469,610 Members | 1,822 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,610 developers. It's quick & easy.

Can't install Visual Studio 6 under Win XP

I just got a new computer and am having a beast of a time getting
Visual Studio to install on it. The computer is an HP Pavilion a750e
with an AMD Athlon 64/3700 processor, a gig of RAM, a 250 gig hard
drive, and Windows XP Professional. I have MS Visual Studio
Professional 6.

The install process copies all the files to the hard drive -- the
progress bar completes. Then I get the message, "Setup is updating
your system" and then I get an error message that looks like this:
http://www.renamestar.com/xpprob/AnErrorScreen.gif

From that error report I get this info:
Error signature:
AppName: acmsetup.exe
AppVer: 3.1.0.8043
ModName: vsdpl.dll
Offset: 0003c8e

The error message offers to let me send a bug report to Microsoft,
which I haven't done since the computer is not yet connected to the
Internet. I've looked at the info the message box offers to send to
Microsoft, but it's about as useful to me as ancient Greek. In case
any of that info is useful to anyone, I've saved much of it in screen
shots that can be found here:
http://www.renamestar.com/xpprob/
(I haven't done screen shots of all the data, but can do more if that
info will be helpful.)

I've tried installing from my backup CDs, from my original CDs, and
from the install package saved on an external hard drive -- all to no
avail. I ran the install program with my anti-virus program (VCOM
SystemSuite 5) and its firewall (and Windows XP's firewall) disabled.
I also tried with my anti-virus prog and its firewall completely
uninstalled. Still no luck. I'm at my wits end and would appreciate
any insight offered.

In case it's relevant -- the new computer is not yet connected to the
Internet.

I'd doubt it's relevant, but just in case, here are the settings I was
using in the custom install:
Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 -- checked
Microsoft Visual C++ -- checked
Microsoft Visual FoxPro 6.0 -- unchecked
Microsoft Visual InterDev 6.0 -- unchecked
ActiveX -- checked
DataAccess -- checked
Professional Tools -- checked
Graphics -- checked
Tools -- unchecked
(I've tried some other settings too, none of which have resulted in a
successful install.)

If anyone can help me solve this problem, I will be greatly indebted
to you. Man, am I ever frustrated with this one.
*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.
Jul 17 '05 #1
11 22761
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> you typed some letters in random
order:
I just got a new computer and am having a beast of a time getting
Visual Studio to install on it. The computer is an HP Pavilion a750e
with an AMD Athlon 64/3700 processor, a gig of RAM, a 250 gig hard
drive, and Windows XP Professional. I have MS Visual Studio
Professional 6.

The install process copies all the files to the hard drive -- the
progress bar completes. Then I get the message, "Setup is updating
your system" and then I get an error message that looks like this:
http://www.renamestar.com/xpprob/AnErrorScreen.gif


I had the same trouble (with other software) yesterday on winxp-home.
What I dit is. Open "config-schreen" and klik the "add/remove
software" icon. On the RHS there is a button 'add programs' or
someting like that. Klik that and follow the instructions.

Hope this helps
Groetjenz,

Mickey
--
#### gewoan skrieve su ast ut seist ####
Jul 17 '05 #2
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:

<snip>

You are installing as Admin ?
Jul 17 '05 #3
On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 12:18:46 +0000 (UTC), er*****@nowhere.uk (J
French) wrote:
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:

<snip>

You are installing as Admin ?


Yes. I tried under my regular account which has admin privileges,
then I tried it under the Administrator account just to be certain.
Same disappointing result each time.

*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.
Jul 17 '05 #4
funny. I installed it flawlessly the first time around on my XP
machine.

On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 10:28:40 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:
On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 12:18:46 +0000 (UTC), er*****@nowhere.uk (J
French) wrote:
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:

<snip>

You are installing as Admin ?


Yes. I tried under my regular account which has admin privileges,
then I tried it under the Administrator account just to be certain.
Same disappointing result each time.

*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.


Jul 17 '05 #5
On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 17:40:22 GMT, Michael McNeil
<mi************@hotmail.com> wrote:
funny. I installed it flawlessly the first time around on my XP
machine.


I know. It's always installed perfectly on my previous Win 2K
machine. I've tried first uninstalling anything I can think of that
might be conflicting with it. So far no luck.

I'm wondering if there's some way I can manually install the thing.
Then install package copies the files to my hard drive as always and
the progress bar completes its run. I tried creating a short cut on
the desktop to the vb6.exe file. When I try to run that, the splash
screen says "Working Model Edition" instead of "Professional Edition"
as it should, then it complains that it can't find "dao350.dll" and
crashes.
*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.
Jul 17 '05 #6
Also, applications I created in VB 6 on my Win 2K machine, compiled,
and made setup packages for installed and ran perfectly on my new Win
XP Pro machine.

