473,405 Members | 2,282 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,405 software developers and data experts.

HELP! Transaction Log Backup!

Hello!!

I am relatively new to SQL and am having a problem. I have taken over
a SQL 2000 db that did not have any backup plans scheduled for it. I
created a maintenance plan that backs up the database every night and
another plan that backs up the system databases once a week. I ran
both these jobs successfully, but when I created a third plan to
backup the transaction log it fails with the following message:
Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE
42000] (Error 22029). The step failed. I then executed the following
statement: sp_grantlogin 'NT Authority\System' which did not work.
I still do not understand why I can't backup the log? The database
backs up fine with no errors so it can't be a permission thing and I
created the job with a maintenance plan so it has to be in full
recovery mode. Right? How do I tell? Thank you for all your
responses!!

NS
Jul 20 '05 #1
9 9928

"tech_guru" <ns******@cityofpasadena.net> wrote in message
news:3f**************************@posting.google.c om...
Hello!!

I am relatively new to SQL and am having a problem. I have taken over
a SQL 2000 db that did not have any backup plans scheduled for it. I
created a maintenance plan that backs up the database every night and
another plan that backs up the system databases once a week. I ran
both these jobs successfully, but when I created a third plan to
backup the transaction log it fails with the following message:
Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE
42000] (Error 22029). The step failed. I then executed the following
statement: sp_grantlogin 'NT Authority\System' which did not work.
I still do not understand why I can't backup the log? The database
backs up fine with no errors so it can't be a permission thing and I
created the job with a maintenance plan so it has to be in full
recovery mode. Right? How do I tell? Thank you for all your
responses!!
It probably is a permissions problem.

Where are you backing up to? If it's any place other than the same box, you
need to run SQL admin as a domain account, SYSTEM only has rights on the
local system.


NS

Jul 20 '05 #2
tech_guru (ns******@cityofpasadena.net) writes:
I am relatively new to SQL and am having a problem. I have taken over
a SQL 2000 db that did not have any backup plans scheduled for it. I
created a maintenance plan that backs up the database every night and
another plan that backs up the system databases once a week. I ran
both these jobs successfully, but when I created a third plan to
backup the transaction log it fails with the following message:
Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE
42000] (Error 22029). The step failed. I then executed the following
statement: sp_grantlogin 'NT Authority\System' which did not work.
I still do not understand why I can't backup the log? The database
backs up fine with no errors so it can't be a permission thing and I
created the job with a maintenance plan so it has to be in full
recovery mode. Right? How do I tell? Thank you for all your
responses!!


I would double-check that the database is not in simple recovery mode.

One way to find out what the problem is, would be to go to the job
step, find the Advanced tab, and specify an output file. Hopefully
you can get a better error message that way.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 20 '05 #3
I have the same problem. I output the log and recevied the following
message:
Microsoft (R) SQLMaint Utility (Unicode), Version Logged on to SQL
Server 'O4' as 'NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM' (trusted)
Starting maintenance plan 'LouiseTest MaintenancePlan_2' on 1/28/2005
1:59:53 PM
Backup can not be performed on database 'LouiseTest'. This sub task is
ignored.

End of maintenance plan 'LouiseTest MaintenancePlan_2' on 1/28/2005
1:59:53 PM
SQLMAINT.EXE Process Exit Code: 1 (Failed)
What setting must I change? Is it an access thing?

Erland Sommarskog wrote:
tech_guru (ns******@cityofpasadena.net) writes:
I am relatively new to SQL and am having a problem. I have taken over a SQL 2000 db that did not have any backup plans scheduled for it. I created a maintenance plan that backs up the database every night and another plan that backs up the system databases once a week. I ran
both these jobs successfully, but when I created a third plan to
backup the transaction log it fails with the following message:
Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE 42000] (Error 22029). The step failed. I then executed the following statement: sp_grantlogin 'NT Authority\System' which did not work. I still do not understand why I can't backup the log? The database backs up fine with no errors so it can't be a permission thing and I created the job with a maintenance plan so it has to be in full
recovery mode. Right? How do I tell? Thank you for all your
responses!!
I would double-check that the database is not in simple recovery

mode.
One way to find out what the problem is, would be to go to the job
step, find the Advanced tab, and specify an output file. Hopefully
you can get a better error message that way.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp


Jul 23 '05 #4
chrispycrunch (ch***********@gmail.com) writes:
I have the same problem. I output the log and recevied the following
message:
Microsoft (R) SQLMaint Utility (Unicode), Version Logged on to SQL
Server 'O4' as 'NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM' (trusted)
Starting maintenance plan 'LouiseTest MaintenancePlan_2' on 1/28/2005
1:59:53 PM
Backup can not be performed on database 'LouiseTest'. This sub task is
ignored.

