470,620 Members | 1,703 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 470,620 developers. It's quick & easy.

Autostart DB2 v9 on Linux

I want to thank all of you that have answered my earlier questions, thanks.

New problems though. The database doesn't start with the operating system
and I can't find out how it does that on the other server. Can't find
anything in the rc-files that seems to apply so I figure that there's some
kind of magic involved ;-)

The second question is why I have to re-apply the licence every time I
restart the dbm? Shouldn't it be enough to do a db2licm -a *.lic once?
The operating system is Fedora* core 6 with DB2 9 WSE.

*) I really wanted Red Hat 4 AS but since Red Hat Sweden after two weeks
still can't give me an answer about the Academic Edition (that we already
have two of btw) I just couldn't wait any longer.

--

Mvh

/RE
Nov 6 '06 #1
6 9474
Have you tried db2iauto ? According to the manual :
db2iauto - Auto-start Instance Command
Enables or disables the auto-start of an instance after each system
restart. This command is available on UNIX-based systems only.
check the syntax here
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infoce.../v8//index.jsp , search
for "db2iauto"
and answer on your second question , no license is applied once ....

/RK

Nov 6 '06 #2
ka******@hotmail.com wrote in news:1162814509.191126.314250
@h48g2000cwc.googlegroups.com:
Have you tried db2iauto ? According to the manual :
db2iauto - Auto-start Instance Command
Enables or disables the auto-start of an instance after each system
restart.
Thank you. That did the trick.
and answer on your second question , no license is applied once ....
That's what I thought. Unfortunatelly if I run db2stop and then db2start
it will tell me that there's no valid license:

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2stop
SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2start
ADM12026W The DB2 server has detected that a valid license for this
product has not been registered.
SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ db2licm -a db2wse.lic

LIC1402I License added successfully.
LIC1426I This product is now licensed for use as specified in the
License Agreement and License Information documents pertaining to the
licensed copy of this product. USE OF THE PRODUCT CONSTITUTES ACCEPTANCE
OF THE TERMS OF THE IBM LICENSE AGREEMENT AND LICENSE INFORMATION
DOCUMENTS, LOCATED IN THE FOLLOWING DIRECTORY:
"/opt/ibm/db2/V9.1/license/en_US.iso88591"

[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ db2licm -l
Product name: "DB2 Workgroup Server Edition"
License type: "License not registered"
Expiry date: "License not registered"
Product identifier: "db2wse"
Version information: "9.1"
Max number of CPUs: "4"
Max amount of memory (GB): "16"
Annotation: "1;(_b)"

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2stop
SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2start
ADM12026W The DB2 server has detected that a valid license for this
product has not been registered.
SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.

And so on...

Every other version I've installed before have worked just fine. Why is
this one giving me all these problems? Oh well..

--

Mvh

/RE
Nov 6 '06 #3
Ok, where are the license file ? run db2licm -g to generate a
compliance report
/Roger

Nov 6 '06 #4
ka******@hotmail.com wrote in news:1162823383.974147.249370
@h48g2000cwc.googlegroups.com:
Ok, where are the license file ?
Where I unpacked the file downloaded from IBM:

[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ locate db2wse.lic
/dl/DB2_9.1/Linux_x86-64/DB2_WSE/db2/license/db2wse.lic

run db2licm -g to generate a compliance report
[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ db2licm -g compliance.txt

LIC1440I License compliance report generated successfully.
[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ cat compliance.txt

ADM12026W The DB2 server has detected that a valid license for
this product has not been registered.

Explanation:

Registration of a valid license key is required in order to
comply with the terms and conditions of your License Agreement.
The license keys for this product are located on this product's
media in the 'license' directory.

User Response:

Use DB2 License Center or db2licm command line utility to
register the appropriate licenses that you have purchased. The
License Agreement text is located in the 'license' directory in
the installation directory of this product.
[db2inst1@norrbo license]$
(The server has 2 dual core Xeon and 8 Gb of RAM)

--

Mvh

/RE
Nov 6 '06 #5
Roger Eriksson wrote:
ka******@hotmail.com wrote in news:1162814509.191126.314250
@h48g2000cwc.googlegroups.com:
>and answer on your second question , no license is applied once ....

That's what I thought. Unfortunatelly if I run db2stop and then db2start
it will tell me that there's no valid license:

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2stop
SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2start
ADM12026W The DB2 server has detected that a valid license for this
product has not been registered.
SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ db2licm -a db2wse.lic

LIC1402I License added successfully.
LIC1426I This product is now licensed for use as specified in the
License Agreement and License Information documents pertaining to the
licensed copy of this product. USE OF THE PRODUCT CONSTITUTES ACCEPTANCE
OF THE TERMS OF THE IBM LICENSE AGREEMENT AND LICENSE INFORMATION
DOCUMENTS, LOCATED IN THE FOLLOWING DIRECTORY:
"/opt/ibm/db2/V9.1/license/en_US.iso88591"

[db2inst1@norrbo license]$ db2licm -l
Product name: "DB2 Workgroup Server Edition"
License type: "License not registered"
Expiry date: "License not registered"
Product identifier: "db2wse"
Version information: "9.1"
Max number of CPUs: "4"
Max amount of memory (GB): "16"
Annotation: "1;(_b)"

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2stop
SQL1064N DB2STOP processing was successful.

[db2inst1@norrbo ~]$ db2start
ADM12026W The DB2 server has detected that a valid license for this
product has not been registered.
SQL1063N DB2START processing was successful.

And so on...

Every other version I've installed before have worked just fine. Why is
this one giving me all these problems? Oh well..
Because the licensing for v9 has changed dramatically. With your WSE CD,
you should also have received a license CD to go along with it. There will
be a db2/license directory there with the license to install to convert
your install into a permanent license. I can't tell you the name of it
because there is more than one permanent license for WSE.

Nov 6 '06 #6
I just wanted to thank you all for the your help.

All my troubles that I've encountered this far solved themselves when I
threw out Fedora core 6 and installed Red Hat AS 4 instead.

I realised that I could move the RH license from the old DB-server to the
new one which solved the problem with the updates to the OS.

I might be back in the future though, with new questions ;-)

--

Mvh

/RE
Nov 7 '06 #7

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

10 posts views Thread by Bill Medland | last post: by
1 post views Thread by timtos | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Dica | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by cranium.2003 | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Joh | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Ultrak The DBA | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.