473,396 Members | 1,968 Online
Bytes | Software Development & Data Engineering Community
Post Job

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Join Bytes to post your question to a community of 473,396 software developers and data experts.

Consumming a WebService in the same time

Hi,

I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call
it with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two
browsers, the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not
available!!

Any idea ?
Sep 29 '08 #1
7 2135
And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )

Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and Cassini
doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine

running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini

regards

hth

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Hi,

I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call it
with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two browsers,
the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not available!!

Any idea ?


Oct 5 '08 #2
Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )

Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and Cassini
doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine

running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini

regards

hth

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>Hi,

I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call it
with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two browsers, the
IE page tells me that the apllication server is not available!!

Any idea ?

Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0

But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the
same time, the server becomes unavailable

In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID*: 888) stopped unexpectedly

Any idea ?
Oct 8 '08 #3

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
>And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )

Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and Cassini
doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine

running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini

regards

hth

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>>Hi,

I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call it
with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two browsers,
the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not available!!

Any idea ?


Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0

But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the
same time, the server becomes unavailable

In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID : 888) stopped unexpectedly

Any idea ?
Hello,
Does it access a external resource , maybe a file that is locked by the
previous call that is still running
ofcourse above is just wild guessing as you do not provide info about what
your webservice does so the question from my side is
what does your webservice code ?

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com


Oct 8 '08 #4
Michel Posseth [MCP] a présenté l'énoncé suivant :
"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
>>And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )

Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and Cassini
doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine

running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini

regards

hth

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Hi,

I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call it
with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two browsers,
the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not available!!

Any idea ?


Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0

But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the same
time, the server becomes unavailable

In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID : 888) stopped unexpectedly

Any idea ?

Hello,
Does it access a external resource , maybe a file that is locked by the
previous call that is still running
ofcourse above is just wild guessing as you do not provide info about what
your webservice does so the question from my side is
what does your webservice code ?

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com
In resume, my webservice code calls a function in a DLL. This DLL is
created with a RAD(Clarion). In this function there is a query to a
Oracle Database and it returns the content of a field's table (a
integer number)

Here my webservice code :
<WebMethod()Public Function TotoWait(ByVal intIn As Int32) As String
Dim hInst As Integer
Dim intClock As Int32

Try
intClock = ps_totowait(intIn)'call the Clarion's DLL

TotoWait = intClock.ToString
Catch ax As AccessViolationException
TotoWait = ax.Message
Catch ex As Exception
TotoWait = ex.Message
End Try
End Function

When I run my webservice at the same time, the first call returns the
right result and the second returns this error "Attempted to read or
write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory
is corrupt."

Any idea ?
Oct 9 '08 #5


"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Michel Posseth [MCP] a présenté l'énoncé suivant :
>"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>>Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )

Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and
Cassini doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other
computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine

running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini

regards

hth

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Hi,
>
I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call
it with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two
browsers, the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not
available!!
>
Any idea ?
>
>

Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0

But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the
same time, the server becomes unavailable

In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID : 888) stopped unexpectedly

Any idea ?

Hello,
Does it access a external resource , maybe a file that is locked by the
previous call that is still running
ofcourse above is just wild guessing as you do not provide info about
what your webservice does so the question from my side is
what does your webservice code ?

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

In resume, my webservice code calls a function in a DLL. This DLL is
created with a RAD(Clarion). In this function there is a query to a Oracle
Database and it returns the content of a field's table (a integer number)

Here my webservice code :
<WebMethod()Public Function TotoWait(ByVal intIn As Int32) As String
Dim hInst As Integer
Dim intClock As Int32

Try
intClock = ps_totowait(intIn)'call the Clarion's DLL

TotoWait = intClock.ToString
Catch ax As AccessViolationException
TotoWait = ax.Message
Catch ex As Exception
TotoWait = ex.Message
End Try
End Function

When I run my webservice at the same time, the first call returns the
right result and the second returns this error "Attempted to read or write
protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is
corrupt."

