473,467 Members | 1,992 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Create Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

what is the easiest way to allow .net component used by non dot net programs?

jg
COM interop by using class template?
Can a vbscript program use it through createobject...etc.

Would the component have to be registered in GAC by admin? or would it be
suffice to register the power user running the vbs with the component.dll
and type lib in the same directory with the vbs files?
Nov 17 '05 #1
4 1340
jg,

COM interop is the easiest way.

If you need VB script to access this, then you will need to have the
ClassInterface attribute to the AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

The component doesn't HAVE to be registered in the GAC, but it makes it
MUCH easier for COM interop to find it if it is in the GAC.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
COM interop by using class template?
Can a vbscript program use it through createobject...etc.

Would the component have to be registered in GAC by admin? or would it be
suffice to register the power user running the vbs with the component.dll
and type lib in the same directory with the vbs files?

Nov 17 '05 #2
jg
thank you very much for the quick response.

I am still new and green to dot despite a lot of reading and searching on
MSDN

Can you point me to some example on ClassInterface attribute to the
AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

It sound like I need more than just using system.interop.... for my .net
class

"Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]" <mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com> wrote in
message news:Oy**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
jg,

COM interop is the easiest way.

If you need VB script to access this, then you will need to have the
ClassInterface attribute to the AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

The component doesn't HAVE to be registered in the GAC, but it makes it
MUCH easier for COM interop to find it if it is in the GAC.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
COM interop by using class template?
Can a vbscript program use it through createobject...etc.

Would the component have to be registered in GAC by admin? or would it be
suffice to register the power user running the vbs with the component.dll
and type lib in the same directory with the vbs files?


Nov 17 '05 #3
jg,

Check out the section of the .NET framework documentation titled
"Exposing .NET Framework Components to COM" for more information and example
on how to expose your components to COM:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...nentstocom.asp
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:O6**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
thank you very much for the quick response.

I am still new and green to dot despite a lot of reading and searching on
MSDN

Can you point me to some example on ClassInterface attribute to the
AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

It sound like I need more than just using system.interop.... for my .net
class

"Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]" <mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com> wrote
in message news:Oy**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
jg,

COM interop is the easiest way.

If you need VB script to access this, then you will need to have the
ClassInterface attribute to the AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

The component doesn't HAVE to be registered in the GAC, but it makes
it MUCH easier for COM interop to find it if it is in the GAC.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
COM interop by using class template?
Can a vbscript program use it through createobject...etc.

Would the component have to be registered in GAC by admin? or would it
be suffice to register the power user running the vbs with the
component.dll and type lib in the same directory with the vbs files?



Nov 17 '05 #4
jg
thank you very much
"Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]" <mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com> wrote in
message news:eZ**************@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
jg,

Check out the section of the .NET framework documentation titled
"Exposing .NET Framework Components to COM" for more information and
example on how to expose your components to COM:

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...nentstocom.asp
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:O6**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
thank you very much for the quick response.

I am still new and green to dot despite a lot of reading and searching on
MSDN

Can you point me to some example on ClassInterface attribute to the
AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

It sound like I need more than just using system.interop.... for my .net
class

"Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]" <mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com> wrote
in message news:Oy**************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
jg,

COM interop is the easiest way.

If you need VB script to access this, then you will need to have the
ClassInterface attribute to the AutoDispatch or AutoDual value from the
ClassInterfaceType enumeration.

The component doesn't HAVE to be registered in the GAC, but it makes
it MUCH easier for COM interop to find it if it is in the GAC.

Hope this helps.
--
- Nicholas Paldino [.NET/C# MVP]
- mv*@spam.guard.caspershouse.com

"jg" <ju**@mail.pls> wrote in message
news:%2****************@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
COM interop by using class template?
Can a vbscript program use it through createobject...etc.

Would the component have to be registered in GAC by admin? or would it
be suffice to register the power user running the vbs with the
component.dll and type lib in the same directory with the vbs files?



Nov 17 '05 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

137
by: Philippe C. Martin | last post by:
I apologize in advance for launching this post but I might get enlightment somehow (PS: I am _very_ agnostic ;-). - 1) I do not consider my intelligence/education above average - 2) I am very...
7
by: Dan V. | last post by:
Situation: I have to connect with my Windows 2000 server using VS.NET 2003 and C# and connect to a remote Linux server at another company's office and query their XML file. Their file may be...
9
by: Avi Nahir | last post by:
Hi all, I'm developing a C# .Net Windows Forms application, and am trying to "host" mshtml. Observing ItWriting control (http://www.itwriting.com/htmleditor/index.php), I saw it implements...
13
by: Kyle Adams | last post by:
I don't know where is the right place to ask this so I will start here. Can someone explain to me what these represent? I think they all have to do with the middleware level, but I really don't...
5
by: gel | last post by:
Hi I have written a python client server app that keeps an eye on processes starting and ending on a client and makes decision on what to do based on information from the server end. I want to...
17
by: Petyr David | last post by:
Just looking for the simplest. right now my perl script returns an error messge to the user if the date string is invalid. would like to do this before accessing the server. TX
20
by: raylopez99 | last post by:
Dvorak is always interesting, albeit speculative. What hidden gem has he found in Vista that helps developers? It can't be .NET/CLI, that's been out forever. RL Vista rollout hides reality...
0
by: phopman | last post by:
I am currently working with Joomla, which is based on PHP. So I think that the question I have, might be a little on the side, but I also think that many PHP'ers out there, is working with Joomla,...
6
by: S_K | last post by:
Hi, I've been toying around with interfaces in C#. They are fun but can anybody give me some examples of where interfaces are used and what they are used for? Thanks so much. Steve
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
1
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
1
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...
0
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The...
0
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated ...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.