473,468 Members | 1,314 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Create Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Adding a date field to db

25 New Member
Hi all!

My database allows all employees to enter their time and get a report at any time. The first screen has a calendar which is locked to the last day of the pay period and that date is the only one currently in place. The user selects his/her name from a dropdown, clicks the calendar, then "Next" to get to the time input screen. There are combo boxes to select the cost code, project, and company name. Separate boxes are available for the number of hours worked Sunday thru Saturday, and the employee can input their time for each day on separate lines, if they choose to. This allows them to have a separate line for regular time, vacation hours, hours worked in different projects, etc. Most of our employees are exempt, but the salaried ones are needing a mechanism to enter the date in each line for all of their hours. With this need in mind, I put in three combo boxes based on three tables: tblMonth, tblDay, and tblYear. Problem is, when I select January, as an example, from cboMonth, all of the available lines are populated with January. The same thing occurs with cboDay and cboYear. I really can't figure out where I have gone wrong and would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance for whatever help anyone can render, and if you need to actually see the database, I will gladly send it.

Thanks!

Rio
Nov 7 '06 #1
27 2819
MMcCarthy
14,534 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Hi all!

My database allows all employees to enter their time and get a report at any time. The first screen has a calendar which is locked to the last day of the pay period and that date is the only one currently in place. The user selects his/her name from a dropdown, clicks the calendar, then "Next" to get to the time input screen. There are combo boxes to select the cost code, project, and company name. Separate boxes are available for the number of hours worked Sunday thru Saturday, and the employee can input their time for each day on separate lines, if they choose to. This allows them to have a separate line for regular time, vacation hours, hours worked in different projects, etc. Most of our employees are exempt, but the salaried ones are needing a mechanism to enter the date in each line for all of their hours. With this need in mind, I put in three combo boxes based on three tables: tblMonth, tblDay, and tblYear. Problem is, when I select January, as an example, from cboMonth, all of the available lines are populated with January. The same thing occurs with cboDay and cboYear. I really can't figure out where I have gone wrong and would appreciate any help.

Thanks in advance for whatever help anyone can render, and if you need to actually see the database, I will gladly send it.

Thanks!

Rio
What event code are you using on the combo boxes? Can you post it.
Nov 7 '06 #2
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
I did not write code, merely built from wizard. Sorry.

Rio
Nov 8 '06 #3
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
If you open the form in design view then select the controls (ComboBoxes; TextBoxes; etc) in order then look through the properties (There is a button on a toolbar or Alt-Enter should work equally well) look for any properties set to 'Event Procedure'. Where you find any, click on the elipsis box (little box with three '.'s (...)) on the right AFTER you select the property then copy the code found in that window.
Nov 8 '06 #4
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Well, here it is, everything found in the editor...


Private Sub cboMonth_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)

End Sub

Private Sub Form_Load()
Me.Calendar1.Value = [Forms]![frmTimesheet]![Date1]
End Sub

'Private Sub Label27_Click()

'DoCmd.OpenReport "rptTimesheetAARDEXNew", acPreview, "qryTimesheetSingleScreen"
'End Sub

'Private Sub Label36_Click()
'DoCmd.Close
'End Sub

Private Sub Label48_Click()
On Error GoTo Err_Command49_Click


DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 8, , acMenuVer70
DoCmd.DoMenuItem acFormBar, acEditMenu, 6, , acMenuVer70

Exit_Command49_Click:
Exit Sub

Err_Command49_Click:
MsgBox Err.Description
Resume Exit_Command49_Click
End Sub

Private Sub Project_BeforeUpdate(Cancel As Integer)

End Sub
Nov 8 '06 #5
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
Check the "Row Source" property for the combo boxes if this refers to your data table then it will show a list of records from the data table (i.e. if you have 15 january records january will be listed 15 times). If you used the wizard and selected the first option, on the first screen; "I want the combo box to lookup values in a table or Query" and then chose the table where you want the data to be stored that would have caused this to happen.

You need to either create a table called "months" and list the months and select this table when the wizard ask which table you want the values to come From, or select the second option on the first wizard screen. "I will type in the values I Want" and then list the months in the grid provided.

To save the value in the table make sure the "Control Source" for the form is set to the table you want to save your data in and the combos "control Source" property is set to tblMonth or whatever field you want to save to in the table.

It maky be easier to use a single date field instead of separtate Month, Day Year fields. With a Single date field you could use a calendar control for users to select the Date.
Nov 8 '06 #6
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Strange things happened when I tried the aforementioned solution, so I'm trying another, more logical way. If I put a calendar (MSCAL.Calendar.7) on the sheet so that if the employee clicks on the date it will populate a field. What is the code to connect it to a text box? This is the solution that was suggested.