Any idea ?
Hello Amirallia

If the source of the exception is source="Oracle.DataAccess"
then the cause is probably that you are not calling .Read() on your
OracleDataReader before calling .GetValue

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com


Oct 9 '08 #6
Michel Posseth a exposé le 09.10.2008 :
>
"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>Michel Posseth [MCP] a présenté l'énoncé suivant :
>>"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )
>
Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and Cassini
doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other computers
so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine
>
running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini
>
regards
>
hth
>
Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com
>
>
>
"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>Hi,
>>
>I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call
>it with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two
>browsers, the IE page tells me that the apllication server is not
>available!!
>>
>Any idea ?
>>
>>

Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0

But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the
same time, the server becomes unavailable

In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID : 888) stopped unexpectedly

Any idea ?
Hello,
Does it access a external resource , maybe a file that is locked by the
previous call that is still running
ofcourse above is just wild guessing as you do not provide info about what
your webservice does so the question from my side is
what does your webservice code ?

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

In resume, my webservice code calls a function in a DLL. This DLL is
created with a RAD(Clarion). In this function there is a query to a Oracle
Database and it returns the content of a field's table (a integer number)

Here my webservice code :
<WebMethod()Public Function TotoWait(ByVal intIn As Int32) As String
Dim hInst As Integer
Dim intClock As Int32

Try
intClock = ps_totowait(intIn)'call the Clarion's DLL

TotoWait = intClock.ToString
Catch ax As AccessViolationException
TotoWait = ax.Message
Catch ex As Exception
TotoWait = ex.Message
End Try
End Function

When I run my webservice at the same time, the first call returns the right
result and the second returns this error "Attempted to read or write
protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is
corrupt."

Any idea ?

Hello Amirallia

If the source of the exception is source="Oracle.DataAccess"
then the cause is probably that you are not calling .Read() on your
OracleDataReader before calling .GetValue

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com
Thanks for your help !!!!

The source of the exception is the name of the web service and ot
Oracle.DataAccess.

The StackTrace of the exception pointed to the line intClock =
ps_totowait(intIn).
Oct 9 '08 #7

"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Michel Posseth a exposé le 09.10.2008 :
>>
"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
>>Michel Posseth [MCP] a présenté l'énoncé suivant :
"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch...
Michel Posseth [MCP] avait écrit le 05.10.2008 :
>And is your webservice installed in IIS ???? ( i guess not )
>>
>Cause if you are running it from the IDE it runs in Cassini and
>Cassini doesn`t allow multiple connections or connections from other
>computers
>so install your service in IIS and everything should work fine
>>
>running it from a non virtual directory in the IDE = Cassini
>>
>regards
>>
>hth
>>
>Michel Posseth [MCP]
>http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com
>>
>>
>>
>"Amirallia" <bn**@bluewin.chschreef in bericht
>news:mn***********************@bluewin.ch.. .
>>Hi,
>>>
>>I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I
>>call it with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with
>>two browsers, the IE page tells me that the apllication server is
>>not available!!
>>>
>>Any idea ?
>>>
>>>
>
Yes my webservice is installed in IIS 6.0
>
But is not possible to execute the webservice with two browsers at the
same time, the server becomes unavailable
>
In the event viewer, I've got an error on ASP.NET 2.0.50727.0 with the
message :aspnet_wp.exe (PID : 888) stopped unexpectedly
>
Any idea ?
>

Hello,
Does it access a external resource , maybe a file that is locked by the
previous call that is still running
ofcourse above is just wild guessing as you do not provide info about
what your webservice does so the question from my side is
what does your webservice code ?

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

In resume, my webservice code calls a function in a DLL. This DLL is
created with a RAD(Clarion). In this function there is a query to a
Oracle Database and it returns the content of a field's table (a integer
number)

Here my webservice code :
<WebMethod()Public Function TotoWait(ByVal intIn As Int32) As String
Dim hInst As Integer
Dim intClock As Int32

Try
intClock = ps_totowait(intIn)'call the Clarion's DLL

TotoWait = intClock.ToString
Catch ax As AccessViolationException
TotoWait = ax.Message
Catch ex As Exception
TotoWait = ex.Message
End Try
End Function

When I run my webservice at the same time, the first call returns the
right result and the second returns this error "Attempted to read or
write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is
corrupt."

Any idea ?

