467,144 Members | 1,439 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
Ask Question

Home New Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 467,144 developers. It's quick & easy.

outtputting dynamic link in xml tag using php

hi,
i am trying to create an xml tag ref to hold link.php?id=1; or
link.php?id=2 and so on.
I want the links for all the fields(id) in the databse so that when i
call them in my html page for google maps i have the whole link.The
tag in the php page i am using is

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
the tag in html is
<a href="+ref+">" +"more info"+ "</a>"

Link.php takes in the id and runs a query and displays results based
on id.

Please tell me if what i am doing is rite or wrong.Also what is the
best way for me to go ahead with this.
Thanking You,
Prashant Kalyanraman
Jun 30 '08 #1
  • viewed: 2496
Share:
12 Replies
prashant wrote:
hi,
i am trying to create an xml tag ref to hold link.php?id=1; or
link.php?id=2 and so on.
I want the links for all the fields(id) in the databse so that when i
call them in my html page for google maps i have the whole link.The
tag in the php page i am using is

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
the tag in html is
<a href="+ref+">" +"more info"+ "</a>"

Link.php takes in the id and runs a query and displays results based
on id.

Please tell me if what i am doing is rite or wrong.Also what is the
best way for me to go ahead with this.
Thanking You,
Prashant Kalyanraman
As long as there are no security concerns with the data, it should work
fine.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 1 '08 #2
On Jun 30, 5:45 pm, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
prashant wrote:
hi,
i am trying to create an xml tag ref to hold link.php?id=1; or
link.php?id=2 and so on.
I want the links for all the fields(id) in the databse so that when i
call them in my html page for google maps i have the whole link.The
tag in the php page i am using is
echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
the tag in html is
<a href="+ref+">" +"more info"+ "</a>"
Link.php takes in the id and runs a query and displays results based
on id.
Please tell me if what i am doing is rite or wrong.Also what is the
best way for me to go ahead with this.
Thanking You,
Prashant Kalyanraman

As long as there are no security concerns with the data, it should work
fine.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
=================
when i run the file it gives me the iutout with an errror. the two
equal to signs used in the same line r clashing.is there a work around?
Jul 1 '08 #3
prashant wrote:
On Jun 30, 5:45 pm, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
>prashant wrote:
>>hi,
i am trying to create an xml tag ref to hold link.php?id=1; or
link.php?id=2 and so on.
I want the links for all the fields(id) in the databse so that when i
call them in my html page for google maps i have the whole link.The
tag in the php page i am using is
echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
the tag in html is
<a href="+ref+">" +"more info"+ "</a>"
Link.php takes in the id and runs a query and displays results based
on id.
Please tell me if what i am doing is rite or wrong.Also what is the
best way for me to go ahead with this.
Thanking You,
Prashant Kalyanraman
As long as there are no security concerns with the data, it should work
fine.

when i run the file it gives me the iutout with an errror. the two
equal to signs used in the same line r clashing.is there a work around?
OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.

when you do

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';

You should get on your page (see the page source!)

ref="link.php?id=42"

if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 1 '08 #4
Message-ID: <g4**********@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.

when you do

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';

You should get on your page (see the page source!)

ref="link.php?id=42"

if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
Perhaps he wants :

<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
--
Geoff Berrow 0110001001101100010000000110
001101101011011001000110111101100111001011
100110001101101111001011100111010101101011
Jul 1 '08 #5
Geoff Berrow wrote:
Message-ID: <g4**********@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.

when you do

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';

You should get on your page (see the page source!)

ref="link.php?id=42"

if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?

Perhaps he wants :

<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 1 '08 #6
Jerry Stuckle wrote:
Geoff Berrow wrote:
>Message-ID: <g4**********@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
>>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.

when you do

echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';

You should get on your page (see the page source!)

ref="link.php?id=42"

if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?

Perhaps he wants :

<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>

Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.
Sorry, I mean Geoff...

Too early in the morning :-)

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 1 '08 #7
On Jul 1, 3:45 am, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
Jerry Stuckle wrote:
Geoff Berrow wrote:
Message-ID: <g4c9dn$7a...@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.
>when you do
>echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
>You should get on your page (see the page source!)
> ref="link.php?id=42"
>if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
Perhaps he wants :
<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.

Sorry, I mean Geoff...

