469,306 Members | 1,587 Online
Bytes | Developer Community
New Post

Home Posts Topics Members FAQ

Post your question to a community of 469,306 developers. It's quick & easy.

Change Visual Studio 2005 Default Debug Browser

Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
I'm currently trying to arrange things so that they look the same for IE and Firefox. Right now I'd love to test things in Firefox and then go back and tweak things in IE. My annoyance is that I have to publish my site every time I make a change in order to view it in FireFox. This is a very time consuming process.

I was wondering if anyone knew if there is a way to set Visual Studio 2005 to debug using a browser other than IE?

-Frinny
May 17 '07 #1
18 12537
TRScheel
638 Expert 512MB
I'm currently trying to arrange things so that they look the same for IE and Firefox. Right now I'd love to test things in Firefox and then go back and tweak things in IE. My annoyance is that I have to publish my site every time I make a change in order to view it in FireFox. This is a very time consuming process.

I was wondering if anyone knew if there is a way to set Visual Studio 2005 to debug using a browser other than IE?

-Frinny

File -> Browse With

Add it in there, then select it as default.
May 17 '07 #2
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
File -> Browse With

Add it in there, then select it as default.
I'm in Visual Studio 2005 right now, went to the File menu but there is no Browse With.
May 17 '07 #3
Plater
7,872 Expert 4TB
Code to standards:
http://validator.w3.org/

And they should be almost identical (good luck with firefox, it falls a little short)
May 17 '07 #4
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
Code to standards:
http://validator.w3.org/

And they should be almost identical (good luck with firefox, it falls a little short)
Yeah I'm doing ok coding to the w3 standards...its just that Firefox has a different way of interpreting the tags than IE....and IE 6 is different from IE7....etc.

I would like my apps to look the same way in all browsers.
I'm just getting fed up with having to publish my site in order to test it with a browser other than IE during.

I'd like to be able to hit the |> (play/start debugging) button in Visual Studio and have it load the site in Firefox instead of IE.
May 17 '07 #5
Plater
7,872 Expert 4TB
You should be able to view it locally, no?
I mean there's not really a "build" in aspx. It's all compiled at runtime.
So if you can view it locally:
If you make changes to a backend object. Just hit "refresh" on a page and you will see changes.


I build my website on my dev computer and then publish it to my server computer. I can view it locally with like "http://localhost/testweb/" where testweb is my webapplication name. I just keep whatever browser I want opened up on that page and then make changes in my code. Save file and then hit refresh in browser window.
May 17 '07 #6
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
You should be able to view it locally, no?
I mean there's not really a "build" in aspx. It's all compiled at runtime.
So if you can view it locally:
If you make changes to a backend object. Just hit "refresh" on a page and you will see changes.


I build my website on my dev computer and then publish it to my server computer. I can view it locally with like "http://localhost/testweb/" where testweb is my webapplication name. I just keep whatever browser I want opened up on that page and then make changes in my code. Save file and then hit refresh in browser window.
Are you using VS 2003?
May 17 '07 #7
Plater
7,872 Expert 4TB
No, I have VS 2005. I thought that's what you were using too?
May 17 '07 #8
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
No, I have VS 2005. I thought that's what you were using too?
Yeah I'm using VS2005 as well.

I'm just reminiscing the days of 2003 when the development was actually done on the web server.

I'm going to take your advice and just edit the code on the web server instead of the web project folder that VS creates....it just seems like there should be a way to change the default debugging browser.

Thanks for your advice Plater!

-Frinny
May 18 '07 #9
TRScheel
638 Expert 512MB
Yeah I'm using VS2005 as well.

I'm just reminiscing the days of 2003 when the development was actually done on the web server.

I'm going to take your advice and just edit the code on the web server instead of the web project folder that VS creates....it just seems like there should be a way to change the default debugging browser.

Thanks for your advice Plater!

-Frinny
If you create a web project, you can go to

File -> Browse with

But File->Browse with is ONLY available if you have a web project open

And change it from within there.

If thats not available, you can always grab the URL off the IE page that pops up (localhost. whatever / whatever etc) and paste it into a firefox browser.
May 21 '07 #10
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
If you create a web project, you can go to

File -> Browse with

But File->Browse with is ONLY available if you have a web project open

And change it from within there.