Another thing: Not sure if it's relevant, but there is a 60-day
evaluation version of MS Office on my new computer which I have not
used and don't intend to.
*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.
Jul 17 '05 #7
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM

Never mind my previous question. After numerous attempts, I've
finally gotten Visual Studio 6 up and running on my new Win XP Pro
machine.

I'm not sure why the following worked, but it did. I manually
registered Dao350.dll via the regsvr32 command and then I deleted all
the non-system files that were on the machine because of the failed
installs. The next time I ran the install package, everything went
through fine.

It was just a shot in the dark, but it worked. I really thought
Dao350.dll was already registered.

For the new year I'd like to express appreciation for these VB forums.
They're extremely valuable resources for someone such as myself who is
self-educating. And I'm not just thankful for the questions I get
answered by posting. For every question I post and get answered, I
get 9 answered via a search of the archives. I hope that my
participation sometimes helps someone either via the current forum or
via the archives.

Best of wishes for the new year to everyone.

cheers,
Tom

<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:
I just got a new computer and am having a beast of a time getting
Visual Studio to install on it. The computer is an HP Pavilion a750e

[snip]
*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.
Jul 17 '05 #8

"Tom_OM" <do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote in message
news:1s********************************@4ax.com...
| On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
|
| Never mind my previous question. After numerous attempts, I've
| finally gotten Visual Studio 6 up and running on my new Win XP Pro
| machine.
|
| I'm not sure why the following worked, but it did. I manually
| registered Dao350.dll via the regsvr32 command and then I deleted all
| the non-system files that were on the machine because of the failed
| installs. The next time I ran the install package, everything went
| through fine.
|

Oh is that all it was, I thought everyone knew that already. Of course
you have to re-register Dao350.dll and delete all non-system files from
failed installs. Goes without saying... :)

| It was just a shot in the dark, but it worked.

Sweet. Good instincts are invaluable.

|
| Best of wishes for the new year to everyone.
|

Ditto.
Jul 17 '05 #9
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:
in <kp********************************@4ax.com>
I just got a new computer and am having a beast of a time getting
Visual Studio to install on it. The computer is an HP Pavilion a750e
with an AMD Athlon 64/3700 processor, a gig of RAM, a 250 gig hard
drive, and Windows XP Professional. I have MS Visual Studio
Professional 6.

The install process copies all the files to the hard drive -- the
progress bar completes. Then I get the message, "Setup is updating
your system" and then I get an error message that looks like this:
http://www.renamestar.com/xpprob/AnErrorScreen.gif


Try booting and running the install in Safe Mode.
---
Stefan Berglund
Jul 17 '05 #10
On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 12:38:01 -0700, Tom_OM
<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:
On Fri, 31 Dec 2004 17:40:22 GMT, Michael McNeil
<mi************@hotmail.com> wrote:
funny. I installed it flawlessly the first time around on my XP
machine.


I know. It's always installed perfectly on my previous Win 2K
machine. I've tried first uninstalling anything I can think of that
might be conflicting with it. So far no luck.

I'm wondering if there's some way I can manually install the thing.
Then install package copies the files to my hard drive as always and
the progress bar completes its run. I tried creating a short cut on
the desktop to the vb6.exe file. When I try to run that, the splash
screen says "Working Model Edition" instead of "Professional Edition"
as it should, then it complains that it can't find "dao350.dll" and
crashes.


Sounds to me like you installed it in Admin mode, and are now trying
to run it in 'serf' mode
Jul 17 '05 #11
Hi Tom,

Reference to your message below, please specify which "non-system" files did
you delete after registering DAO350.DLL. Which files and in which folder.

regards

----------------------------
"Tom_OM" <do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote in message
news:1s********************************@4ax.com...
On Thu, 30 Dec 2004 23:28:16 -0700, Tom_OM

Never mind my previous question. After numerous attempts, I've
finally gotten Visual Studio 6 up and running on my new Win XP Pro
machine.

I'm not sure why the following worked, but it did. I manually
registered Dao350.dll via the regsvr32 command and then I deleted all
the non-system files that were on the machine because of the failed
installs. The next time I ran the install package, everything went
through fine.

It was just a shot in the dark, but it worked. I really thought
Dao350.dll was already registered.

For the new year I'd like to express appreciation for these VB forums.
They're extremely valuable resources for someone such as myself who is
self-educating. And I'm not just thankful for the questions I get
answered by posting. For every question I post and get answered, I
get 9 answered via a search of the archives. I hope that my
participation sometimes helps someone either via the current forum or
via the archives.

Best of wishes for the new year to everyone.

cheers,
Tom

<do********@junkmailstinks.com> wrote:
I just got a new computer and am having a beast of a time getting
Visual Studio to install on it. The computer is an HP Pavilion a750e

[snip]
*********************************
Just say NO to VB.NET.
Try RealBASIC.

Jul 17 '05 #12

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

4 posts views Thread by amy | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by jay widman | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.