469,336 Members | 6,027 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,336 developers. It's quick & easy.

Installation:VB.NET V 6 & 7 on 2 different XPPro SP2 HW platforms

I need to install (for a developer associate. I am NOT a developer)VB.NET
versions 6 & 7 on two dissimilar hardware platforms, both running Windows XP
Professional with Service Pack 2. Both are Dell platforms. One is a laptop.
One is a tower.

1. Does the "default" install suffice in most cases?
2. Are there any caveats or pitfalls to watch out for?
3. What factors affect the performance of both versions cohabiting with the
SAME operating system on two different platforms.
4. Is it necessary to disable Antivirus software or other TSR's to do the
install gracefully?
5. Any other wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Nov 22 '05 #1
3 2066
There is no VB.NET 6. Only VB6, which has nothing to do with VB.NET. There
is also two version of VB.NET: 2002 and 2003 (MS call them internally VB7.0
and VB7.1, which makes lot of VB5/6 develpers angry). Having that said,
though, you can install VB6, VB.NET2002 and VB.NET2003 all in a single box.
The operating system should be Win2K or later for VB.NET. Since you are
setting it on different computer, I do not see any problem, except it takes
quite long to install VS.NET if the computer is slower than 1Ghz on CPU.

"Gary B. Levy" <Gary B. Le**@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:53**********************************@microsof t.com...
I need to install (for a developer associate. I am NOT a developer)VB.NET
versions 6 & 7 on two dissimilar hardware platforms, both running Windows XP Professional with Service Pack 2. Both are Dell platforms. One is a laptop. One is a tower.

1. Does the "default" install suffice in most cases?
2. Are there any caveats or pitfalls to watch out for?
3. What factors affect the performance of both versions cohabiting with the SAME operating system on two different platforms.
4. Is it necessary to disable Antivirus software or other TSR's to do the
install gracefully?
5. Any other wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

Nov 22 '05 #2
Hi,

When installing VS.net on my laptop, I am geting error on CD #3
"Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory".

I disables all services.. Only 3 were left windows installer, DCOM/RPC
services aling with Windows Installer....

This si my home laptop.. There are 2 users..Both have administrator
privileges...
Please HELP....

Rama

Below is the error log:
[01/22/05,23:11:41] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:11:42] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:19:26] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:19:28] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ACTION FAILURE: Action ended 23:19:28: InstallFinalize. Return
value 3. See MSI log for details.
[01/22/05,23:22:35] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ACTION FAILURE: Action ended 23:22:35: INSTALL. Return value 3. See
MSI log for details.
[01/22/05,23:22:38] setup.exe: [2] ISetupComponent::Pre/Post/Install()
failed in ISetupManager::InstallManagerHelper()
[01/22/05,23:22:38] setup.exe: [2] Component error string not specified
in ISetupManager::AddToActionResultCollection()

Nov 22 '05 #3
Regarding instalattion of VS.NET, it is very sensitive. I had problem to
install it on my box. The installing process always stopped at different
stages, reporting either cannot read something and cannot write something.
And later I read a post on the net somewhere, saying not only anti-virus
process may hind VS.NET's installation, but also does spyware. I realized my
box was not cleaned enough (place Win2K on for more than 3 years and
installed/uninstalled so many different programs, downloaded lot of garbage,
got lot of popups...). So I decided reformat the disk and do a clean
installation. Then, VS.NET installation went smoothly without any problem.
Hopefully, this is the last option you'd like to try.

<rs*****@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@z14g2000cwz.googlegr oups.com...
Hi,

When installing VS.net on my laptop, I am geting error on CD #3
"Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory".

I disables all services.. Only 3 were left windows installer, DCOM/RPC
services aling with Windows Installer....

This si my home laptop.. There are 2 users..Both have administrator
privileges...
Please HELP....

Rama

Below is the error log:
[01/22/05,23:11:41] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:11:42] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:19:26] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ERROR: Error 1310.Error writing to file:
Microsoft.VisualStudio.VCProject.dll. Verify that you have access to
that directory.
[01/22/05,23:19:28] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ACTION FAILURE: Action ended 23:19:28: InstallFinalize. Return
value 3. See MSI log for details.
[01/22/05,23:22:35] Visual Studio .NET Enterprise Architect - English:
[2] ACTION FAILURE: Action ended 23:22:35: INSTALL. Return value 3. See
MSI log for details.
[01/22/05,23:22:38] setup.exe: [2] ISetupComponent::Pre/Post/Install()
failed in ISetupManager::InstallManagerHelper()
[01/22/05,23:22:38] setup.exe: [2] Component error string not specified
in ISetupManager::AddToActionResultCollection()

Nov 22 '05 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

16 posts views Thread by Nanoscalesoft | last post: by
reply views Thread by Roger Stenson | last post: by
1 post views Thread by InBiz_Dev | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Eric Fortin | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Robert | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by scottgamble | last post: by
reply views Thread by YellowFin Announcements | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by bray | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by zhoujie | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Marylou17 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.