473,385 Members | 1,324 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,385 software developers and data experts.

'Class not registered' When application is installed and run on another workstation.

Hi

I have created an installation package for my app and I have installed
the application onto another machine together with the framework and
the correct MDAC version.

The problem is when I access something in the application that uses
one of the required dlls.

All the dlls have been included with the application in the same
folder as the exe when it was installed. With .net I thought this was
enough.

This problem occurs with two specific dlls:-

I am using a COM control called CTDays (a calendar control). Now, in
my application folder I have AxInterop.CTDAYSLib.dll and
Interop.CTDAYSLib.dll which I believe are the wrappers to enable the
object to be accessed from dot net.

The others are the dlls to enable my application to create Word
documents.

I can't register these components with regsvr32 as they are dot net
assemblies so I tried regasm. They register OK but still cause the
error when accessed in the application.

In the package project I also set them to be registered but the
problem was sill the same.

Any help would be MUCH appreciated as I have been working on this for
over a year and it is to be installed this week.

Apologies for the long post.

Hughsie
Nov 20 '05 #1
3 4833
On 12 Apr 2004 07:44:22 -0700, Hughsie wrote:
I am using a COM control called CTDays (a calendar control). Now, in
my application folder I have AxInterop.CTDAYSLib.dll and
Interop.CTDAYSLib.dll which I believe are the wrappers to enable the
object to be accessed from dot net.


Is the CTDAYSLib.dll file present and registered on the workstation? All
COM .dll's must still be registered.
Can you show the line of code that has the problem?
--
Chris

To send me an E-mail, remove the underscores and lunchmeat from my E-Mail
address.
Nov 20 '05 #2
Chris Dunaway <dunawayc@_lunchmeat_sbcglobal.net> wrote in message news:<du****************************@40tude.net>.. .
On 12 Apr 2004 07:44:22 -0700, Hughsie wrote:
Is the CTDAYSLib.dll file present and registered on the workstation? All
COM .dll's must still be registered.
Can you show the line of code that has the problem?


Thanks for the response. The CTDays problem is fixed now. I didn't
realise the actual COM dll had to be installed as well as the
wrappers. I thought the wrappers were instead of the original.

The problem with my Word stuff remains though.

I am creating Word docs from my application and the following
dependancies show (which I believe are related to Word):-

Interop.Office.dll
Interop.VBIDE.dll
Interop.Word.dll
MSO9.dll
MSWORD9.OLB

All of the above are in the application directory but still no Word
access.

Again, any help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Hughsie
Nov 20 '05 #3
This might sound silly, but is Word already installed on the target
computer? You don't want to deploy MSO9.dll and MSWORD9.OLB, since they are
not standalone files.

You probably want to create a Launch Condition in your setup project that
will check to see if office/word are already installed, since your app
requires that they already be there.

---
David Guyer - VBQA Deployment Testing
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
--------------------
From: hu*********@hotmail.com (Hughsie)
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.dotnet.languages.vb
Subject: Re: 'Class not registered' When application is installed and run on another workstation.Date: 13 Apr 2004 01:46:41 -0700
Organization: http://groups.google.com
Lines: 33
Message-ID: <3c*************************@posting.google.com>
References: <3c**************************@posting.google.com > <du****************************@40tude.net>NNTP-Posting-Host: 213.137.6.23
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 8bit
X-Trace: posting.google.com 1081846001 4002 127.0.0.1 (13 Apr 2004 08:46:41 GMT)X-Complaints-To: gr**********@google.com
NNTP-Posting-Date: Tue, 13 Apr 2004 08:46:41 +0000 (UTC)
Path: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl!TK2MSFTFEED01.phx.gbl!TK2MSFT NGP08.phx.gbl!newsfeed00.s
ul.t-online.de!t-online.de!news.glorb.com!postnews1.google.com!not-for-mailXref: cpmsftngxa10.phx.gbl microsoft.public.dotnet.languages.vb:195354
X-Tomcat-NG: microsoft.public.dotnet.languages.vb

Chris Dunaway <dunawayc@_lunchmeat_sbcglobal.net> wrote in message

news:<du****************************@40tude.net>.. .
On 12 Apr 2004 07:44:22 -0700, Hughsie wrote:


Is the CTDAYSLib.dll file present and registered on the workstation? All
COM .dll's must still be registered.
Can you show the line of code that has the problem?


Thanks for the response. The CTDays problem is fixed now. I didn't
realise the actual COM dll had to be installed as well as the
wrappers. I thought the wrappers were instead of the original.

The problem with my Word stuff remains though.

I am creating Word docs from my application and the following
dependancies show (which I believe are related to Word):-

Interop.Office.dll
Interop.VBIDE.dll
Interop.Word.dll
MSO9.dll
MSWORD9.OLB

All of the above are in the application directory but still no Word
access.

Again, any help would be much appreciated.

Many Thanks

Hughsie


Nov 20 '05 #4

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

2
by: Varkey | last post by:
Dear all, Can you please provide some information on the following issue, at the earliest. I have a development server setup in the network, say machine X. Also, there is another workstation,...
1
by: Jim | last post by:
Have fully operational software package developed on VB.NET that worked until Jan 1 2003, with early stage deployments on Oct 10, Oct 23, Nov 11, Dec 12 and Dec 30. When attempted final...
1
by: Hughsie | last post by:
Hi I have created an installation package for my app and I have installed the application onto another machine together with the framework and the correct MDAC version. The problem is when I...
1
by: Nijazi Halimaji | last post by:
Hi everybody I have created a .NET Library (Build it) and implemented it in VB6. In VB6 i used a reference to get the functions, etc. and it worked fine. But when I make a setup project in VB6...
0
by: Nonee | last post by:
Anyone, anyone? : ) Hello- I have a form with the mediaplayer referenced to play mp3's and avi's and I believe that is what is causing the problem. I am not sure, but I am hoping. ...
15
by: Laurent Lequenne | last post by:
Hello All, I'm currently developing a free windows Scrabble (in french :)) application that uses extensively the WebBrowser class of NET 2.0 for configuration, and data browsing. It works 100%...
8
by: mark_aok | last post by:
Hi all, I have a split database. Both the forms, and the tables are stored on a shared network drive (this is Access 2003). The users use the forms, and the tables on the network drive, there...
2
by: shaun.laughton | last post by:
Hi All. I am new to ASP.NET 2.0 development, and am writing a small application to log time and expenses for projects. I have successfully set up Membership, Role and Profile providers using...
0
by: rehman | last post by:
Hi, I added reference to COM Component Microsoft ADO Ext. 2.8 for DDL and Security which added a wrapper DLL Interop.ADOX.dll in project references in a web application to create MS Access...
0
isladogs
by: isladogs | last post by:
The next Access Europe User Group meeting will be on Wednesday 3 Apr 2024 starting at 18:00 UK time (6PM UTC+1) and finishing by 19:30 (7.30PM). In this session, we are pleased to welcome former...
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often need to import Excel data into databases (such as MySQL, SQL Server, Oracle) for data analysis and processing. Usually, we use database tools like Navicat or the Excel import...
0
by: taylorcarr | last post by:
A Canon printer is a smart device known for being advanced, efficient, and reliable. It is designed for home, office, and hybrid workspace use and can also be used for a variety of purposes. However,...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
If we have dozens or hundreds of excel to import into the database, if we use the excel import function provided by database editors such as navicat, it will be extremely tedious and time-consuming...
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often receive Excel tables with data in the same format. If we want to analyze these data, it can be difficult to analyze them because the data is spread across multiple Excel files...
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.