473,403 Members | 2,222 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,403 software developers and data experts.

Deploy app with MS Interop...

i'm writing an app that uses an excel interop to convert the xls file to
html..

while writing it, i had no problem... it problem is coming out when i try do
deploy it...
i've tried merging it with the .dll files, PIA files, installed office (test
environment), but the system only returns that the COM isn't registered...

i've tried merging the gacutil.exe to register, but didn't work...

what can i do???
tks,
christiano.
Jul 28 '08 #1
4 3092
there must be a run time dll for interrop to work on the client machine

"Christiano Donke" <cd****@digiexpress.com.brwrote in message
news:eN**************@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
i'm writing an app that uses an excel interop to convert the xls file to
html..

while writing it, i had no problem... it problem is coming out when i try
do deploy it...
i've tried merging it with the .dll files, PIA files, installed office
(test environment), but the system only returns that the COM isn't
registered...

i've tried merging the gacutil.exe to register, but didn't work...

what can i do???
tks,
christiano.
Jul 28 '08 #2
i've merged in the package the Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.dll and the
Office.dll files..

didn't work out...
installed the Office 2003 and 2007 redistributable Primary Interop
Assemblies (rPIA)... Nothing yet..
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

i'm wondering if I need to register them somehow on the target machine...

any hint?

tks,
christiano.
"Gillard" <gillard_georges@@@@@@@@@hotmail.comescreveu na mensagem
news:O9**************@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl...
there must be a run time dll for interrop to work on the client machine

"Christiano Donke" <cd****@digiexpress.com.brwrote in message
news:eN**************@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>i'm writing an app that uses an excel interop to convert the xls file to
html..

while writing it, i had no problem... it problem is coming out when i try
do deploy it...
i've tried merging it with the .dll files, PIA files, installed office
(test environment), but the system only returns that the COM isn't
registered...

i've tried merging the gacutil.exe to register, but didn't work...

what can i do???
tks,
christiano.

Jul 28 '08 #3
On Jul 28, 10:11 pm, "Christiano Donke" <cdo...@digiexpress.com.br>
wrote:
i've merged in the package the Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.dll and the
Office.dll files..

didn't work out...

installed the Office 2003 and 2007 redistributable Primary Interop
Assemblies (rPIA)... Nothing yet..http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...d=3C9A983A-AC1...

i'm wondering if I need to register them somehow on the target machine...

any hint?

tks,
christiano.

"Gillard" <gillard_georges@@@@@@@@@hotmail.comescreveu na mensagemnews:O9**************@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl ...
there must be a run time dll for interrop to work on the client machine
"Christiano Donke" <cdo...@digiexpress.com.brwrote in message
news:eN**************@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
i'm writing an app that uses an excel interop to convert the xls file to
html..
while writing it, i had no problem... it problem is coming out when i try
do deploy it...
i've tried merging it with the .dll files, PIA files, installed office
(test environment), but the system only returns that the COM isn't
registered...
i've tried merging the gacutil.exe to register, but didn't work...
what can i do???
tks,
christiano.
Is the required dll included in application's folder or elsewhere?
Maybe that would be a problem, just a guess.

Plus, you can try registering library file using:
regsvr32 <library_name.dll>

from start -run.

Hope this helps,

Onur Güzel
Jul 28 '08 #4
That's odd, I think I just set "Copy Local" to True in Project
Properties>References and it seems to deploy with the app automatically. I'm
using ClickOnce though, and the version of Office on my dev machine is always
the same as on the client workstation.

--
David Streeter
Synchrotech Software
Sydney Australia
"kimiraikkonen" wrote:
On Jul 28, 10:11 pm, "Christiano Donke" <cdo...@digiexpress.com.br>
wrote:
i've merged in the package the Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel.dll and the
Office.dll files..

didn't work out...

installed the Office 2003 and 2007 redistributable Primary Interop
Assemblies (rPIA)... Nothing yet..http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...d=3C9A983A-AC1...

i'm wondering if I need to register them somehow on the target machine...

any hint?

tks,
christiano.

"Gillard" <gillard_georges@@@@@@@@@hotmail.comescreveu na mensagemnews:O9**************@TK2MSFTNGP04.phx.gbl ...
there must be a run time dll for interrop to work on the client machine
"Christiano Donke" <cdo...@digiexpress.com.brwrote in message
>news:eN**************@TK2MSFTNGP06.phx.gbl...
>i'm writing an app that uses an excel interop to convert the xls file to
>html..
>while writing it, i had no problem... it problem is coming out when i try
>do deploy it...
>i've tried merging it with the .dll files, PIA files, installed office
>(test environment), but the system only returns that the COM isn't
>registered...
>i've tried merging the gacutil.exe to register, but didn't work...
>what can i do???
>tks,
>christiano.

Is the required dll included in application's folder or elsewhere?
Maybe that would be a problem, just a guess.

Plus, you can try registering library file using:
regsvr32 <library_name.dll>

from start -run.

Hope this helps,

Onur Güzel
Jul 29 '08 #5

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

0
by: TB | last post by:
I've got a VB 6 DLL which makes a call to a VB.NET class library. I compile the VB.NET class with "Register for COM Interop" to expose the .net class to vb6. The VB.NET class has been added to the...
2
by: Mullin Yu | last post by:
I have a web services calling some dll, activex.exe. I want to deploy it to another machine. How can I do so including packaging the asmx files, all related dll and activex.exe . Do you need...
8
by: Rob Edwards | last post by:
When trying to add the Microsoft CDO for Exchange Management Library (aka CDOEXM.dll) I receive the following message: "A reference to 'Microsoft CDO for Exchange Management Library' could not be...
9
by: T. | last post by:
Hi, Is there any way that I can "package and deploy" an asp.net app? When running this app from my workstation, it runs no problem, but when I access the site from another workstation I'm...
2
by: Bill | last post by:
I am getting the message during an assembly can't find 'ADODB.dll' 1. Why is an assembly running....wasn't it assembled on the test machine? 2. do I need to have dev studio installed on the...
3
by: ChrisFrohlich | last post by:
I'm trying to use the Office XP PIA in an ASP.NET application. It's working fine on my workstation and I can manipulate a Workbook using Microsoft.Office.Interop.Excel. When I try to deploy the...
2
by: JC | last post by:
Anybody knows what problem has this code? I think, in the Garbage Collector? You know the Solution? The program in the test's case, whit 350 contacts, run OK before number 86. The error is a...
1
by: =?Utf-8?B?Sm9obg==?= | last post by:
Hi all, I have website application in development machine. It is using atl com component and created interop using tlbimp. It is working fine. Now, I want to deploy on production machine. I...
1
by: Zinzan | last post by:
I have a VB6 DLL that has a reference to a .NET class library. I can deploy both using the deployment packages that come with Vb6 and VS 2003 respectively but I need a silent install with no windows...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 1 May 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome a new...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.