If thats not available, you can always grab the URL off the IE page that pops up (localhost. whatever / whatever etc) and paste it into a firefox browser.

Hehe yeah I thought about this later
>>blush<<
:)
May 22 '07 #11
Tebbo
1
We all know that coding to standards is no use because browsers have their own interpretations, to put it mildly. Don't think that coding to standards absolves you from testing with multiple browsers, because 'My HTML validates to standards' won't wash with your target audience. Well done to Frinny for wanting to test on multiple browsers. The 'code to standards' advice was poor enough to make me register here and post a proper solution.

If you want to use a different browser:
  • Right-click the aspx file in Solution Explorer
  • Click Browse With
  • Click the browser you want to use (you can also set defaults from this window)

Cheers
Jun 14 '07 #12
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
We all know that coding to standards is no use because browsers have their own interpretations, to put it mildly. Don't think that coding to standards absolves you from testing with multiple browsers, because 'My HTML validates to standards' won't wash with your target audience. Well done to Frinny for wanting to test on multiple browsers. The 'code to standards' advice was poor enough to make me register here and post a proper solution.

If you want to use a different browser:
  • Right-click the aspx file in Solution Explorer
  • Click Browse With
  • Click the browser you want to use (you can also set defaults from this window)

Cheers
Tebbo you're the best! :)
I couldn't find that for the life of me! I knew that there had to be a way, but then I just assumed that Microsoft was being Microsoft and gave up.

There is another thread on going right now about browsers and W3C standards which was split off of this one.

Thanks for joining!
:) :)

-Frinny
Jun 14 '07 #13
drhowarddrfine
7,435 Expert 4TB
Yes, Tebbo, please visit the link so we can teach you about web standards compliance. Coding to web standards is critical to everyone today. So critical that even Microsoft insists that you do so.
Jun 14 '07 #14
Yes, Tebbo, please visit the link so we can teach you about web standards compliance. Coding to web standards is critical to everyone today. So critical that even Microsoft insists that you do so.
You're missing the point. Tebbo is stating that standards compliance alone is not enough to guarantee cross browser compatibility. Yes, it helps, but there is still a long ways to go before you will be able to just say "write standards compliant code" and call it a day.
Jun 15 '07 #15
drhowarddrfine
7,435 Expert 4TB
He said coding to standards is no use. That is wrong. You have to code to some standard method and ALL browser makers use the W3C as their guide. So coding to that standard will get you on the right page in most cases. Coding to ANYTHING else gets you into trouble. And that is where Microsoft stands now with IE. If you code to the W3C standard, then chances are your code will work in all modern, standards compliant browsers. Sometimes even IE.
Jun 15 '07 #16
gems83
1
to make availble the browse with.. function under the file menu, simply build the website that you are working with...
The browse with ..option is only available on running projects or after the build option is clicked..
Oct 9 '07 #17
Frinavale
9,735 Expert Mod 8TB
to make availble the browse with.. function under the file menu, simply build the website that you are working with...
The browse with ..option is only available on running projects or after the build option is clicked..
Or in the Solution Explorer you can right click on the project's name, click "Browse With" and set the default browser to what ever you'd like to use.
:)
Oct 9 '07 #18
File -> Browse With

Add it in there, then select it as default.
Thank you. I've spent hours looking through every bloody option in visual studio and comlpetely overlooked this one!
Feb 14 '08 #19

Post your reply

Sign in to post your reply or Sign up for a free account.

Similar topics

reply views Thread by gerd | last post: by
6 posts views Thread by Jeff Robichaud | last post: by
1 post views Thread by clkalluri | last post: by
reply views Thread by Massimiliano Polito | last post: by
8 posts views Thread by HELLO $$$ | last post: by
1 post views Thread by =?Utf-8?B?Rmxhbm1hbg==?= | last post: by
1 post views Thread by CARIGAR | last post: by
reply views Thread by suresh191 | last post: by
reply views Thread by harlem98 | last post: by
1 post views Thread by Geralt96 | last post: by
reply views Thread by harlem98 | last post: by
By using this site, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.