Hello Amirallia

If the source of the exception is source="Oracle.DataAccess"
then the cause is probably that you are not calling .Read() on your
OracleDataReader before calling .GetValue

Michel Posseth [MCP]
http://www.vbdotnetcoder.com

Thanks for your help !!!!

The source of the exception is the name of the web service and ot
Oracle.DataAccess.

The StackTrace of the exception pointed to the line intClock =
ps_totowait(intIn).

I am confused now ,,, did you solved the error or is it still occuring ?
as you mentioned Oracle i had a lightbulb moment as the combination Oracle
is known to throw this error
if read is not called before getvalue . in the data access code

HTH

Michel


Oct 9 '08 #8

This thread has been closed and replies have been disabled. Please start a new discussion.

Similar topics

8
by: DraguVaso | last post by:
Hi, I'm new to WebServices, and I'm doing some tests (with a small VB.NET-application) to know the performance-difference between a WebService and the 'normal'-way of getting data (just...
1
by: Nalaka | last post by:
Hi, I am testing with Visual studio 2005, web projects. Situation: I have one solution with two web projects, created as file system projects. (I am tesing using the built in server, not IIS)...
1
by: Ricardo | last post by:
Hi. I have a web service with complex params. I need call this web service from a page .asp. How to create this complex param? Thanks in advanced. Ricardo
8
by: Topper | last post by:
Hello. I have simple web folders structure: -ROOT - BIN WebService.dll WebService.asmx I need to use my WebService.dll not in bin folder - for example, in ROOT. How do i this? How can i do...
6
by: Arpicheck | last post by:
Hi, I wrote a webservice, that creates a timer thred. This thread is used to execute common tasks from time to time. The timer starts after the first call of web service. Everithing works fine,...
7
by: Nalaka | last post by:
Hi, I created a sinple web service that returns a dataSet. Then I created a client program that uses this web service (that returns the Dataset). My question is, how did the client figure...
5
by: | last post by:
Hi, How long do webservice objects live for? In particular, if i have static variables filled with data from a static constructor in a webservice, how long will that data persist? thxs
5
by: Jonathan Kay | last post by:
Hi, I'd like to my WCF webservice to work both on SSL and without. Unfortunately searching has led to dead ends, references to changes that only work on the old previous beta versions and I...
0
by: Amirallia | last post by:
Hi, I consume my webservice with the IE browser and all is ok when I call it with one browser. But when I call it a the same time with two browsers, the IE page tells me that the apllication...
0
by: Charles Arthur | last post by:
How do i turn on java script on a villaon, callus and itel keypad mobile phone
0
by: ryjfgjl | last post by:
In our work, we often receive Excel tables with data in the same format. If we want to analyze these data, it can be difficult to analyze them because the data is spread across multiple Excel files...
0
by: emmanuelkatto | last post by:
Hi All, I am Emmanuel katto from Uganda. I want to ask what challenges you've faced while migrating a website to cloud. Please let me know. Thanks! Emmanuel
0
BarryA
by: BarryA | last post by:
What are the essential steps and strategies outlined in the Data Structures and Algorithms (DSA) roadmap for aspiring data scientists? How can individuals effectively utilize this roadmap to progress...
1
by: nemocccc | last post by:
hello, everyone, I want to develop a software for my android phone for daily needs, any suggestions?
1
by: Sonnysonu | last post by:
This is the data of csv file 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 1 2 3 2 3 2 3 3 the lengths should be different i have to store the data by column-wise with in the specific length. suppose the i have to...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
There are some requirements for setting up RAID: 1. The motherboard and BIOS support RAID configuration. 2. The motherboard has 2 or more available SATA protocol SSD/HDD slots (including MSATA, M.2...
0
Oralloy
by: Oralloy | last post by:
Hello folks, I am unable to find appropriate documentation on the type promotion of bit-fields when using the generalised comparison operator "<=>". The problem is that using the GNU compilers,...
0
by: Hystou | last post by:
Overview: Windows 11 and 10 have less user interface control over operating system update behaviour than previous versions of Windows. In Windows 11 and 10, there is no way to turn off the Windows...

By using Bytes.com and it's services, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

To disable or enable advertisements and analytics tracking please visit the manage ads & tracking page.