Rio
Nov 8 '06 #7
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
Place a command button on the form with the calendar control and put this in the buttons On Click Event procedure:

Private Sub Command3_Click()

Me.Text1 = Me.Calendar0

End Sub

of course change the names to match your objects.
Nov 8 '06 #8
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Or you could put the same code in the AfterUpdate event of the calendar control perhaps, and save on the extra command button?
Nov 9 '06 #9
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Or you could put the same code in the AfterUpdate event of the calendar control perhaps, and save on the extra command button?
When I click on the calendar on the date I need, it puts it in every line. When I change it for the next line, all lines are populated by the new date and so on. I can send a screen shot if necessary.
Nov 9 '06 #10
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I think copying and pasting the code you're actually using would be more useful - to make sure everything is there and in the right place etc.
Nov 9 '06 #11
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
This is the code:


Private Sub Calendar1_Click()

WorkDate = Calendar1.Value

End Sub
Nov 9 '06 #12
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I should be a dentist ;) (private joke - please ignore)
What is 'WorkDate' and where is it defined.
Nov 9 '06 #13
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
I should be a dentist ;) (private joke - please ignore)
What is 'WorkDate' and where is it defined.

Is that because I'm being a pain? My life's work and I'm good at my job! ;)Anyway, WorkDate is a text box, the receptacle for the date from Calendar1. There is no code associated except:

Private Sub WorkDate_Click()

End Sub

Private Sub WorkDate_GotFocus()

End Sub


Rio
Nov 9 '06 #14
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
Question
In your Initial post you said you have multiple lines to enter employee time. On your form do the text boxes on each line link to the same "control source"?
i.e. do you have a Monday line with a date box with "Control Source" TblDate and the same for Tuesday etc.
Nov 9 '06 #15
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Question
In your Initial post you said you have multiple lines to enter employee time. On your form do the text boxes on each line link to the same "control source"?
i.e. do you have a Monday line with a date box with "Control Source" TblDate and the same for Tuesday etc.

Yes. Each line will enter that day's date, and as I said in the last post, I changed it from tblDay, tblMonth, and tblYear to a calendar on the form. A text box on each of the lines will populate with the date when you click on the calendar date. The problem is, that particular date will populate on each line, and as the date for each new line is inserted, the new, changed date then populates each line, i.e. click on the calendar for Monday, Nov. 6. and that date would be put in the text box on the first line. The next day, Nov. 7 click on the calendar and Nov. 7 would be would be put in the text box on that line and also in the text box for the previous line, replacing Nov. 6.

Thanks for your help!
Nov 9 '06 #16
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
If multiple text boxes on your form have the same control source that would cause what you described. A single form only shows one record at a time therefore regardless of the fact that you have multiple textboxes they are all looking at the same feild and record so when calendar or combos update one they all change. send me a screen shot of the design view of your form with a description of the underlying tables, I may be able to make a suggestion.
Nov 9 '06 #17
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Is that because I'm being a pain? My life's work and I'm good at my job! Anyway, ...
I like to see someone with pride in their accomplishments ;)
If the WorkDate control is a TextBox, then I'm confused.
I'm not a great expert on working with forms and all that, but I would have expected that to work on the current record only (as obviously you did).

BTW if your code is exactly as posted, then you have some empty event procedures in there. They can safely be deleted. They are entered automatically by Access as a type of template for code when you select them. Sometimes you just select them to look and don't want to add code. In that case the empty shells are redundant.

Sorry I couldn't be more help.
Nov 9 '06 #18
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
If multiple text boxes on your form have the same control source that would cause what you described. A single form only shows one record at a time therefore regardless of the fact that you have multiple textboxes they are all looking at the same feild and record so when calendar or combos update one they all change. send me a screen shot of the design view of your form with a description of the underlying tables, I may be able to make a suggestion.
Here it is...[IMG]C:\Documents and Settings\blee\Desktop\Screen shot.doc[/IMG]
Nov 9 '06 #19
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
That didn't display you can e-mail if you like.
Nov 9 '06 #20
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
That didn't display you can e-mail if you like.

Hopefully you have received the screen shots. Ignore the comment box that says the calendar is informational. I want it to be functional.
Nov 9 '06 #21
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
Some links don't work when first posted (many web links for instance).
I get around it by editing post immediately and saving with the 'Automatically parse links in text' option set.
Nov 9 '06 #22
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Some links don't work when first posted (many web links for instance).
I get around it by editing post immediately and saving with the 'Automatically parse links in text' option set.

Thanks! I actually tried that but my shots were too large even after I zipped them. Is that common?
Nov 9 '06 #23
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
Just to describe the form for others:
the form view is set to continuous forms so a user can enter multiple records into the time sheet. there is a calendar control in the form footer whose on click sets the work_date textbox in the detail section.

My previous comment of having multiple textboxes applied to a single form view. you have a continuous form view. The work_date text box is currently unbound.
so when calendar changes the date all work_dates in the detail section change since there is nothing to hold the value.
Once you set work_dates "control source" property to the field you want to store the date in, this will stop and the calendar will only reset the current records date.
Nov 9 '06 #24
NeoPa
32,556 Recognized Expert Moderator MVP
I thought I saw star quality.
MSeda - a credit to these forums.
Nov 9 '06 #25
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
Just to describe the form for others:
the form view is set to continuous forms so a user can enter multiple records into the time sheet. there is a calendar control in the form footer whose on click sets the work_date textbox in the detail section.

