469,948 Members | 2,819 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,948 developers. It's quick & easy.

Project works frm VS.Net 2003 & not working whn install setup in v

IDE : VS .NET 2003,
Platform : .NET 2.0,

Hi All,

I have my project in VS.Net 2003 (VB.Net). The OS is Vista Ultimate.
In a form's Button_Click() event i call a dll which calls another dll and
returns a DataTable .
The purpose of these dll's are 1. to open a excel file and fetch values 2.
process fetched values and return a DataTable.
When I run project from VB.Net 2003, the project runs fine without any
problem in Vista Ultimate and XP.
I create a setup for my project in Vista and installed in XP, it works fine.
But when i install the same setup in same machine (Vista), its getting
installed but this particular Button_Click which calls the dll's gives the
error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

It works when we run in the project from Visual Studio .Net 2003 and not
working when we install the application in Vista.
Thanks for any help.

Thanks,
V.Chock
Mar 4 '08 #1
2 1903
On Mar 4, 1:58*pm, V.Chockalingam.
<V.Chockaling...@discussions.microsoft.comwrote:
IDE : VS .NET 2003,
Platform : .NET 2.0,

Hi All,

I have my project in VS.Net 2003 (VB.Net). The OS is Vista Ultimate.
In a form's Button_Click() event i call a dll which calls another dll and
returns a DataTable .
The purpose of these dll's are 1. to open a excel file and fetch values 2.
process fetched values and return a DataTable.
When I run project from VB.Net 2003, the project runs fine without any
problem in Vista Ultimate and XP.
I create a setup for my project in Vista and installed in XP, it works fine.
But when i install the same setup in same machine (Vista), its getting
installed but this particular Button_Click which calls the dll's gives the
error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."

It works when we run in the project from Visual Studio .Net 2003 and not
working when we install the application in Vista.
Thanks for any help.

Thanks,
V.Chock
I think that might occur because one of (or more) your DLLs are not
available or registered in Vista. I recommend you to regsvr32 all the
DLLs and place them to their correct locations.
Mar 4 '08 #2
Hi,

First i went to command line and went to C:\Program Files\vstech\Sangh
\. This is the place where the DLL is located after the application is
installed.
I tried to register with the following 2 ways.

C:\Program Files\vstech\Sanghregsvr32 SanghEngine.DLL
C:\Program Files\vstech\Sanghregsvr32 /i:[cmdline] SanghEngine.DLL

but i get the same 2 line error for both the statement as follows

The module "SanghEngine.DLL" was loaded but the entry-point
DLLRegisterServer was
not found.
Make sure that "SanghEngine.DLL" is a valid DLL or OCX file and then
try again.
For Your Information. I have the same DLL in my project and when i am
running the project, the same ButtonClick works fine for me. But after
i create the setup and installed, buttonclick is not working in the
application. Thans for your support.

Thanks,
V.Chock.
On Mar 5, 12:19*am, kimiraikkonen <kimiraikkone...@gmail.comwrote:
On Mar 4, 1:58*pm, V.Chockalingam.

<V.Chockaling...@discussions.microsoft.comwrote:
IDE : VS .NET 2003,
Platform : .NET 2.0,
Hi All,
I have my project in VS.Net 2003 (VB.Net). The OS is Vista Ultimate.
In a form's Button_Click() event i call a dll which calls another dll and
returns a DataTable .
The purpose of these dll's are 1. to open a excel file and fetch values 2.
process fetched values and return a DataTable.
When I run project from VB.Net 2003, the project runs fine without any
problem in Vista Ultimate and XP.
I create a setup for my project in Vista and installed in XP, it works fine.
But when i install the same setup in same machine (Vista), its getting
installed but this particular Button_Click which calls the dll's gives the
error "Object reference not set to an instance of an object."
It works when we run in the project from Visual Studio .Net 2003 and not
working when we install the application in Vista.
Thanks for any help.
Thanks,
V.Chock

I think that might occur because one of (or more) your DLLs are not
available or registered in Vista. I recommend you to regsvr32 all the
DLLs and place them to their correct locations.- Hide quoted text -

- Show quoted text -
Mar 5 '08 #3

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Kent P. Iler | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by Arun Bhalla | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Dennis | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Jed | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.