471,852 Members | 955 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post +

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 471,852 software developers and data experts.

PHP, MySQL and BIT field

Please can somebody give me an advice?

my MySQL table contains bit field

Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0

I read records using

$result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
$registered = $row['Registered'];

Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?

Thank you in advance! Vojta
Sep 18 '06 #1
5 23428

Vojta wrote:
Please can somebody give me an advice?

my MySQL table contains bit field

Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0

I read records using

$result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
$registered = $row['Registered'];

Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?

Thank you in advance! Vojta
I'm not sure if this works, but have you tryed if
(!is_null($registered)) {} ?

Sep 18 '06 #2
On Mon, 18 Sep 2006 15:42:55 +0200, in comp.lang.php "Vojta"
<ry**@centrum.cz>
<ee***********@ns.felk.cvut.czwrote:
>| Please can somebody give me an advice?
|
| my MySQL table contains bit field
|
| Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0
|
| I read records using
|
| $result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
| $row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
| $registered = $row['Registered'];
|
| Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
| value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
| Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?
|
| Thank you in advance! Vojta
|
The value is either 0000 or 0001 - not to be confused with ascii(0) or
ascii(1).
---------------------------------------------------------------
jn******@yourpantsyahoo.com.au : Remove your pants to reply
---------------------------------------------------------------
Sep 18 '06 #3
Hello Iulian, thank you for your reply.

!is_null($registered) is allways evaluated as TRUE

Vojta

"iulian.ilea" <iu*********@gmail.compíse v diskusním príspevku
news:11**********************@i3g2000cwc.googlegro ups.com...
>
Vojta wrote:
>Please can somebody give me an advice?

my MySQL table contains bit field

Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0

I read records using

$result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
$row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
$registered = $row['Registered'];

Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?

Thank you in advance! Vojta
I'm not sure if this works, but have you tryed if
(!is_null($registered)) {} ?

Sep 19 '06 #4
Hello Jeff, thank you for reply. I tried following expressions, they are
allways evalueted:

($registered == 1) as false
($registered == '1') as false
($registered == '0001') as false
((boolean)$registered) as true
(!is_null($registered)) as true

(integer)$registered prints allways 0

Please, how exactly should I work with $register variable?

Vojta

"Jeff North" <jn******@yahoo.com.aupíse v diskusním príspevku
news:7h********************************@4ax.com...
On Mon, 18 Sep 2006 15:42:55 +0200, in comp.lang.php "Vojta"
<ry**@centrum.cz>
<ee***********@ns.felk.cvut.czwrote:
>>| Please can somebody give me an advice?
|
| my MySQL table contains bit field
|
| Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0
|
| I read records using
|
| $result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
| $row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
| $registered = $row['Registered'];
|
| Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
| value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
| Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?
|
| Thank you in advance! Vojta
|

The value is either 0000 or 0001 - not to be confused with ascii(0) or
ascii(1).
---------------------------------------------------------------
jn******@yourpantsyahoo.com.au : Remove your pants to reply
---------------------------------------------------------------

Sep 19 '06 #5
On Tue, 19 Sep 2006 11:32:08 +0200, in comp.lang.php "Vojta"
<ry**@centrum.cz>
<ee**********@ns.felk.cvut.czwrote:
>| Hello Jeff, thank you for reply. I tried following expressions, they are
| allways evalueted:
|
| ($registered == 1) as false
| ($registered == '1') as false
| ($registered == '0001') as false
Huh??? False = 0 whereas True != 0
>| ((boolean)$registered) as true
| (!is_null($registered)) as true
This would return $registered=0 as true.
>| (integer)$registered prints allways 0
|
| Please, how exactly should I work with $register variable?
|
| Vojta
how about:
if( !is_null($registered) )
{
if( $registered 0 )
//--- do true stuff
else
//--- do false stuff
}
>| "Jeff North" <jn******@yahoo.com.aupíse v diskusním príspevku
| news:7h********************************@4ax.com...
| On Mon, 18 Sep 2006 15:42:55 +0200, in comp.lang.php "Vojta"
| <ry**@centrum.cz>
| <ee***********@ns.felk.cvut.czwrote:
| >
| >>| Please can somebody give me an advice?
| >>|
| >>| my MySQL table contains bit field
| >>|
| >>| Registered BIT(1) NOT NULL DEFAULT 0
| >>|
| >>| I read records using
| >>|
| >>| $result = mysql_query('SELECT * FROM MyUsers');
| >>| $row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
| >>| $registered = $row['Registered'];
| >>|
| >>| Command "echo $registered;" shows nothing or rectangles depending on the
| >>| value, it's ok. But I do not know how to use it in IF statements or so.
| >>| Whatever I try does not work. How can I work with such values in PHP?
| >>|
| >>| Thank you in advance! Vojta
| >>|
| >
| The value is either 0000 or 0001 - not to be confused with ascii(0) or
| ascii(1).
| ---------------------------------------------------------------
| jn******@yourpantsyahoo.com.au : Remove your pants to reply
| ---------------------------------------------------------------
|
---------------------------------------------------------------
jn******@yourpantsyahoo.com.au : Remove your pants to reply
---------------------------------------------------------------
Sep 20 '06 #6

This discussion thread is closed

Replies have been disabled for this discussion.

Similar topics

2 posts views Thread by Yulia Yegenov | last post: by
3 posts views Thread by kingofkolt | last post: by
5 posts views Thread by glakk | last post: by
reply views Thread by jnam | last post: by
reply views Thread by markwalsen | last post: by
NeoPa
reply views Thread by NeoPa | last post: by

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.