My previous comment of having multiple textboxes applied to a single form view. you have a continuous form view. The work_date text box is currently unbound.
so when calendar changes the date all work_dates in the detail section change since there is nothing to hold the value.
Once you set work_dates "control source" property to the field you want to store the date in, this will stop and the calendar will only reset the current records date.

What is the WorkDate control source? I sort of understand, but I need to bind the text box to the control source and I'm not sure what the control source is. It is the calendar but I'm a bit confused.
Nov 9 '06 #26
MSeda
159 Recognized Expert New Member
The Control Source is the field in the underlying table where the data is stored.
i.e. when you have a combo box named Task ID on your form when a user selects a task it saves there selection in the task ID column of the underlying table. if you open the properties menu for the task ID combo box on the data tab you will see "control source" says "task ID".
The Work Date text box on the form you sent me reads "Unbound" meaning it is not set to save the data anywhere. open the properties window for work date and set the control source to the appropriate feild in your table. you will find Control Source has a drop down list of all feilds in the source table or query. If you don't already have a date feild in the table you need to create one with a date/time data type before you can do this.
Nov 9 '06 #27
Rio Liaden
25 New Member
The Control Source is the field in the underlying table where the data is stored.
i.e. when you have a combo box named Task ID on your form when a user selects a task it saves there selection in the task ID column of the underlying table. if you open the properties menu for the task ID combo box on the data tab you will see "control source" says "task ID".
The Work Date text box on the form you sent me reads "Unbound" meaning it is not set to save the data anywhere. open the properties window for work date and set the control source to the appropriate feild in your table. you will find Control Source has a drop down list of all feilds in the source table or query. If you don't already have a date feild in the table you need to create one with a date/time data type before you can do this.

You know, MSeda, you are a credit to this forum. I needed a memory jog and you gave it to me. I have been so frustrated with other aspects of my job that I could not think. I have built many databases from scratch but unfortunately, I inherited this one. I did not go back to basics and therefore, sounded like an idiot on this forum. Forgive me. I did as you instructed, put in a WorkDate field (duh!) bound it and my form is doing exactly what I needed.

Thank you so much again and when my head settles back on my shoulders, believe it or not, I may one day be able to help you! Definetely not as much as you helped me, but hopefully a fraction!

Rio
Nov 9 '06 #28

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

11
by: Bobbak | last post by:
Hello All, I have these tables (lets call it ‘EmpCalls', ‘EmpOrders', and ‘Stats') that each contain the list of EmployeeIDs, I want to be able to create a Module in which I could call in my VB...
6
by: 6thirty | last post by:
Hi, I've created a stocktaking database using Access XP. This is indexed by two fields - part number and shelf location. I am currently inputting all the data via a form. When I have entered a...
5
by: hasanainf | last post by:
Hi, Need help on this report My report displays as follows Receipt Number Checkout Date Payment Date 13580 30-06-2005 02-07-2005 13581 01-07-2005 02-07-2005
3
by: Jim Heavey | last post by:
Trying to figure out the technique which should be used to add rows to a datagrid. I am thinking that I would want an "Add" button on the footer, but I am not quite sure how to do that. Is that...
0
by: wellery | last post by:
I'm trying to work out how to do this. So far I keep getting errors "Unable to find control ID..." What I've got is a datefield control which draws a calendar popup and a text field. I draw two...
5
by: GarryJones | last post by:
I have code numbers in 2 fields from a table which correspond to month and date. (Month, Code number) Field name = ml_mna 1 2 3 etc up to 12 (Data is entered without a leading zero)
2
by: dympna | last post by:
Hi can anyone suggest a fix for this... as I am a novice in access. I have created a training table with the following fields Employee Name - joe Training Received - Fork lift Date Received...
17
by: ginajohnst | last post by:
Hi All. I'm having a problem adding days to a date. My date is in the string format dd/mm/yyyy eg. 23/08/2007 in my form field. I can't work out how to add 50 days to that date and then...
3
by: Celal | last post by:
Hi, I couldn't get around a problem about decimal rounding up when adding a record to a table from a form by programming a button. I have an invoice form where the grand total is a calculated text...
1
by: swethak | last post by:
Hi, I am desiging the calendar application for that purpose i used the below code. But it is for only displys calendar. And also i want to add the events to calendar. In that code displys the...
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
0
tracyyun
by: tracyyun | last post by:
Dear forum friends, With the development of smart home technology, a variety of wireless communication protocols have appeared on the market, such as Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, etc. Each...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
0
by: conductexam | last post by:
I have .net C# application in which I am extracting data from word file and save it in database particularly. To store word all data as it is I am converting the whole word file firstly in HTML and...
0
by: TSSRALBI | last post by:
Hello I'm a network technician in training and I need your help. I am currently learning how to create and manage the different types of VPNs and I have a question about LAN-to-LAN VPNs. The...
0
by: 6302768590 | last post by:
Hai team i want code for transfer the data from one system to another through IP address by using C# our system has to for every 5mins then we have to update the data what the data is updated ...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.