473,396 Members | 2,108 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,396 software developers and data experts.

can't start Apache on Mac OS X--no listening sockets available?

I'm trying to get Apache set up on my system so I can use mod_python.
I installed Apache 2.2.4 according to the following instructions:

http://switch.richard5.net/isp-in-a-...#comment-30704

and everything seemed to install correctly, but I can't start Apache.
I typed in the following command:

$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:

and I got this error message:

httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName
(48)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address
0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

Any ideas?

Jun 26 '07 #1
10 8086
On Jun 25, 7:23 pm, 7stud <bbxx789_0...@yahoo.comwrote:
I'm trying to get Apache set up on my system so I can use mod_python.
I installed Apache 2.2.4 according to the following instructions:

http://switch.richard5.net/isp-in-a-...pache-on-mac-o...

and everything seemed to install correctly, but I can't start Apache.
I typed in the following command:

$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:

and I got this error message:

httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName
(48)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address
0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

Any ideas?
Do you have "Web Sharing" in the prefs on as well? Possibly the built-
in apache is already started on port 80.

I've had luck with these: http://www.serverlogistics.com/downloads.php

Except it's tuff to compile new versions into these. I failed at
getting PHP5 running under it, but they work well out of the box.

~Sean

Jun 26 '07 #2
On Jun 25, 7:23 pm, 7stud <bbxx789_0...@yahoo.comwrote:
>

I'm trying to get Apache set up on my system so I can use mod_python.
I installed Apache 2.2.4 according to the following instructions:
http://switch.richard5.net/isp-in-a-...pache-on-mac-o...
and everything seemed to install correctly, but I can't start Apache.
I typed in the following command:
$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:
and I got this error message:
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName
(48)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address
0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
Any ideas?

Do you have "Web Sharing" in the prefs on as well?
I checked and to my surprise Personal Web Sharing was turned on. I
was messing around with it yesterday because I thought that might have
something to do with my problems, but I couldn't get Personal Web
Sharing to start--it just said "Web Sharing starting up...", and it
never did.

Anyway, I turned Personal Web Sharing off, and then the error message
changed to this:

$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName

However, I checked the All Processes page in the Activity Monitor, and
it said httpd was running. So I tested my apache installation by
typing http:/localhost in Safari's address bar, and a page displayed
saying "It works!". But I wondered if that page was being served up
by the pre-installed version of Apache or my new installation. So, I
went into my new installation's directory and looked at the file:

/Library/Apache2/htdocs/index.html

and changed the text from "It works!" to "Apache 2.2.4", but when I
retyped http:/localhost in Safari's address bar, I still got a page
saying "It works!", so that page is not being served by my new
installation.

Jun 26 '07 #3
Ok. If I try to start Personal Web Sharing while Apache is running,
it says "Web Sharing starting up...", but it never does. Then if I
close the window and restart my imac, my imac boots up with Personal
Web Sharing turned on.

I still can't figure out where the page that says "It works!" is
located. It must be in the pre installed apache directory, but I have
no idea where it is on my imac. And, I don't understand why the page
isn't being served up by my new installation since I started the new
Apache using the command:

$sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start

I didn't start the pre-installed Apache.

Also, when I look at the Activity monitor, there is an httpd root
process with pid 285, and then there are 6 daemon http processes with
pids 286, 287, 288, 289, 290, 291. What is that all about?

Jun 26 '07 #4
On 6/26/07, 7stud <bb**********@yahoo.comwrote:
Ok. If I try to start Personal Web Sharing while Apache is running,
it says "Web Sharing starting up...", but it never does. Then if I
close the window and restart my imac, my imac boots up with Personal
Web Sharing turned on.

I still can't figure out where the page that says "It works!" is
located. It must be in the pre installed apache directory, but I have
no idea where it is on my imac. And, I don't understand why the page
isn't being served up by my new installation since I started the new
Apache using the command:

$sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start

I didn't start the pre-installed Apache.

Also, when I look at the Activity monitor, there is an httpd root
process with pid 285, and then there are 6 daemon http processes with
pids 286, 287, 288, 289, 290, 291. What is that all about?

--
http://mail.python.org/mailman/listinfo/python-list
If apache2 works on macs how it does on linux (it should, right?)
there should be Apache2/sites-enabled and Apache2/sites-available
directories - the "default" files in these will tell you what pages
are being served, I believe.

Maybe apachectl restart?

Also, I think the processes are normal, but I'm not sure. Apache is a
pretty heavyweight server.
Jun 26 '07 #5
On Jun 26, 12:52 am, kaens <apatheticagnos...@gmail.comwrote:
If apache2 works on macs how it does on linux (it should, right?)
there should be Apache2/sites-enabled and Apache2/sites-available
directories - the "default" files in these will tell you what pages
are being served, I believe.
There are no such directories in my new installation directory /
Library/Apache2
Also, I think the processes are normal, but I'm not sure. Apache is a
pretty heavyweight server.
Ok.
Jun 26 '07 #6
Well, I'm able to put html pages in /Library/Apache2/htdocs/ and
access them in Safari as I would expect:

http://localhost/test.htm

and I can access the index.html page in that directory:

http://localhost/index.html

and it displays:

It works! Apache 2.2.4

But, if I just use the address http://localhost/ in Safari, this is
displayed:

It works!