Too early in the morning :-)

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================
sorry for not being clearer. the error is jus b4 county. i want to
display the output in xml form.

the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: http://localhost/pra/newphpgend.php
Line Number 1, Column 119:<markers><marker name="Newark, Memorial,
High" street="39375 Cedar Blvd." city="Newark" zip="94560"
ref="link.php?id=1"county="Alameda"

once agian my line of code is echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] .
'"';
Jul 1 '08 #8
On Jul 1, 10:56 am, prashant <prashant.kalyanra...@gmail.comwrote:
On Jul 1, 3:45 am, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
Jerry Stuckle wrote:
Geoff Berrow wrote:
>Message-ID: <g4c9dn$7a...@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
>contained the following:
>>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.
>>when you do
>>echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
>>You should get on your page (see the page source!)
>> ref="link.php?id=42"
>>if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
>Perhaps he wants :
><a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.
Sorry, I mean Geoff...
Too early in the morning :-)
--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================
Thank you for all your help but i am still stuck
sorry for not being clearer. the error is jus b4 county. i want to
display the output in xml form.

the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location:http://localhost/pra/newphpgend.php
Line Number 1, Column 119:<markers><marker name="Newark, Memorial,
High" street="39375 Cedar Blvd." city="Newark" zip="94560"
ref="link.php?id=1"county="Alameda"

once agian my line of code is echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] .
'"';
I am using php to generate ouput in xml form using mysql as my
database.Then i am calling the xml output in my html page(this html
page is for google maps).Every school present in my xml file is
displayed in the form of markers in google map. when clicked on a
marker it displays lat,long,district,county etc. I would also like to
have a link for every school i display on the map.initially i tried
making static pages and static links but it was too tedious. so i
created a page link.php which takes in id and displays the information
about school.

The dynamic link on either the php page or html page. i am trying to
make small changes to my php page to make it work since i wasnt able
to do it on tht html page.

so the code i wrote on my phph page is

echo '<markers>';

// Iterate through the rows, printing XML nodes for each
while ($row = @mysql_fetch_assoc($result)){
// ADD TO XML DOCUMENT NODE
echo '<marker ';
echo 'name="' . $row['name'] . '" ';
echo 'street="' . $row['street'] . '" ';
echo 'city="' . $row['city'] . '" ';
echo 'zip="' . $row['zip'] . '" ';
echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
echo 'county="' . $row['county'] . '" ';
echo 'earthquake="' . $row['earthquake'] . '" ';
echo 'lat="' . $row['lat'] . '" ';
echo 'lng="' . $row['lng'] . '" ';
echo 'type="' . $row['type'] . '" ';
echo '/>';

}
// End XML file
echo '</markers>';

?>
with other corresponding information on top.without the echo ref my
code works perfectly fine.

on my html page the imprtant functions i am using are

function load() {
if (GBrowserIsCompatible()) {
var map = new GMap2(document.getElementById("map"));
map.addControl(new GSmallMapControl());
map.addControl(new GMapTypeControl());
map.setCenter(new GLatLng(37.618412, -122.041893), 10);

GDownloadUrl("newphpgen.php", function(data) {
var xml = GXml.parse(data);
var markers =
xml.documentElement.getElementsByTagName("marker") ;
for (var i = 0; i < markers.length; i++) {
var name = markers[i].getAttribute("name");
var street = markers[i].getAttribute("street");
var type = markers[i].getAttribute("type");
var city = markers[i].getAttribute("city");
var zip = markers[i].getAttribute("zip");
var earthquake = markers[i].getAttribute("earthquake");
var link = markers[i].getAttribute("link");
var linkss = markers[i].getAttribute("linkss");
var point = new
GLatLng(parseFloat(markers[i].getAttribute("lat")),

parseFloat(markers[i].getAttribute("lng")));
var marker = createMarker(point, name, type,link, linkss,
city, zip, street, earthquake);
map.addOverlay(marker);
map.setMapType(G_HYBRID_TYPE);
}
function createMarker(point, name, type,link, linkss, city, zip,
street, earthquake) {
var marker = new GMarker(point, customIcons[type]);
//var html = "<b>" + name +"<br/></b>" + street + "<br/>"+ city
+"&nbsp;" + zip +"<br/><b>Earthquake: " + earthquake + "</b><br/><a
href="+link+">" +"more info"+ "</a>";
currently i am suing static link to schools but now i hav a databse of
15000 records and making a link for every field would not be feasible.
can u please tell me what would be the best solution
Jul 1 '08 #9
Message-ID:
<6f**********************************@i36g2000prf. googlegroups.comfrom
prashant contained the following:
>
the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
So it's an XML problem then?

