471,337 Members | 1,093 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,337 software developers and data experts.



Each device within the wireless network (computer, printers,
auxiliaries) must be installed with a Network Interface Card, or NIC.
The NIC transmits wireless signals from the access device and enables
each device in the network to send and receive signals.

Installers must also decide which of three industry standards by which
to designate to the network. These industry standards are 802.11a,
802.11b, and 802.11g -- these names differing only in the last letter.
The "a" standard is the least common and incompatible with "b" and
"g." The b standard is most common. The g standard enables more robust
digital downloading, and can support with b. The b standard, however,
cannot support 'g'.
Nov 30 '07 #1
0 946

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

3 posts views Thread by Brian Elmegaard | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by Marius Horak | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by darkrats | last post: by
reply views Thread by Marcus | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Sean Chapman | last post: by
1 post views Thread by SPE - Stani's Python Editor | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by K.S.Wong | last post: by
reply views Thread by rosydwin | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.