473,414 Members | 1,772 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,414 software developers and data experts.

can't connect to sql server with domain users? Help....

Hello

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list

I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated

Thanks in advance

Reza
Nov 18 '05 #1
7 2737


----- Reza wrote: ----

Hello

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list

I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated

Thanks in advance

Rez
-------------
Just to clarify, I have updated the server and database name in the connection string.
Nov 18 '05 #2
are you sure that in the connection string the user is DOMAINNAME\USERNAME ?
have you tried by connection like this:

server=servername;database=databasename;Integrated Security=True

Regards,
Martin
"Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com...
Hello,

The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in the database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything
was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production
servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are
failing to connct to database, getting this message: "login failed for user 'username'"

I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered identically in the database user list.
I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a resolution will be greatly apreciated.
Thanks in advance,

Reza

Nov 18 '05 #3
Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username and
password
if you don't have query analizer try this:

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your server

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:AD**********************************@microsof t.com...
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but still
the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'!
----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

are you sure that in the connection string the user is DOMAINNAME\USERNAME ? have you tried by connection like this:

server=servername;database=databasename;Integrated Security=True

Regards,
Martin
"Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com...
> Hello,
>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in
the
database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase. Everything was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to the production servers - database server and web server. Following that all the users are failing to connct to database, getting this message:
> "login failed for user 'username'"
>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered
identically in the database user list. >> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a
resolution will be greatly apreciated. >> Thanks in advance,
>> Reza


Nov 18 '05 #4
Martin

I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same thing

Any idea

thanks
rez

----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----

Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username an
passwor
if you don't have query analizer try this

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d databas

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your serve

Regard
Marti

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in messag
news:AD**********************************@microsof t.com..
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name an without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but stil
the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
are you sure that in the connection string the user i DOMAINNAME\USERNAME have you tried by connection like this
server=servername;database=databasename;Integrated Security=Tru
Regards Marti "Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in messag news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com..
Hello
The project was working, where I had a domain user registered i

th database as a user, and I used that user to connect the datebase Everythin was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to th productio servers - database server and web server. Following that all th users ar failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'
I am getting the user with property identity and it is registere
identically in the database user list I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So
resolution wil be greatly apreciated Thanks in advance
Rez

Nov 18 '05 #5
Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add the
aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=True

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:EE**********************************@microsof t.com...
Martin,

I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I
changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same
thing!
Any idea?

thanks,
reza

----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your username and password
if you don't have query analizer try this:

osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database

if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to your server
Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:AD**********************************@microsof t.com...
> Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and
without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, but still the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'! >> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>> are you sure that in the connection string the user is
DOMAINNAME\USERNAME ?
> have you tried by connection like this:
>> server=servername;database=databasename;Integrated Security=True >> Regards,

> Martin
>>> "Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in message

> news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com...
>> Hello,
>>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in

the
> database as a user, and I used that user to connect the

datebase. Everything
> was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to
the production
> servers - database server and web server. Following that all
the users are
> failing to connct to database, getting this message:
>> "login failed for user 'username'"
>>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is registered

> identically in the database user list.
>>> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a

resolution will
> be greatly apreciated.
>>> Thanks in advance,
>>> Reza
>>>

Nov 18 '05 #6
Well I thought I had resolved this, but looks like this company's policy not allows sql authentication for the users, so I am back to step one.
It works for aspnet user, however, there is a fix list of people that will be able to access it, which they belong to a domain.
and looks like I get the same message, login failed for user 'username'
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----

Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add th
aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=Tru

Regard
Marti

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in messag
news:EE**********************************@microsof t.com..
Martin
I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it i complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this?
changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the sam
thing
Any idea
thanks rez
----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your usernam an passwor
if you don't have query analizer try this
osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d databas
if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication to you
serve Regard

Marti
"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in messag

news:AD**********************************@microsof t.com..
Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain nam

an without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated Security=True, bu stil the same problem - Login failed for user 'username' ----- Martin Marinov wrote: ----
are you sure that in the connection string the user i
DOMAINNAME\USERNAME
have you tried by connection like this
server=servername;database=databasename;Integrate Security=Tru Regards

Marti
"Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in messag

news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com..
Hello
The project was working, where I had a domain user registered i

th
database as a user, and I used that user to connect th

datebase Everythin
was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project t
th productio
servers - database server and web server. Following that al
th users ar
failing to connct to database, getting this message
"login failed for user 'username'
I am getting the user with property identity and it is registere

identically in the database user list
I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So

resolution wil
be greatly apreciated
Thanks in advance
Rez

Nov 18 '05 #7
If you can add these domain users to a domain group and then add rights for
this group and set the quthentication to be windows authentication

check if the group Domain Users has not been added with deny rights

Regards
Martin Mrinov

"Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:F3**********************************@microsof t.com...
Well I thought I had resolved this, but looks like this company's policy not allows sql authentication for the users, so I am back to step one. It works for aspnet user, however, there is a fix list of people that will be able to access it, which they belong to a domain. and looks like I get the same message, login failed for user 'username'?