End of maintenance plan 'LouiseTest MaintenancePlan_2' on 1/28/2005
1:59:53 PM
SQLMAINT.EXE Process Exit Code: 1 (Failed)
What setting must I change? Is it an access thing?


And just like the guy who had the same problem, you need to find the
job under SQL Server Agent->Jobs, right-click it and Select View job
history and check the box "Show step details" in the upper-right corner.
Then you will find what the error actually is.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #5
Thanks - that worked. Another problem is transaction backups:

Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE
42000] (Error 22029). The step failed.

The database is on a network drive.
I am creating the plan locally. Could that be an issue? The same thing
is done for index tuning and database backup (i figured out you should
save the files by the default location) and those tasks work.

Jul 23 '05 #6
chrispycrunch (ch***********@gmail.com) writes:
Thanks - that worked. Another problem is transaction backups:

Executed as user: NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM. sqlmaint.exe failed. [SQLSTATE
42000] (Error 22029). The step failed.

The database is on a network drive.


And the actual error message is?

When performing any access to network drives from SQL Server, including
backups, the account under which SQL Server runs must have access to
the network drive. Typically this is not the case if the SQL Server runs
as Local System. The remedy is run SQL Server under a domain user with
the necessary access rights.

You change the account for SQL Server by right-clicking My Computer,
select Manage. Find Services, then the MS SQL Server service. Open it,
and log-on information is on the second tab.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #7
Thanks, for the help and for tolerating my easy questions...I'm very
new to the 'admin' of NT, SQL, etc.
Also, I noticed the account was locked out, so see if that does the
trick.

Jul 23 '05 #8
Update: that didn't work - i'm frustrated! Is there a book or website
that can give further instructions on windows security?

Jul 23 '05 #9
chrispycrunch (ch***********@gmail.com) writes:
Update: that didn't work - i'm frustrated!
And the error message is?

To repeat from earlier in the thread:

And just like the guy who had the same problem, you need to find the
job under SQL Server Agent->Jobs, right-click it and Select View job
history and check the box "Show step details" in the upper-right corner.
Then you will find what the error actually is.
Is there a book or website that can give further instructions on windows
security?


Probably, but Windows is not my speciality. Anyway, without the error
message, books are not going to help you.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #10

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

21
by: Dave | last post by:
After following Microsofts admonition to reformat my system before doing a final compilation of my app I got many warnings/errors upon compiling an rtf file created in word. I used the Help...
9
by: Tom | last post by:
A question for gui application programmers. . . I 've got some GUI programs, written in Python/wxPython, and I've got a help button and a help menu item. Also, I've got a compiled file made with...
6
by: wukexin | last post by:
Help me, good men. I find mang books that introduce bit "mang header files",they talk too bit,in fact it is my too fool, I don't learn it, I have do a test program, but I have no correct doing...
3
by: Colin J. Williams | last post by:
Python advertises some basic service: C:\Python24>python Python 2.4.1 (#65, Mar 30 2005, 09:13:57) on win32 Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information. >>> With...
7
by: Corepaul | last post by:
Missing Help Files When I enter "recordset" as the keyword and search the Visual Basic Help index, I get many topics of interest in the resulting list. But there isn't any information available...
5
by: Steve | last post by:
I have written a help file (chm) for a DLL and referenced it using Help.ShowHelp My expectation is that a developer using my DLL would be able to access this help file during his development time...
8
by: Mark | last post by:
I have loaded Visual Studio .net on my home computer and my laptop, but my home computer has an abbreviated help screen not 2% of the help on my laptop. All the settings look the same on both...
10
by: JonathanOrlev | last post by:
Hello everybody, I wrote this comment in another message of mine, but decided to post it again as a standalone message. I think that Microsoft's Office 2003 help system is horrible, probably...
1
by: trunxnirvana007 | last post by:
'UPGRADE_WARNING: Array has a new behavior. Click for more: 'ms-help://MS.VSCC.v80/dv_commoner/local/redirect.htm?keyword="9B7D5ADD-D8FE-4819-A36C-6DEDAF088CC7"' 'UPGRADE_WARNING: Couldn't resolve...
0
by: hitencontractor | last post by:
I am working on .NET Version 2003 making an SDI application that calls MS Excel 2003. I added a menu item called "MyApp Help" in the end of the menu bar to show Help-> About. The application...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
jinu1996
by: jinu1996 | last post by:
In today's digital age, having a compelling online presence is paramount for businesses aiming to thrive in a competitive landscape. At the heart of this digital strategy lies an intricately woven...
0
agi2029
by: agi2029 | last post by:
Let's talk about the concept of autonomous AI software engineers and no-code agents. These AIs are designed to manage the entire lifecycle of a software development project—planning, coding, testing,...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.