470,586 Members | 1,358 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 470,586 developers. It's quick & easy.

Force ClickOnce PreRequisite file to deploy with application?

Using VS2005, I am deploying a WinForm application with ClickOnce. The
project contains a ReportViewer2005 control, so there is a prerequisite for
the ReportViewer2005.dll.

The ReportViewer.dll that is included with Visual Studio 2005 works fine on
my (developer) pc, both within Visual Studio 2005, and after deployed, from
my pc. However, this is not the case with the user's pcs. When they
download the ReportViewer2005.dll from Microsoft, they get a
ReportViewer2005 with built-in bugs.

There is a service pack for ReportViewer2005.dll, but I would rather bundle
the Visual Studio copy of ReportViewer2005 in with the ClickOnce deployment.
It is possible?
On Project properties | publish | Application Files., should I be changing
the Publish Status column to "Include", (Required), and then manually point
to the ClickOnce site where I have copied the Visual Studio
ReportViewer2005.dll? Would this bundle the Visual Studio
ReportViewer2005.dll in with my application?

Thanks in advance,
Dean S

Feb 21 '08 #1
3 4084
Dean Slindee wrote:
Using VS2005, I am deploying a WinForm application with ClickOnce. The project
contains a ReportViewer2005 control, so there is a
prerequisite for the ReportViewer2005.dll.

The ReportViewer.dll that is included with Visual Studio 2005 works
fine on my (developer) pc, both within Visual Studio 2005, and after
deployed, from my pc. However, this is not the case with the user's
pcs. When they download the ReportViewer2005.dll from Microsoft,
they get a ReportViewer2005 with built-in bugs.
Ooo, built in bugs, an extra bonus! :)
>
There is a service pack for ReportViewer2005.dll, but I would rather
bundle the Visual Studio copy of ReportViewer2005 in with the
ClickOnce deployment. It is possible?
On Project properties | publish | Application Files., should I be
changing the Publish Status column to "Include", (Required), and then
manually point to the ClickOnce site where I have copied the Visual
Studio ReportViewer2005.dll? Would this bundle the Visual Studio
ReportViewer2005.dll in with my application?
I would click Include (Required), and include the file right from your dev PC.
The ClickOnce publish copies all those files to the publication folder, so no
need to point it somewhere else. I publish my ClickOnce to a local folder, then
copy it in stages to the actual deployment location. After the first time, I
only copy the updated files up the ladder. My sequence is to publish local, copy
new and updated files to a transfer folder on the server, then remote desktop to
server, where I copy from the transfer folder to the actual folder. Works nice,
gives good control, and the final step is very quick so no interruptions or
synch issues.
Feb 21 '08 #2
RobinS wrote:
>
But it sounds like you are only copying the changed files:
>After the first time, I only copy the updated files up the ladder. My
sequence is to publish local, copy new and updated files to a
transfer folder on the server...

Is that true? Or are you copying the whole deployment folder over,
and then continuing?
1. Publish to a local folder, i.e. hit Publish Now button.
2. Copy needed files to deployment server.
3. Copy needed files to deployment folder.

Not really sure what you are asking...

Feb 24 '08 #3
RobinS wrote:
>>

Well, whatever makes you happy. :-) I was just curious. I guess in
the interest of easier-for-me, and
making-sure-I-didn't-miss-something, I could just copy the entire
folder, and let it overlay anything that was already there.

But you found something that works for you, so go with it!

RobinS.
Yup. There are some reasons for not publishing directly to the production
server, but they are not interesting ones.

I do sometimes copy the whole folder, only say no to each thing that is already
there and up to date, as a way of checking that I'm not missing something. I
don't have a good reason for not just copying the whole thing, other than habit
I guess.
Feb 25 '08 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Asaf | last post: by
1 post views Thread by M O J O | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Alex Bögli | last post: by
reply views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?Q29saXZpZXI=?= | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?Q2hyaXN0aWFuIEhhdmVs?= | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?QW5kcmV3X2QxMjM=?= | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?S2VuIExlbWlldXg=?= | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.