----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----

Now when you change it to sql and windows authentication you have to add the aspnet user to the database and use Integrated Security=True

Regards
Martin

"Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:EE**********************************@microsof t.com...
> Martin,
>> I get the same message when I tried your suggestion. Looks like it is
complaining that there is not a secure connection. How do I do this? I changed the authenticaion to both, SQL and windows, but still the same thing!
>> Any idea?
>> thanks, > reza
>> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>> Have you tried to connect with sql query analizer with your
username and
> password
> if you don't have query analizer try this:
>> osql -U yourusername -P password -S servername -d database
>> if this is failed to than you don't have sql authentication
to your server >> Regards > Martin
>> "Reza" <an*******@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message

> news:AD**********************************@microsof t.com...
>> Yes, I tried both of these, but no luck. I tried with domain name and
> without. Tried the trusted connection, Integrated

Security=True, but still
> the same problem - Login failed for user 'username'!
>>> ----- Martin Marinov wrote: -----
>>> are you sure that in the connection string the user is

> DOMAINNAME\USERNAME ?
>> have you tried by connection like this:
>>> server=servername;database=databasename;Integrated

Security=True >>> Regards,
>> Martin
>>>> "Reza" <uw******@hotmail.com> wrote in message
>> news:B6**********************************@microsof t.com...
>>> Hello,
>>>> The project was working, where I had a domain user registered in

> the
>> database as a user, and I used that user to connect the

datebase.
> Everything
>> was fine and it was working, then when I moved the project to

the
> production
>> servers - database server and web server. Following that all

the
> users are
>> failing to connct to database, getting this message:
>>> "login failed for user 'username'"
>>>> I am getting the user with property identity and it is

registered >> identically in the database user list.
>>>> I am pretty much stuck and ran out of ideas to try. So a

> resolution will
>> be greatly apreciated.
>>>> Thanks in advance,
>>>> Reza
>>>>

Nov 18 '05 #8

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

1
by: KAM MAHONEK | last post by:
If you place an image of your server on a rebuilt server, rename it and change the SID. You get an error message “UNABLE TO CONNECT” when you use the SQL Query analyzer on a desktop computer to...
1
by: Amadelle | last post by:
Hi all, I am so desparately in need of some guidance! After two days of struggling I still can't connect to the Active Directory server. I have used so many different ways and so many different...
5
by: Kona | last post by:
Hello, Is it right to tell that DB2 Connect has the same function that Oracle Net ? If I have an ODBC application is it also right to tell that I have 2 possibilities on my client workstation to...
2
by: Mike MacSween | last post by:
FE on workstations/BE on server. W2K to W2K server. One of these users logs on to her local machine, not the domain (although the machine is networked and she has permissions). I'm not there now,...
11
by: ricolee99 | last post by:
Hi everyone, I'm trying to invoke my .exe application from a remote server. Here is the code: ManagementClass processClass = new ManagementClass ("\\\\" +"RemoteServerName" +...
3
by: Reza | last post by:
Hello I tried this friday, but didn't get anywhere so trying again Basically, I have a fixed list of people that can access the application in the Intranet, and with the policy of the company the...
6
by: TulasiKumar | last post by:
hi all, i have one requirement in my project.The requirement is i want to fix some domain sites in TcpIp like proxy servers behaviour.When ever end user passing the inforamtion of that domain...
6
by: scottyman | last post by:
I can't make this script work properly. I've gone as far as I can with it and the rest is out of my ability. I can do some html editing but I'm lost in the Java world. The script at the bottom of...
3
by: =?Utf-8?B?ZGF2aWQ=?= | last post by:
Last week I asked a question about connection to database from client machine (developer machine). I have changed the database security setup for "SQL Server and Windows" under (local)Windows NT...
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.