471,082 Members | 784 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,082 software developers and data experts.

how to access oracle from php4

Hi,
Can anyone tell me how to access oracle from php. Im using CentOS 4
with php4 already installed. From what I found after a bit of
googling...php will have to be recompiled with oracle support. This
seems to be a lot tedious.
Anyone with an advic on how to use oracle with php.

Im using CentOS4
php4
oracle10g

Thanks
Danish

Jan 10 '07 #1
3 2533
On 10 Jan 2007 08:34:57 -0800, "danish" <me***********@gmail.comwrote:
>Can anyone tell me how to access oracle from php. Im using CentOS 4
with php4 already installed. From what I found after a bit of
googling...php will have to be recompiled with oracle support. This
seems to be a lot tedious.
Anyone with an advic on how to use oracle with php.

Im using CentOS4
php4
oracle10g
You don't have to recompile PHP, as you can build the oci8 extension (which
connects PHP to Oracle) as a shared module.

In fact, for PHP 4 that's probably the better course of action, as you can use
the newer version of the extension, which is better than the one bundled in
PHP4.

You can get it from http://pecl.php.net/package/oci8 , which comes with
install instructions.

The functions it provides are documented at http://php.net/oci8

--
Andy Hassall :: an**@andyh.co.uk :: http://www.andyh.co.uk
http://www.andyhsoftware.co.uk/space :: disk and FTP usage analysis tool
Jan 10 '07 #2

Andy Hassall wrote:
On 10 Jan 2007 08:34:57 -0800, "danish" <me***********@gmail.comwrote:
Can anyone tell me how to access oracle from php. Im using CentOS 4
with php4 already installed. From what I found after a bit of
googling...php will have to be recompiled with oracle support. This
seems to be a lot tedious.
Anyone with an advic on how to use oracle with php.

Im using CentOS4
php4
oracle10g

You don't have to recompile PHP, as you can build the oci8 extension (which
connects PHP to Oracle) as a shared module.

In fact, for PHP 4 that's probably the better course of action, as you can use
the newer version of the extension, which is better than the one bundled in
PHP4.

You can get it from http://pecl.php.net/package/oci8 , which comes with
install instructions.

The functions it provides are documented at http://php.net/oci8

--
Andy Hassall :: an**@andyh.co.uk :: http://www.andyh.co.uk
http://www.andyhsoftware.co.uk/space :: disk and FTP usage analysis tool
thanks I downloaded the software oci8-1.2.0...but now how do I compile
and build it..there is no configure file..The php4 that I have is a
binary package...

Thanks
Danish

Jan 11 '07 #3
danish wrote:
>
Andy Hassall wrote:
>On 10 Jan 2007 08:34:57 -0800, "danish" <me***********@gmail.comwrote:
>Can anyone tell me how to access oracle from php. Im using CentOS 4
with php4 already installed. From what I found after a bit of
googling...php will have to be recompiled with oracle support. This
seems to be a lot tedious.
Anyone with an advic on how to use oracle with php.

Im using CentOS4
php4
oracle10g

You don't have to recompile PHP, as you can build the oci8 extension
(which
connects PHP to Oracle) as a shared module.
Reread what Andy wrote.
'shared module'.
You do not have to recompile PHP.
Just uncomment the relevant part in php.ini and make sure you place the so
or dll in the right directory.
And of course as Andy indicated, read the installinstructions.

Regards,
Erwin Moller

>>
In fact, for PHP 4 that's probably the better course of action, as you
can use
the newer version of the extension, which is better than the one bundled
in PHP4.

You can get it from http://pecl.php.net/package/oci8 , which comes with
install instructions.

The functions it provides are documented at http://php.net/oci8

--
Andy Hassall :: an**@andyh.co.uk :: http://www.andyh.co.uk
http://www.andyhsoftware.co.uk/space :: disk and FTP usage analysis tool

thanks I downloaded the software oci8-1.2.0...but now how do I compile
and build it..there is no configure file..The php4 that I have is a
binary package...

Thanks
Danish
Jan 11 '07 #4

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by Ollivier Robert | last post: by
7 posts views Thread by Geoff Muldoon | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Jon Ole Hedne | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by Keith E. Sauvant | last post: by
4 posts views Thread by Radix | last post: by
1 post views Thread by K. A. | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.