--
Regards,

Geoff Berrow
Jul 1 '08 #10
prashant wrote:
On Jul 1, 3:45 am, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
>Jerry Stuckle wrote:
>>Geoff Berrow wrote:
Message-ID: <g4c9dn$7a...@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.
when you do
echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
You should get on your page (see the page source!)
ref="link.php?id=42"
if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
Perhaps he wants :
<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.
Sorry, I mean Geoff...

Too early in the morning :-)

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================

sorry for not being clearer. the error is jus b4 county. i want to
display the output in xml form.

the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location: http://localhost/pra/newphpgend.php
Line Number 1, Column 119:<markers><marker name="Newark, Memorial,
High" street="39375 Cedar Blvd." city="Newark" zip="94560"
ref="link.php?id=1"county="Alameda"

once agian my line of code is echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] .
'"';
So you have an xml problem. To me it looks like you need a space before
country.

Otherwise - check an XML group with your source to determine what's
wrong with the xml itself. Then adjust your PHP code to fix it.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 1 '08 #11
On Jul 1, 2:12 pm, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
prashant wrote:
On Jul 1, 3:45 am, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
Jerry Stuckle wrote:
Geoff Berrow wrote:
Message-ID: <g4c9dn$7a...@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
contained the following:
OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.
when you do
echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
You should get on your page (see the page source!)
ref="link.php?id=42"
if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
Perhaps he wants :
<a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.
Sorry, I mean Geoff...
Too early in the morning :-)
--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================
sorry for not being clearer. the error is jus b4 county. i want to
display the output in xml form.
the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location:http://localhost/pra/newphpgend.php
Line Number 1, Column 119:<markers><marker name="Newark, Memorial,
High" street="39375 Cedar Blvd." city="Newark" zip="94560"
ref="link.php?id=1"county="Alameda"
once agian my line of code is echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] .
'"';

So you have an xml problem. To me it looks like you need a space before
country.

Otherwise - check an XML group with your source to determine what's
wrong with the xml itself. Then adjust your PHP code to fix it.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================
thanx a lot for ur help i used a sql query and generated a dynamic
link using the concat command
Jul 2 '08 #12
prashant wrote:
On Jul 1, 2:12 pm, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
>prashant wrote:
>>On Jul 1, 3:45 am, Jerry Stuckle <jstuck...@attglobal.netwrote:
Jerry Stuckle wrote:
Geoff Berrow wrote:
>Message-ID: <g4c9dn$7a...@registered.motzarella.orgfrom Jerry Stuckle
>contained the following:
>>OK, I guess I don't understand just what you're trying to do then.
>>when you do
>>echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] . '"';
>>You should get on your page (see the page source!)
>> ref="link.php?id=42"
>>if $row['id'] is 42. Are you not getting this?
>Perhaps he wants :
><a href="link.php?id=<?php echo $row['id']; ?>">more info</a>
Coule be, Jeff. I wish I knew. The code he has doesn't make a lot of
sense.
Sorry, I mean Geoff...
Too early in the morning :-)
--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================
sorry for not being clearer. the error is jus b4 county. i want to
display the output in xml form.
the output i get is
XML Parsing Error: not well-formed
Location:http://localhost/pra/newphpgend.php
Line Number 1, Column 119:<markers><marker name="Newark, Memorial,
High" street="39375 Cedar Blvd." city="Newark" zip="94560"
ref="link.php?id=1"county="Alameda"
once agian my line of code is echo 'ref="link.php?id='.$row['id'] .
'"';
So you have an xml problem. To me it looks like you need a space before
country.

Otherwise - check an XML group with your source to determine what's
wrong with the xml itself. Then adjust your PHP code to fix it.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
jstuck...@attglobal.net
==================

thanx a lot for ur help i used a sql query and generated a dynamic
link using the concat command
My advice still stands, no matter how you generate the link.

--
==================
Remove the "x" from my email address
Jerry Stuckle
JDS Computer Training Corp.
js*******@attglobal.net
==================

Jul 3 '08 #13

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

4 posts views Thread by Daniel Keller | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by MikeY | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by WebBuilder451 | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by JWL | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by pittendrigh | last post: by
12 posts views Thread by Lazoris | last post: by
2 posts views Thread by David W | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.