469,602 Members | 1,962 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,602 developers. It's quick & easy.

Vista x64 SP1

Dear all,

I installed Vista SP1 on my Vista x64 Enterprise machine. Now my
Visual Basic 2005 (.Net 2) does not behave correctly. It appears that
'for loops' have a problem of some sort. For example, I have a 'for
loop' to fill a dropdown control with numbers from x to z. Now that
dropdown stays empty. This behavior did not happen before SP1. I do
not get any error messages. Everything works perfectly on WinXP.
Anyone has any idea if Vista SP1 break the .net 2.0 framework ?

Nick,
Mar 24 '08 #1
7 1343
Actually, I pinpointed it to a change of behavior of the CurDir()
command. For some reason it is not returning the same between Vista
RTM and Vista SP1.

On Mar 24, 10:17*am, Nicolas Hinze <nhi...@gmail.comwrote:
Dear all,

I installed Vista SP1 on my Vista x64 Enterprise machine. Now my
Visual Basic 2005 (.Net 2) does not behave correctly. It appears that
'for loops' have a problem of some sort. For example, I have a 'for
loop' to fill a dropdown control with numbers from x to z. Now that
dropdown stays empty. This behavior did not happen before SP1. I do
not get any error messages. Everything works perfectly on WinXP.
Anyone has any idea if Vista SP1 break the .net 2.0 framework ?

Nick,
Mar 24 '08 #2
On Mar 24, 4:24 pm, Nicolas Hinze <nhi...@gmail.comwrote:
Actually, I pinpointed it to a change of behavior of the CurDir()
command. For some reason it is not returning the same between Vista
RTM and Vista SP1.

On Mar 24, 10:17 am, Nicolas Hinze <nhi...@gmail.comwrote:
Dear all,
I installed Vista SP1 on my Vista x64 Enterprise machine. Now my
Visual Basic 2005 (.Net 2) does not behave correctly. It appears that
'for loops' have a problem of some sort. For example, I have a 'for
loop' to fill a dropdown control with numbers from x to z. Now that
dropdown stays empty. This behavior did not happen before SP1. I do
not get any error messages. Everything works perfectly on WinXP.
Anyone has any idea if Vista SP1 break the .net 2.0 framework ?
Nick,
Is your framework 64-bit one?
Mar 24 '08 #3
Can you post a small sample of code that shows this problem?

"Nicolas Hinze" wrote:
Actually, I pinpointed it to a change of behavior of the CurDir()
command. For some reason it is not returning the same between Vista
RTM and Vista SP1.

On Mar 24, 10:17 am, Nicolas Hinze <nhi...@gmail.comwrote:
Dear all,

I installed Vista SP1 on my Vista x64 Enterprise machine. Now my
Visual Basic 2005 (.Net 2) does not behave correctly. It appears that
'for loops' have a problem of some sort. For example, I have a 'for
loop' to fill a dropdown control with numbers from x to z. Now that
dropdown stays empty. This behavior did not happen before SP1. I do
not get any error messages. Everything works perfectly on WinXP.
Anyone has any idea if Vista SP1 break the .net 2.0 framework ?

Nick,

Mar 24 '08 #4
On Mar 24, 10:17 am, Nicolas Hinze <nhi...@gmail.comwrote:
Dear all,

I installed Vista SP1 on my Vista x64 Enterprise machine. Now my
Visual Basic 2005 (.Net 2) does not behave correctly. It appears that
'for loops' have a problem of some sort. For example, I have a 'for
loop' to fill a dropdown control with numbers from x to z. Now that
dropdown stays empty. This behavior did not happen before SP1. I do
not get any error messages. Everything works perfectly on WinXP.
Anyone has any idea if Vista SP1 break the .net 2.0 framework ?

Nick,
What about My.Computer.FileSystem.CurrentDirectory?

Thanks,

Seth Rowe [MVP]
Mar 24 '08 #5
Nicolas wrote:
The .Net Framework is the 2.0 32Bit. I develop on a WinXP 32Bit. I
just run my softweare on Vista 64Bit, because I can run more threads
and access more memory that way.
Can you?
I thought you had to specifically build your code to /target/ the x64
platform before you got any benefit from running on it - although I'd be
[very] happy to be proven wring on this. :-)
Dim tempForm As Form
For Each tempForm In Forms
If tempForm.IsMdiChild = True Then
tempForm.Close()
End If
Next
I'd fully expect this code to /miss/ some of your open forms.

Because it's updating the collection of forms as it goes along (by
closing some of them), the iterator on that collection is going to get
confused. When doing this sort of thing, always loop /backwards/
through the values; indexing into them is far more resilient than using
"For Each".
For iSub As Integer = Forms.Count - 1 To 0 Step -1
Dim tempForm As Form = Forms( iSub )
If tempForm.IsMdiChild = True Then
tempForm.Close()
End If
Next
One for the next version wish-list, maybe?

For Each variable [As type] In *Reversed* values

??

HTH,
Phill W.
Mar 25 '08 #6
Thanks for the coding tips Phill!

I'm running my 32Bit application on Vista 64Bit to be able to take
advantage of more memory. Now the application thread can only access
the standard 2GB or so. However, what I meant by threaded is that my
model can now call more .exe threads in the background and run much
faster. All is 32Bit, but when each of my .exe threads takes like 1 GB
each, I could only run a maximum of 2 or 3 threads in XP. Now in Vista
64Bit, with 8GB of RAM I can run 8 of those .exe threads at the same
time.

So to do this, you do not need to recompile in 64Bit.

Nick,
Mar 26 '08 #7
Nicolas wrote:
Thanks for the coding tips Phill!
You're welcome.
All is 32Bit, but when each of my .exe threads takes like 1 GB
each, I could only run a maximum of 2 or 3 threads in XP. Now in Vista
64Bit, with 8GB of RAM I can run 8 of those .exe threads at the same
time.
8GB of RAM? Ooooh; <shiver /where can I get me one of those...?
;-)
So to do this, you do not need to recompile in 64Bit.
Excellent.
OK, it may not be multi-/threading/ in the strictest sense, but with
that much space to run around in, your code ought to /fly/!

Regards,
Phill W.
Mar 26 '08 #8

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

13 posts views Thread by Mark Rae | last post: by
reply views Thread by salad | last post: by
19 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?TWlrZTk5MDA=?= | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by 13Rockes | last post: by
11 posts views Thread by idoublepress | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by guiromero | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.