469,572 Members | 1,324 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,572 developers. It's quick & easy.

Problem with DB_OWNER role..

Hi All,

I am facing a problem while executing a statement through C++ code
using OLEDB API of Sql server.
There is a problem with DB_OWNER role. If I will enable the DB_OWNER
everything is going fine but if I will remove this role than I am
getting error "DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND".

But if I will execute the same in query analyser it is going
absolutely fine in either case.
I am not able to understand why I am getting error while using API.

Please help me......thanks in advance

Aug 21 '07 #1
7 5079
monty (ma************@gmail.com) writes:
I am facing a problem while executing a statement through C++ code
using OLEDB API of Sql server.
There is a problem with DB_OWNER role. If I will enable the DB_OWNER
everything is going fine but if I will remove this role than I am
getting error "DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND".

But if I will execute the same in query analyser it is going
absolutely fine in either case.
I am not able to understand why I am getting error while using API.
I'm afraid that I need to ask for more information. What do you mean
with "enable the DB_OWNER role"? Do you mean that you add the user
you connect with to the DB_OWNER role?

Do you run with the same user from QA?

Have you examined the ISqlServerErrorInfo object to get the error message?
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...ads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinf...ons/books.mspx
Aug 21 '07 #2
On Aug 22, 2:46 am, Erland Sommarskog <esq...@sommarskog.sewrote:
monty (manishgandh...@gmail.com) writes:
I am facing a problem while executing a statement through C++ code
using OLEDB API of Sql server.
There is a problem with DB_OWNER role. If I will enable the DB_OWNER
everything is going fine but if I will remove this role than I am
getting error "DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND".
But if I will execute the same in query analyser it is going
absolutely fine in either case.
I am not able to understand why I am getting error while using API.

I'm afraid that I need to ask for more information. What do you mean
with "enable the DB_OWNER role"? Do you mean that you add the user
you connect with to the DB_OWNER role?

Do you run with the same user from QA?

Have you examined the ISqlServerErrorInfo object to get the error message?

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esq...@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 athttp://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/sql/2005/downloads/books...
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 athttp://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinfo/previousversions/books.mspx
yes by enabling the DB_OWNER i mean giving DB_OWNER role to the user.
And I am running with the same user in QA with which i am connecting
through API.

Also I have examined ISqlServerErrorInfo object to get the error
message because of that only I am getting error DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND.

Feel free to ask for more information.....

Aug 22 '07 #3
monty (ma************@gmail.com) writes:
yes by enabling the DB_OWNER i mean giving DB_OWNER role to the user.
And I am running with the same user in QA with which i am connecting
through API.

Also I have examined ISqlServerErrorInfo object to get the error
message because of that only I am getting error DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND.

Feel free to ask for more information.....
I guess then I would need to see your code, including the error-handling
part...

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...ads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinf...ons/books.mspx
Aug 22 '07 #4
On Aug 22, 3:31 pm, Erland Sommarskog <esq...@sommarskog.sewrote:
monty (manishgandh...@gmail.com) writes:
yes by enabling the DB_OWNER i mean giving DB_OWNER role to the user.
And I am running with the same user in QA with which i am connecting
through API.
Also I have examined ISqlServerErrorInfo object to get the error
message because of that only I am getting error DB_E_ERRORSINCOMMAND.
Feel free to ask for more information.....

I guess then I would need to see your code, including the error-handling
part...

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esq...@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 athttp://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/sql/2005/downloads/books...
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 athttp://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinfo/previousversions/books.mspx
it's ok....but i just want to know....do we need to have DB_OWNER role
for executing DDL statements through OLEDB API ??
Aug 22 '07 #5
monty (ma************@gmail.com) writes:
it's ok....but i just want to know....do we need to have DB_OWNER role
for executing DDL statements through OLEDB API ??
DDL statements require at least membership in db_ddladmin, no matter how you
connect.


--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...ads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinf...ons/books.mspx
Aug 22 '07 #6
On Aug 22, 6:56 pm, Erland Sommarskog <esq...@sommarskog.sewrote:
monty (manishgandh...@gmail.com) writes:
it's ok....but i just want to know....do we need to have DB_OWNER role
for executing DDL statements through OLEDB API ??

DDL statements require at least membership in db_ddladmin, no matter how you
connect.

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esq...@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 athttp://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/sql/2005/downloads/books...
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 athttp://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinfo/previousversions/books.mspx
I am creating and using a temp table. For doing this db_ddladmin role
will be enough??

Aug 22 '07 #7
monty (ma************@gmail.com) writes:
I am creating and using a temp table. For doing this db_ddladmin role
will be enough??
I'm sorry, but I would appreciate if you could post your actual code
or in other ways to give me sufficient information what you are doing.
If you insist on just providing pieces, the quality of the answers you
get will be poor.

To create temp tables you need no particular permissions at all.

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...ads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodinf...ons/books.mspx
Aug 22 '07 #8

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

1 post views Thread by Steve Thorpe | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Tyler Smith Watu | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Tjerk Wolterink | last post: by
1 post views Thread by liorhal | last post: by
1 post views Thread by db55 | last post: by
1 post views Thread by SkyGringo | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by guiromero | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.