Where is that coming from? Is the original index.html page(before I
changed it and added "Apache 2.2.4") cached by Safari somehow? That
doesn't make any sense to me because when I explicitly request
index.html, I get the changed output.
Jun 26 '07 #7
On Jun 26, 1:34 am, 7stud <bbxx789_0...@yahoo.comwrote:
Where is that coming from? Is the original index.html page(before I
changed it and added "Apache 2.2.4") cached by Safari somehow? That
doesn't make any sense to me because when I explicitly request
index.html, I get the changed output.
I looked around in Safari for a bit, and I found Empty Cache under the
Safari menu item. So I emptied the cache and now when I use the
address http://localhost, I get the changed index.html page. So
Safari was caching the original page. I guess Safari associate the
address http://localhost with the original index.html page, and Safari
would not display the updated index.html page when I used that address
again.

Jun 26 '07 #8
On Jun 25, 11:09 pm, 7stud <bbxx789_0...@yahoo.comwrote:
On Jun 25, 7:23 pm, 7stud <bbxx789_0...@yahoo.comwrote:
I'm trying to get Apache set up on my system so I can use mod_python.
I installed Apache 2.2.4 according to the following instructions:
>http://switch.richard5.net/isp-in-a-...pache-on-mac-o...
and everything seemed to install correctly, but I can't start Apache.
I typed in the following command:
$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:
and I got this error message:
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName
(48)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address
0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
Any ideas?
Do you have "Web Sharing" in the prefs on as well?

I checked and to my surprise Personal Web Sharing was turned on. I
was messing around with it yesterday because I thought that might have
something to do with my problems, but I couldn't get Personal Web
Sharing to start--it just said "Web Sharing starting up...", and it
never did.

Anyway, I turned Personal Web Sharing off, and then the error message
changed to this:

$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:
httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName

However, I checked the All Processes page in the Activity Monitor, and
it said httpd was running. So I tested my apache installation by
typing http:/localhost in Safari's address bar, and a page displayed
saying "It works!". But I wondered if that page was being served up
by the pre-installed version of Apache or my new installation. So, I
went into my new installation's directory and looked at the file:

/Library/Apache2/htdocs/index.html

and changed the text from "It works!" to "Apache 2.2.4", but when I
retyped http:/localhost in Safari's address bar, I still got a page
saying "It works!", so that page is not being served by my new
installation.
Console and the system logs are an invaluable debugging tool on Macs.
Bet you have some errors there saying why apache couldnt stop/start.

Glad you got it working.

~Sean

Jun 26 '07 #9
Console and the system logs are an invaluable debugging tool on Macs.
Bet you have some errors there saying why apache couldnt stop/start.
What/where is Console and how do I look at the system logs?

Jun 26 '07 #10
7stud a écrit :
I'm trying to get Apache set up on my system so I can use mod_python.
I installed Apache 2.2.4 according to the following instructions:

http://switch.richard5.net/isp-in-a-...#comment-30704

and everything seemed to install correctly, but I can't start Apache.
I typed in the following command:

$ sudo /Library/Apache2/bin/apachectl start
Password:

and I got this error message:

httpd: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified
domain name, using tms-computer.local for ServerName
(48)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address
0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs

Any ideas?
yes : please post on a Mac newsgroup. This has nothing to do with Python.

This group is highly tolerant[1], but you'll probably find the best
answers on a mac-related newsgroup, because that's where the Mac expert
are (or at least are supposed to be).

[1] as a matter of fact, you got some answers to a totally OT post not
even labelled as such - on some ng you would have been shot down in
flames instead...
Jun 26 '07 #11

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

7
by: berehneh | last post by:
i can install apache in windows 2000 professional but when i was to install it in a LAN it cant run correctly when i type http://localhost/ in browser i recieve The page can not find why?
2
by: Joseph | last post by:
for some reason i dont get any errors, but i believe that my server is not running on port 1433. the tcpip protocol is selected in the network configuration utility as well as name piper. the port...
6
by: bettina | last post by:
I downloaded and installed apache_2.0.54-win32-x86-no_ssl.msi By running bin\Apache -k install I receive th following message: <OS 10048>Normalerweise darf jede Socketadresse <Protokoll,...
0
by: Sebasti?n Streiger | last post by:
Hi everybody: I´ve created my first ASP.Net Web Page and I´m trying to start if from Web Matrix. It them asks me for the Aplication Directory, witch is correct and the Port to use. I tried with...
12
by: Crirus | last post by:
Hi! I havea control that display messages... I added a timer to it Every time a noew mesaage should be displayed I do the following: Private sub ShowMsg(message as string) Me.lblStatus.Text...
24
by: ljudgementl | last post by:
hey guys, i'm currently using the newest version of apache with vista business. after finishing installing, it pops up an error msg saying that i must change my httpd config before using the service....
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often receive Excel tables with data in the same format. If we want to analyze these data, it can be difficult to analyze them because the data is spread across multiple Excel files...
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
marktang
by: marktang | last post by:
ONU (Optical Network Unit) is one of the key components for providing high-speed Internet services. Its primary function is to act as an endpoint device located at the user's premises. However,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Most computers default to English, but sometimes we require a different language, especially when relocating. Forgot to request a specific language before your computer shipped? No problem! You can...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.