471,889 Members | 2,290 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,889 software developers and data experts.

MSDE and Access 2000

Hi everyone,

In using the SQL Server Database Wizard in Access 2000 to create a new
access project, I get two consecutive error messages and then the wizard
shuts down. The first, which apprears immediately after starting the wizard
is a message box stating something like "the property value is too large".
After clicking through and filling out the values in the connection and
database dialog, I get a second dialog box with the message "Overflow" and
the wizard terminates.

My operating system is Windows 2000 Professional with Access 2000 and MSDE
2000.

Does anyone have any thoughts about what might be causing these errors?

Thanks in advance.
Jul 20 '05 #1
3 1832
Hi Stephen

Have a look at Microsoft Knowledge Base Article Q272384
http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;EN-US;272384

It describes the overflow error when creating a MS Access project on MSDE
2000.
Apparently, installing MS Office Service Pack 3 should fix the problem.

Hope this helps!

Martin

"Stephen Bishop" <sb*******@comcast.net> wrote in message
news:5K********************@comcast.com...
Hi everyone,

In using the SQL Server Database Wizard in Access 2000 to create a new
access project, I get two consecutive error messages and then the wizard
shuts down. The first, which apprears immediately after starting the wizard is a message box stating something like "the property value is too large".
After clicking through and filling out the values in the connection and
database dialog, I get a second dialog box with the message "Overflow" and
the wizard terminates.

My operating system is Windows 2000 Professional with Access 2000 and MSDE
2000.

Does anyone have any thoughts about what might be causing these errors?

Thanks in advance.

Jul 20 '05 #2
Thanks, Martin. I'll take a look at the article and see if it helps. As
far as the office version, I'm using Access 2000 (9.0.2720) and Office
2000, but I don't know the service pack status.

*** Sent via Developersdex http://www.developersdex.com ***
Don't just participate in USENET...get rewarded for it!
Jul 20 '05 #3
Open Access -> Help -> About Microsoft Access

At the end of first line it should say e.g. SP-1, SP-2 etc depending
on what service pack is installed.

Stephen Bishop <sb*******@comcast.net> wrote in message news:<40*********************@news.frii.net>...
Thanks, Martin. I'll take a look at the article and see if it helps. As
far as the office version, I'm using Access 2000 (9.0.2720) and Office
2000, but I don't know the service pack status.

Jul 20 '05 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by Craig HB | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Joanne | last post: by
10 posts views Thread by noname | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by *no spam* | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Eva | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by David Lozzi | last post: by
reply views Thread by YellowAndGreen | last post: by
reply views Thread by zermasroor | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.