered for this type library.

What am I missing and how can I fix it?
Thanks a million.

Bill


Mar 22 '06 #3
Hi Bill,

There should be .NET Data providers for Informix (not sure about the
supported versions)
http://www-306.ibm.com/software/data.../csdk_281.html

--

Best regards,

Carlos J. Quintero

MZ-Tools: Productivity add-ins for Visual Studio
You can code, design and document much faster:
http://www.mztools.com
"Bill Nguyen" <bi*****************@jaco.com> escribió en el mensaje
news:eM**************@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
Because I need to access Informix SE 7.2. Unless I can use ADO.NET with
Informix SE, I still have to cling to ADODB!

Thanks for your help.

Bill

Mar 22 '06 #4

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

4
9302
by: KLomax | last post by:
I have a VB6 com object that uses ADO 2.1 for data access. I have referenced this object in a aspx application. It works fine on my local development machine. On our staging server, it errors when trying to instantiate the com object. This object runs fine in another asp application on the same box, so it is not the object itself. I am...
0
1283
by: SA | last post by:
I am trying to understand the following probem I am having with C# code trying to access a COM object with return type object. Actually it can be recreated as follows: Create a VB6 COM dll with a method as follows: Public Function TestCSharp(ByVal sObjectName As String) As Object If sObjectName <> "" Then Set TestCSharp =...
0
2196
by: Allan Ebdrup | last post by:
Using a completely cleat dotNet application project in VS, I have a COM component that I want to add a reference to, when I add the reference I get the error: --- A reference to 'SACVBusinessObjects' could not be added. Converting the type library to a .Net assembly failed. A dependent type library 'ADODB' could not be converted to a .Net...
0
3523
by: ASP.Confused | last post by:
The old message looked a little stale, so I am re-posting it here. Anybody have any ideas of what I could do?!? The previous responses to this question are below. If you want to look at the original question, the subject line is: ADODB.NET and "Access Denied" I have an ASP.NET page writtein in VB that uses ADODB. I just had to
8
3398
by: Rob Edwards | last post by:
When trying to add the Microsoft CDO for Exchange Management Library (aka CDOEXM.dll) I receive the following message: "A reference to 'Microsoft CDO for Exchange Management Library' could not be added. Converting the type library to a .Net assembly failed. A depended type library 'CDO' could not be converted to a .NET assembly. A dependent...
3
5412
by: Lance Geeck | last post by:
I sent this yesterday, but it hasn't made it into the news group, so I am re-sending it. The first one will probably showup 2 seconds after I hit the send button. Anyway, I am new to .net and am trying to convert a VB6 project. When I do a build, I get the following error: "The dependency "Interop.ADODB" could not be found." I can't...
2
1401
by: Mr. B | last post by:
VB.net... working with a MS Access db file. For no good reason, I'm suddenly getting the following message on my application: ---> The dependency 'Interop.ADODB' could not be found. Very little is found on the Internet on a Google search. But sounds like there is something to do with MDAC ?
4
1915
by: R. Rajesh Jeba Anbiah | last post by:
If you're working in PHP 5 and used APD, phpDocumentor, PHPMailer & ADODB, you might be knowing that these projects are not maintained and the old codes are throwing bunch of errors in higher error levels. Anyone knows of any forks for these projects or any alternatives? TIA -- <?php echo 'Just another PHP saint'; ?> Email:...
5
8429
by: muriwai | last post by:
Hi, I have a C# assembly project under Visual Stuio 2008 Pro on Windows Server 2008. I converted the project from VS 2005. The project references COM->Microsoft CDO for Windows 2000 Library 1.0, which adds two entries under References called CDO and ADODB. When I compile the solution, I get the following: Error 1 Assembly 'Interop.CDO,...
0
7457
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers, it seems that the internal comparison operator "<=>" tries to promote arguments from unsigned to signed. This is as boiled down as I can make it. ...
0
7620
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven tapestry of website design and digital marketing. It's not merely about having a website; it's about crafting an immersive digital experience that...
1
7195
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows Update option using the Control Panel or Settings app; it automatically checks for updates and installs any it finds, whether you like it or not. For...
0
5761
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing, and deployment—without human intervention. Imagine an AI that can take a project description, break it down, write the code, debug it, and then...
0
4802
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and then checking html paragraph one by one. At the time of converting from word file to html my equations which are in the word document file was convert...
0
3295
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The last exercise I practiced was to create a LAN-to-LAN VPN between two Pfsense firewalls, by using IPSEC protocols. I succeeded, with both firewalls in...
0
3292
by: adsilva | last post by:
A Windows Forms form does not have the event Unload, like VB6. What one acts like?
0
1672
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated we have to send another system
1
850
muto222
by: muto222 | last post by:
How can i add a mobile payment intergratation into php mysql website.

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.