470,636 Members | 1,582 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 470,636 developers. It's quick & easy.

SQL Server 2000 and Windows Server 2003

df
I have several database on a Windows Server 2003. I re-registered this SQL
server, which is local, and after that I cannot see any of the databases in
the Enterprise Manager. The databases still work, since my applications work
fine. I have no clue how can I make these databases visible in Enterprise
Manager. I tried registering this SQL Server in Enterprise Manager under
Windows accounts and SQL Server accounts. Nothing works.
Can anybody help?
Jul 23 '05 #1
9 1351
df (df@df.com) writes:
I have several database on a Windows Server 2003. I re-registered this
SQL server, which is local, and after that I cannot see any of the
databases in the Enterprise Manager. The databases still work, since my
applications work fine. I have no clue how can I make these databases
visible in Enterprise Manager. I tried registering this SQL Server in
Enterprise Manager under Windows accounts and SQL Server accounts.


I have no idea, but my guess is that you registered as a user that
does not have permission to these databases, and not as a user
that has admin priviledges.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #2
df wrote:
I have several database on a Windows Server 2003. I re-registered this SQL server, which is local, and after that I cannot see any of the databases in the Enterprise Manager. The databases still work, since my applications work fine. I have no clue how can I make these databases visible in Enterprise Manager. I tried registering this SQL Server in Enterprise Manager under Windows accounts and SQL Server accounts. Nothing works.
Can anybody help?


The account you use in Enterprse Manager probably has no admin
permission. Did you try "sa"? If your SQL Server doesn't allow SQL
login you need to RTFM and enable it.

Jul 23 '05 #3
df
Tried "sa", the same story. Tried Windows auth., no diff.
Only default databases are visible.

"Aquila Deus" <aq*********@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
df wrote:
I have several database on a Windows Server 2003. I re-registered

this SQL
server, which is local, and after that I cannot see any of the

databases in
the Enterprise Manager. The databases still work, since my

applications work
fine. I have no clue how can I make these databases visible in

Enterprise
Manager. I tried registering this SQL Server in Enterprise Manager

under
Windows accounts and SQL Server accounts. Nothing works.
Can anybody help?


The account you use in Enterprse Manager probably has no admin
permission. Did you try "sa"? If your SQL Server doesn't allow SQL
login you need to RTFM and enable it.

Jul 23 '05 #4
df
When I looked in the Windows services I see another instance of SQL Server
running. There are the following services:
MSSQL$DELLSRV
MSSqlSever

I have no clue how this could happen. But the question is how can I get to
the old instance???

"Aquila Deus" <aq*********@gmail.com> wrote in message
news:11**********************@f14g2000cwb.googlegr oups.com...
df wrote:
I have several database on a Windows Server 2003. I re-registered

this SQL
server, which is local, and after that I cannot see any of the

databases in
the Enterprise Manager. The databases still work, since my

applications work
fine. I have no clue how can I make these databases visible in

Enterprise
Manager. I tried registering this SQL Server in Enterprise Manager

under
Windows accounts and SQL Server accounts. Nothing works.
Can anybody help?


The account you use in Enterprse Manager probably has no admin
permission. Did you try "sa"? If your SQL Server doesn't allow SQL
login you need to RTFM and enable it.

Jul 23 '05 #5
df wrote:
When I looked in the Windows services I see another instance of SQL Server running. There are the following services:
MSSQL$DELLSRV
MSSqlSever

I have no clue how this could happen. But the question is how can I get to the old instance???


Depends on the network interface you configured for the two instances.
The default share memory is exclusive and can't be used by both (and
you may not be able to know who uses it exactly), so I suggest you to
enable named pipe for them, and re-register them in Enterprise Manager
by the named pipe path you set.

Jul 23 '05 #6
df (df@df.com) writes:
When I looked in the Windows services I see another instance of SQL Server
running. There are the following services:
MSSQL$DELLSRV
MSSqlSever

I have no clue how this could happen. But the question is how can I get to
the old instance???


So you have two instances of SQL Server on your machine, and you have
connected to the one that does not have any databases.

To connect to the default instance, specify "." or servername. To
connect to the other, specify ".\DELLSRV" or "servername\DELLSRV".

You might also want to check the Client Network Utility whether you
have any aliases.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #7
df
Thanks,

I have fixed the problem. I suspect that when I installed service packs, it
created the second instance, since I did not do it explicitly. I shut it
down, and registered the original one.
"Erland Sommarskog" <es****@sommarskog.se> wrote in message
news:Xn**********************@127.0.0.1...
df (df@df.com) writes:
When I looked in the Windows services I see another instance of SQL
Server
running. There are the following services:
MSSQL$DELLSRV
MSSqlSever

I have no clue how this could happen. But the question is how can I get
to
the old instance???


So you have two instances of SQL Server on your machine, and you have
connected to the one that does not have any databases.

To connect to the default instance, specify "." or servername. To
connect to the other, specify ".\DELLSRV" or "servername\DELLSRV".

You might also want to check the Client Network Utility whether you
have any aliases.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp

Jul 23 '05 #8
df (df@df.com) writes:
I have fixed the problem. I suspect that when I installed service packs,
it created the second instance, since I did not do it explicitly. I shut
it down, and registered the original one.


I don't know which of the instances was the unexpected one, but it
could be an MSDE instance that slipped in with some 3rd party software.
DELLSRV hints a certain vendor.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp
Jul 23 '05 #9
df
DELLSRV is my server name, I named it this way, no mistery here, it's DELL
server.

"Erland Sommarskog" <es****@sommarskog.se> wrote in message
news:Xn**********************@127.0.0.1...
df (df@df.com) writes:
I have fixed the problem. I suspect that when I installed service packs,
it created the second instance, since I did not do it explicitly. I shut
it down, and registered the original one.


I don't know which of the instances was the unexpected one, but it
could be an MSDE instance that slipped in with some 3rd party software.
DELLSRV hints a certain vendor.
--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, es****@sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server SP3 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/techinf...2000/books.asp

Jul 23 '05 #10

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

8 posts views Thread by Brad Tilley | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Petr PALAS | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Reza Sadeghi | last post: by
14 posts views Thread by Developer | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Korara | last post: by
???
reply views Thread by Stoney L | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.