469,656 Members | 1,853 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,656 developers. It's quick & easy.

Visual Studio 2005 Beta 2 Installation problem.

Today I installed Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Beta 2 from the Visual
Studio Beta Experience Kit. After installing (which takes way to long)
when I open Visual Studio 2005 I only get a message box saying "A
problem was encountered loading the Microsoft Visual Studio menu.
Please run setup and select Repair". I did that and that took another
hour to install and I still got the same problem. Can't see any log
file or system event message describing the problem in greater detail
(Any useful error message would help me way more).

The installer had some problems with some additional products (like j#
or web components), but that happend for previous Beta 1 installers as
well and Visual Studio still worked. I had the Beta1 version installed,
then the December and then the February CTP versions (all those
versions got their own problems, but at least I got them started). I
uninstalled them, but maybe there are some wrong registry settings or
old files flying around causing this trouble.

Anyone any idea? Don't want to reinstall everything over and over when
I still got the same error every time.

Nov 17 '05 #1
3 1479

<Be***************@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11********************@o13g2000cwo.googlegrou ps.com...
Today I installed Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Beta 2 from the Visual
Studio Beta Experience Kit. After installing (which takes way to long)
when I open Visual Studio 2005 I only get a message box saying "A
problem was encountered loading the Microsoft Visual Studio menu.
Please run setup and select Repair". I did that and that took another
hour to install and I still got the same problem. Can't see any log
file or system event message describing the problem in greater detail
(Any useful error message would help me way more).

The installer had some problems with some additional products (like j#
or web components), but that happend for previous Beta 1 installers as
well and Visual Studio still worked. I had the Beta1 version installed,
then the December and then the February CTP versions (all those
versions got their own problems, but at least I got them started). I
uninstalled them, but maybe there are some wrong registry settings or
old files flying around causing this trouble.

Anyone any idea? Don't want to reinstall everything over and over when
I still got the same error every time.


Please post Beta2 issues/questions to one of the Forum at
http://forums.microsoft.com/msdn/

Willy.
Nov 17 '05 #2
If you had previous installs of Whidbey on the machine (say beta1) then you
need to run the cleanup tool so Beta2 will work. Check out this article for
more information.

http://blogs.msdn.com/astebner/archi...30/413764.aspx
--
Jared Parsons [MSFT]
ja******@online.microsoft.com
http://blogs.msdn.com/jaredpar
"This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights"
<Be***************@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11********************@o13g2000cwo.googlegrou ps.com...
Today I installed Microsoft Visual Studio 2005 Beta 2 from the Visual
Studio Beta Experience Kit. After installing (which takes way to long)
when I open Visual Studio 2005 I only get a message box saying "A
problem was encountered loading the Microsoft Visual Studio menu.
Please run setup and select Repair". I did that and that took another
hour to install and I still got the same problem. Can't see any log
file or system event message describing the problem in greater detail
(Any useful error message would help me way more).

The installer had some problems with some additional products (like j#
or web components), but that happend for previous Beta 1 installers as
well and Visual Studio still worked. I had the Beta1 version installed,
then the December and then the February CTP versions (all those
versions got their own problems, but at least I got them started). I
uninstalled them, but maybe there are some wrong registry settings or
old files flying around causing this trouble.

Anyone any idea? Don't want to reinstall everything over and over when
I still got the same error every time.

Nov 17 '05 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

6 posts views Thread by simon | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Jason Shohet | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Patrick Olurotimi Ige | last post: by
1 post views Thread by clkalluri | last post: by
reply views Thread by Nattydreadlock | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Mark Fitzpatrick | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.